Watch now

Russian Fireworks [DVD] [... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3 UK
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Russian Fireworks [DVD] [2002] [NTSC]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Russian Fireworks [DVD] [2002] [NTSC]

Price: £9.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from £4.26 5 used from £1.23
£9.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Enjoy £1 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Instant Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 BST on Tues, June 30, 2015. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)
  • Check out big titles at small prices with our Chart Offers in DVD & Blu-ray. Find more great prices at our DVD and Blu-ray Bargains Store.

Product details

  • Format: Colour, Dolby, DTS Surround Sound, NTSC, Full Screen
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 4:3 - 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: Naxos
  • DVD Release Date: 2 Dec. 2002
  • Run Time: 54 minutes
  • ASIN: B0000694WY
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 271,652 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)


Product Description

Russian Fireworks


This Russian Fireworks instalment of the "Naxos Musical Journey" series focuses on the wide geographical and cultural diversity of a vast country, from winter forest scenes near St Petersburg to the holiday resort of Yalta on the Black Sea, complemented by music drawn from a range of Russian composers linking the musical history of their homeland.

The film opens with the Procession of the Sardar by Ippolitov-Ivanov with pictures of lakes and mountains in Uzbeksitan. Lyadov's charming Russian Folksongs begins east of Moscow in Suzdal, in the 13th-century cathedral. Rubinstein's Dance of the Bayaderes No. 2 takes us to Yalta, the lake resort where Chekov recovered from tuberculosis. A Galop by Kabalevsky underscores pedestrians running up and down the Potemkin steps in Odessa; while Mussorgsky accompanies scenes of the rich farm land round Kiev, Uzbekistan and oases on the silk-road to Samarkand. Lyadov's Baba Yaga is set in woods round St Petersburg, evoking the witch of Russian folk lore, and Kilimora, set in the same location, depicts a snowy landscape. The Enchanted Lake shows the Valday Heights, where the Volga rises. All these pieces are well played by the Slovak Philharmonic, following one another with very short breaks.

On the DVD: Russian Fireworks comes with travel notes as a guide to each location in the filming. There are also brief composer biographies, and trailers for more "Musical Journeys". The picture and sound quality leave nothing to be desired. --Adrian Edwards

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great Series 24 Sept. 2014
By A. R. Monahan - Published on
Verified Purchase
Beautiful Scenery & Classical Music
Sort-of-a "Poor Man's" Travelogue
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category