Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2002
Having used this book for over a year now I have found it an accessible text for provision of legal obligations when setting up and running a limited company in the UK. The book lends itself to the typical scenario where one individual fulfils the role of company secretary, accountant and managing director. It has a good index, and has proved particularly useful with (1) holding and minuting official company meetings; (2) Basic company accounts preparation. However, it does not pretend to be an accounting book, and it is recommended that the purchaser also acquire a text on basic company book-keeping - do these yourself and minimise unavoidable accounting fees!
0Comment|120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2007
Very well written, a lot of useful information, explains all you would like to know about all these details. I wasn't aware of all these things you should know when you run a limited company until I read this book. It is rather not a detailed guide to your paper work or documents you would need to write. It is more like a reference manual to different aspects of the organization. If you need to know some details about secretaries, shares, owners, board of directors, etc, you jast open the book and it is there.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
This book covers all the basics of starting a new business. It's up-to-date with the latest legislation, reads easily in 2 hours and you can always come back to it for reference. Overall great purchase, detailed enough that you don't need to buy additional books and very accessible.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
This is a really useful introduction explaining the concept of a company and how one operates. The material is presented in non-technical lanaguage. I am sure it is of use both to someone who aspires to run and company or has just been appointed to a directorship and to students of law or accountancy who want to get to grip with the basics before tackling the detail.

The book is well structured and the detailed contents pages make it a really useful reference book although its size (300 pages) does not make a "cover to cover" read overly daunting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Bought this when I set up my own company. It is full of useful information - far more informative and helpful than I expected. It's well structured, easy to navigate / dip in and out of. The chapters are clearly labelled and contain enough information to get a good grounding in what is needed and what expectations are placed on company directors.

I regularly refer to it, 18 months on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
This is a good book for the company bookshelf although there is a question of whether some of the information may be out of date.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Some highleighted bits in it, but for 1 pence & postage its great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
If you are going to start a Limited company just get as much info as you can this book helps the accountant that I used was quite good but you do need to be on your toe's. But realy think before hand as to whether you really do need to have / start a limited company and not be a sole trader or partner ship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)