Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars47
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 1999
I am currently on my third copy of this book. I've taken the cross country trip 8 times with Snyder as my guide, and have travelled every documented mile. While it doesn't show you every imaginable mile of every route, this guide takes you on all driveable portions, and to all the places of 66 myth and legend. My only complaint is that the binding is a little cheap, so after a trip there's usually some loose pages about! A definite must-have for anyone contemplating this cross country trip.
0Comment|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
Bought this guide for my trip along the mother road, the book is great and maybe too comprehensive to be used on the road without having about 3 years for the journey, we had 10 days to do 2500 miles and I wanted to see everything, we managed to get a map in Oatman, Arizona, which mapped the whole of route 66 and all the sites on A1, that took over and meant we could map read at pace and not miss anything, so what im saying is this book is fantastic and shows literally everything at close detail so every remaining route 66 mile can be covered, but anyone with not much time for their trip should probably steer clear.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 1998
With his wealth of 66 lore, his witty style and a quirky view of American culture, Tom Synder provides a happy traveling companion for any true roadie in search of the spirit of Route 66. The old auto club maps overlaid with the Interstate provide easy access to anyone who only wants to drive a few miles on the "Mother Road" or the hard-bitten buff who determined to drive every remaining mile. Synder's book is like taking a road trip with an old, trusted (and funny) friend.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
The content was average, but the quality of the book itself very poor. We used it whilst travelling along Route 66 and the pages started to come out.
I would find it difficult to recomend this product due in the main to poor quality of manufacture.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
I find it hard to agree with one of the reviewer's comments that the maps are good. They aren't. In an age of Sat Navs and well laid out road atlases with lots of colours and easily legible detail Tom Snyder has decided to use maps from the days when the mother road was actually laid down. Not smart and an approach that drove me up the wall. It is absolutely hopeless at helping you deal with the challenge of Route 66 because you need to be very diligent in terms of following it mile by mile. Sometimes you have to use the highway, most of the time not. But you will need to cross over frequently and it is easy to miss the right turning. It's also easy to loose your way as you pass through towns and cities. Tom Snyder's guide seems to make it even easier to get lost.

The book isn't completely without merit. It's good to read before you go on the journey as it gives you lots of useful information and it certainly builds the romance of the mother road. But the EZ66 Guide for Travellers by Jerry McClanahan is by far the better guide and is recommended by the Harley Owners Group. If you bump into a Harley rider (you will, it's mandatory for them to do Route 66 before they die) chances are (s)he'll have a copy. The maps are better, the ring bound design of the book makes it easy to follow while driving/riding, it goes east to west and west to east and the information on what to look out for is easy to access.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
My wife and I have just returned from travelling Route 66. We found Tom Snyder to be a wonderfully entertaining travel companion who writes evocatively and movingly of the lore and legends of Route 66 and the areas through which one travels. However, I have to agree with Oliver Fox below in that he is not the best at giving directions which, for a travel guide is a bit of a problem to say the least. His instructions and maps are too often vague, confusing, contradictory and at times plain wrong. His advice at the beginning of the book not to scrimp on good scale maps is therefore sound. If you use this book, and I would at least urge you to read it, ensure that it is not your only source of information. Finding and travelling Route 66 is a much harder challenge than it appears which makes reliable and accurate guidance essential so that you can relax and enjoy the ride! Believe me, it's worth it. The four stars I have given this book are more for the quality of the writing rather than its usefulness as a turn-by-turn guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
Won't be using this till June when we will be driving "the mother road" but the format of the book is great, the maps are clear, lots of info and the size makes it an ideal glovebox companion, not just a coffee table book like some other "guides". When we've done the journey maybe will add another star. The proof of the pudding is in the eating!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
My father was watching the Billy Connolly show on the Route 66, (though seeing a few episodes I couldn't see the appeal myself as he seemed a shadow of his former funny self to me). He's thinking of doing a road trip along there sometime.

I considered the official Billy book, but that seemed mainly a repetition of the show, than truly providing an expansive and worthwhile addition to it. Reading around the other reviews, this seemed more suitable.

Asking my father what he thought, he'd agreed it was "ok" (he's never massively praising of things so take it as 'good') and had enjoyed reading the further details and information / maps etc, that wasn't covered in the tv series by Billy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
This is the Bible for the Mother Road. The author has poured a massive amount of detail between the covers. For me the old road maps were a real help and the driving directions are understandable for readers in the UK. As with any book that serves to guide the reader on the road the passage of time will render it slightly innacurate. This book is no exception but Tom Snyder has made his guide readable, informative, laugh out loud amusing and above all as accurate as possible.

I wish it came as a spiral bound - heavy duty version, after a month of constant page turning, corner-of-the-page-folding-down and adding notes in the margins I had to buy sticky tape in Flagstaff to hold it together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This book while helping in the planning of a 2-3 mth tour in 2016, is very detailed to the point of too difficult to read for longer than 20 mins......a lot of local American english also detracts from the pleasure of the read. Also all black and white printing inside.

It will help and it does have some diamonds of information to give......but just that little to reluctant to give them to you easily......depends what you are looking for....and if you are in a car with a navigator such detailing of left turn after 300yds or right turn here would be of more benefit than if you are on a motorbike for example.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)