Running through Walls: The Dave Langan Autobiography and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£12.99
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Running Through Walls: Da... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Running Through Walls: Dave Langan Paperback – 19 Nov 2012


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£12.99
£2.65 £9.27
£12.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Running Through Walls: Dave Langan + Roy Mac: Clough's Champion My Autobiography
Price For Both: £26.47

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: DB Publishing (19 Nov. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 178091010X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1780910109
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 1.1 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 37,762 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Limerick man Trevor Keane is the chief soccer writer for Sportsnewsireland.com, an online site dedicated to sport in Ireland and abroad. He is the author of Gaffers, 50 years of Irish football managers. He also works in the financial services sector and lives in Kilkenny. Alan Conway is a former Shelbourne youth player, whose career was cut short due to an injury received whilst on trial with Manchester United. He recovered to become a qualified journalist. He writes for many online publications as well as for sportsnewsireland.com and still manages to play some ball.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Bill on 18 Nov. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This autobiography brings you through the years of Dave Langan's ascent through the footballing ranks to represent the country that he'd run through walls for. Anecdotes pack the chapters of his time with Derby, Brum, Oxford and Ireland. The conceit at the end of each chapter of the interviews of key members of Dave's life works well as a counterpoint to the first person narration.

Dave Langan was one of the first players I can remember seeing, as my dad brought me along to Lansdowne Road in the early 80s. There were more storied names in some of those teams, but it was the flying right full that tackled everything that stuck in my mind.

However once the pinnacle of international football (and domestic honours) has been reached, it brings you through the many descents that the man faced, as well as responsibilities ducked throughout his life. Throughout the recounting of these travails, the author is never less than honest in standing up to his failings.

We are left with a book that tells the story of an honest, decent, proud man, lucky enough to play football at the top level. Should be mandatory reading for every young professional footballer to show them the meaning of pride in the jersey, however fleeting their time in a jersey might be.

5 stars
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Trutone03 on 29 Nov. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
How good to read a football book about a proper player.someone who gave his all for his team,when money was not motivation,but love of the game.How a player mixed & related to fans who are now just a means of helping pay their obscene wages.He's gone through tough times during & after injury finished his career,but is fighting back.a great insight into an 80's footballers private life.I couldn't put it down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By kfpkelly on 22 Nov. 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Dave Langan has allowed us to intrude into some very personal and candid moments in not just his sporting career but his life, we are grateful and respect how the footballers of that Era were forged from greater metal than their contemporaries.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Stuart Cowburn on 20 Aug. 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Always looking for a good book to take on holiday, and found it with this. A great book for the football fan, especially one who can remember the 70's & 80's. Lots of friends and old playing colleagues have all added to this book and it paints a picture of what football was like back then, almost unrecognisable from todays pampered professionals. if you're a Derby, Birmingham, Oxford or Peterborough fan, you"ll love this book, and like me, wont be able to put it down until its finished.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Half Moon MART on 8 Nov. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you are lucky enough to remember when football was played by genuine men then this read is for you
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
A great read whether you're a football fan or not. A must read for fans of Derby County, Oxford & Peterborough. Even if you never saw him play this book will give you an insight into how much the life of footballers has changed. Found the book very moving and as a Rams fan who watched him play all those years ago I was saddened by what Dave went thru
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Graham on 11 Oct. 2012
Format: Paperback
Davy's era of football was when the players were closer to the fans, living amongst and socialising with them, Heros's but not the idols and celebrities we have in the premiership today. To put his ability into perspective, the period he played also saw the complete dominance of English teams in europe from the mid 70's to the mid 80's. He was playing at the highest level against the best players in the most competitive league.

I noted the conversational style of the book and felt like I could be sat with Davy listening to the man himself. It was written as the story was spoken and appreciate this must have been a very therapeutic exerience for Davy to undertake this book. His humility and sense of values comes through very strongly. He has a similar background to my own father and he too was driven by a sense of duty, family and 'always doing the right thing'! That was demonstrated clearly by Davy in his style of football and passion for his team and country. Again I can relate to his humility and shyness, and his 'coming alive' with his pals once he'd had a drink, enjoying a wee bet and a laugh with those he was close, traits my ole dad had too.

I found Davy's love for the game and the fans shone out, and his words indeed conveyed the sense of frustration, desperation and sadness he must have felt when his career, and indeed personal life collapsed around him. I am heartened to read and see he is now content and happy within himself A big man has opened his heart with an honest account of the ups and so many downs in his life.

How many of us were shocked and a litle choked to see our famous right back struggle to get on and off the pitch during his benefits match? I thank Davy for sharing these moments with us, my respect for him is immense.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback