Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars20
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2011
We needed a concise, realistic guide, reliably covering the basics for a first-time visit to Croatia, not least an indication of where to eat and what to look for during a couple of weeks that we knew would fly by. My wife and I have just returned from one of our best holidays ever in the country, helped in no small way by Jonathan Bousfield's guide. We weren't alone! Fellow diners at a family run restaurant tucked away up a back alley in Hvar Town had also found the place using the guide. But this isn't merely a foodie book. There are brief sections describing Croatia from prehistory to the political present - which is a model of clarity - Croatian folk music, an interesting 'History of Croatia in ten albums'and a basic glossary with useful phrases. This isn't a phrase book and doesn't pretend to be, but unless you're a linguist you'll be happy with the usual courtesies which are listed.

The country is dealt with in six main regional blocks: Zagreb, Inland Croatia, Istria, The Kvarner Gulf, Dalmatia, and 'Dubrovnik and around'. Each has a descriptive section with additional notes on accommodation, travel, restaurants, cultural life, night life, shopping, etc. and useful maps. All good stuff. Recommended. And it won't take up too much precious space in a backpack or shoulder bag.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2008
This is a basic guide, but it served its purpose. We chose it after reading other reviews... very light on info regarding travelling with small children. But we muddled through. Tip - if you fly from Split airport, stay night in Trogir.. closer than Split to airport and very pretty.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
This book was very useful when visiting Dubrovnik and some of the croatian islands this summer, great tips for hotels, resturants and transport, honest reviews of where to visit and more importantly where to avoid.
Good section on language, great insight into some of Croatia's history and provided excellent knowledge on the sights, museums, churches etc
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
The travel guide is well written and contains surprisingly high level of detailed information, not necessarily on the most famous places, but also on these less visited by must-to-see-crowds. Certainly, it was extremely helpful in Dalmatia. Only the very basic phrasebook could be expanded with some additional more often used phrases and words.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
Once again, the Rough Guide has excelled itself. We just tourned Croatia for 2 weeks using this book as our guide. Everything about it is spot on and we used it for accommodation and restaurants as well as places to stop and visit.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2010
Good guide although it would be useful to have access to individual guides e.g. Istrian penninsula. We stayed in Medulin, near Pula, which wasn't covered by the guide.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Nothing spectacular in this guidebook but well serves its purpose. Fresh from spring 2010 so all the details were still valid. Recommended nonetheless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
I found the format of this rough guide quite hard-going, and am definitely more of a fan of the lonely planet guides, which seem to give more options of places to eat/stay on a tighter budget. Wouldn't get another rough guide having used this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Hardly used at all, this will be my companion in seven weeks when I visit Croatia again.
Concise and clearly written, good maps and everything Rough Guides are rightly famous for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I expected a more up to date version. I was sent a 2007 version - which is 5/6 years out of date, and there was no mention of the publishing date when I bought it. Not Happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)