Running through Walls: The Dave Langan Autobiography and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Running through Walls: The Dave Langan Autobiography on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Running Through Walls: Dave Langan [Paperback]

Dave Langan , Trevor Keane , Alan Conway
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
RRP: 12.99
Price: 11.59 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 1.40 (11%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.99  
Paperback 11.59  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

19 Nov 2012
Dave ‘Francis’ Langan was born on 15 February 1957 in the Ringsend suburb of Dublin. He played for Bath Rangers and Cherry Orchard as a youth before moving to England at the age of 16 after being signed by the legendary Brian Clough as an apprentice at Derby County. He spent six years at Derby County, winning their player of the year award for the 1977-78 season, before moving to Birmingham City, for a then club record fee of £350,000 in 1980. He spent four years at St Andrew’s; a period hampered by injuries before leaving the club on a free transfer to join Oxford United, then in the old Division Two. Despite being written off by managers, including his former manager at Birmingham, Langan’s move to Oxford saw him win the Division Two title and achieve his dream of playing at Wembley Stadium, helping the club to win the 1986 Milk Cup Final against QPR. He also played for Leicester City (on loan), Bournemouth and Peterborough before retiring from professional football in 1989 at the age of 32. Langan also won 26 caps for the Republic of Ireland, making his debut in 1978 and winning his last cap in 1988. Dave now works for Peterborough City Council.

Frequently Bought Together

Running Through Walls: Dave Langan + Regrets of a Football Maverick: The Terry Curran Autobiography + Red Card Roy
Price For All Three: 32.23

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: DB Publishing (19 Nov 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 178091010X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1780910109
  • Product Dimensions: 23.2 x 14.2 x 1.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 288,200 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Limerick man Trevor Keane is the chief soccer writer for Sportsnewsireland.com, an online site dedicated to sport in Ireland and abroad. He is the author of Gaffers, 50 years of Irish football managers. He also works in the financial services sector and lives in Kilkenny. Alan Conway is a former Shelbourne youth player, whose career was cut short due to an injury received whilst on trial with Manchester United. He recovered to become a qualified journalist. He writes for many online publications as well as for sportsnewsireland.com and still manages to play some ball.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper player 29 Nov 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
How good to read a football book about a proper player.someone who gave his all for his team,when money was not motivation,but love of the game.How a player mixed & related to fans who are now just a means of helping pay their obscene wages.He's gone through tough times during & after injury finished his career,but is fighting back.a great insight into an 80's footballers private life.I couldn't put it down.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A candid and honest autobiography. 22 Nov 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Dave Langan has allowed us to intrude into some very personal and candid moments in not just his sporting career but his life, we are grateful and respect how the footballers of that Era were forged from greater metal than their contemporaries.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish it was still this way 8 Nov 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
If you are lucky enough to remember when football was played by genuine men then this read is for you
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read 24 Mar 2014
By JD
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great book from a real legend of football, a term that describes most of today's prima donnas, wish true legends like these are rewarded properly, FAI you should be ashamed of yourselves, Keane Sussed you out, and although he working for you now, he knows what you are like!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave langan pro footballer 25 Jan 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Having conversed with @DavyLangan via twitter i bought this book and thoroughly enjoyed it.
His honesty through good times and a lot of bad ones was refreshing.
We all idolize footballers and their current lifestyle,
Davy was one of the less fortunate clutch of footballers
pre premier league riches time,who ended up homeless.
Dave loves the game,that shines through the pages,
if only the same could be said of most
modern day cash rich professionals
A real football fans must read.
Dave deserves his royalties for this great book 5stars..."Russ Hogg"
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Holiday Read 20 Aug 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Always looking for a good book to take on holiday, and found it with this. A great book for the football fan, especially one who can remember the 70's & 80's. Lots of friends and old playing colleagues have all added to this book and it paints a picture of what football was like back then, almost unrecognisable from todays pampered professionals. if you're a Derby, Birmingham, Oxford or Peterborough fan, you"ll love this book, and like me, wont be able to put it down until its finished.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Running through walls 19 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I had the pleasure of meeting Dave Langan when I was a ballboy for Birmingham City in about 1981ish. To this day whenever someone mentions the words 'commitment' or 'passion' with regards to sport I remember Birmingham 1 Stoke 3 in the 90th minute. And Dave still bombing down the right wing on the overlap with his socks round his ankles looking for the win. Epic player.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical football biography
A great read whether you're a football fan or not. A must read for fans of Derby County, Oxford & Peterborough. Read more
Published 15 months ago by Donny fan
3.0 out of 5 stars Pages loose spoilt the enjoyment of the book
The read was very interesting I would recomend as a biography but the poor quality of the manufacture meant I could not read this again as all pages became loose on first read!
Published 15 months ago by S A DAY
3.0 out of 5 stars A great player...
Loved Langan as a player but it's not a great book for the neutral and, even for a keen BCFC fan like me, it was a bit of a struggle. It doesn't seem to have been properly edited. Read more
Published 17 months ago by Ian Cross
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a football book
This autobiography brings you through the years of Dave Langan's ascent through the footballing ranks to represent the country that he'd run through walls for. Read more
Published 17 months ago by Bill
5.0 out of 5 stars Running through walls: Dave Langan
This is a book set back in the days when footballers didnt earn half a million pound a month. This is the story of a bloke from the heart of Dublin who all he wanted to do was play... Read more
Published 17 months ago by DavyH_IRL
5.0 out of 5 stars Davy Langan ran through walls for us
Davy's era of football was when the players were closer to the fans, living amongst and socialising with them, Heros's but not the idols and celebrities we have in the premiership... Read more
Published 18 months ago by Graham
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xa65bc06c)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback