Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars204
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2013
My copy arrived yesterday and I have been unable to put it down till finished. I haven't found a celebrity auto-biography so open and well written ever before.

Ronnie comes across as intelligent, warm and human and the insight into professional snooker is fascinating. It is written in a very personal style - so you can almost hear him talking. For a snooker fan it's an unmissable book - its great to get his insight into the way other high profile snooker stars play. And what he has to say about handling all the problems life has thrown at him will be inspirational and helpful to many people.

Ronnie, if you read your reviews, thanks for such a great book and for all the years of brilliant snooker we have enjoyed watching.
33 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
This is enjoyable look into the life of a sporting genius. It is very honest account and has helped me see Ronnie in a different light. He has had many issues over the years and as an onlooker it has been sometimes difficult to sympathise with him given the talent he obviously has. But once you read this you understand how difficult life has been for him and trying to get the balance of family life and working life has been a constant battle. He doesn’t portray snooker players in a very positive light, it’s fascinating to hear about the different characters. He is brutally honest, he might not like the way some of the players play, but he always seems to have the respect for them. He not only wants to win, he wants to entertain. This book obviously covers a lot about his snooker life, but he also talks about his running with a real passion. I am a runner too, so I really enjoyed this. There is a real primitive pleasure from running, it is hard to explain to those that don’t do it, but he does a good job of describing what it means to him and how it has helped him. He seems more passionate about running than snooker. He is also a pretty decent runner, so he obviously has talent at whatever he seems to turn his hand to. I have heard him interviewed before and always enjoyed how honest and humble he seems. He talks with so much passion about his family too, especially his children, he really wants to do the best for them.

But snooker is his living, and getting the balance of family life and work sounds difficult, more so than many outsiders would imagine. So having read this I have really warmed to Ronnie, in a way that makes you want to just sit in a pub chatting about running and other random stuff. He is constantly trying to find the best to solution to his so called demons, but always honest and never shying away from the truth, which you have to respect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Well done to you Ronnie. I love the book, lots of lessons and wisdom. A lot of humour too. A very enjoyable read!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I enjoyed the read. I could definitely tell it was an autobiography - rather than a biography. I guess I wanted more gossip. I also wanted more snooker tales and maybe some derogatory information on the other players :-) But all in all a good book. It does give an insight into how his mind ticks. Its a book that would appeal to anyone, not just snooker fans.... Just needs more revelations and gossip. Still recommended though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
A well written book that highlights the year in the life of "Rocket" Ronnie O`Sullivan between his 2012 & 2013 World championship wins. This book also

It was great insight on how his mind works and also how he is beginning to get his life back on track.

Taking a year out and coming back to defend his crown was a awesome sporting achievement. Highly recommended!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
One of my sporting hero's. On/off the table. Just in life in general. We all have demons. Sometimes its like reading about myself. Both in terms of snooker & running. Not at elite level of course as Ronnie is but i understand the personal struggles and can relate to it very much. Couldn't put it down. Like his first book, done in 2 days. Hope you do a 3rd Ronnie. Keep on fighting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I have watched Ronnie play Snooker for a number for a number of years and loved the magic he brings to the game, but this book gives an honest insight into the man. His ups and downs what makes him tick he personality and character, I just wanted to read on and on, learning about this guy. If you enjoy snooker and into sport just choose this book to read you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
It was very nice to read words which had been written by Ronnie O'Sullivan who is the legend of contemporary snooker. As a big fan of his talent I enjoyed every page, every sentence of the book as not only tells it about this brilliant game, but also it refers to psychological matters. So I offer everyone who is keen on sports to read through this amazing and miraculous book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
My interest in snooker is limited to the genius that is Ronnie!

This book is very conversational in tone (it appears to be ghost written via audio interviews). The structure reflects Ronnie's rather rambling speaking style - I know envy the person in charge of editing! But if you settle into the idea that you're sat in the pub with the man, without the ability to speak or challenge him when he contradicts himself, it's great. And who wouldn't want to be sat in the pub with Ron?

It is based around his passion for running - a passion I do not share (!) - but he uses the subject to give us new insights into his past issues with drugs and alcohol, mental and physical health. Also, insights into his heroes, including his relationship with Damien Hirst and other Rock'n'Roll tales.

Another great section is on his moments of apparent madness, where he explains several public incidents that sparked strange rumours about him. If you're a Ronnie or snooker fan, give it a read. If you're not, skim through to the juicy parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
This book gives a good insight into Romney's life both private and professional and has a strong emphasis on how running has become his new obsession. The book is very scatty and jumps from present back to years ago and doesn't seem to follow a logical pattern. All in all it is worth the read if you like your snooker and sports psychology.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)