Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth: Rome 3 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.00 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Over 2 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth: Rome 3 Paperback – 14 Mar 2013


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£1.05 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth: Rome 3 + Rome: The Coming of the King: Historical Fiction: Rome 2 + Rome: The Emperor's Spy: Rome 1
Price For All Three: £17.97

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (14 Mar 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552161810
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552161817
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 3 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 68,877 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Author, columnist and screenwriter, Manda (M.C) Scott has written thirteen novels beginning with contemporary thrillers. Her first, 'Hen's Teeth; was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, 'No Good Deed' was nominated for an Edgar Award in the 'Best Thriller' category.

Having served her writing apprenticeship, she went back in time to write the bestselling Boudica:Dreaming series. Her latest 'Rome' series starts with Rome: The Emperor's Spy and continues with Rome: The Coming of the King, Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth and Rome:The Art of War. Set from 54 - 69AD, the books feature Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard.

She is working on a dual time line novel of Jeanne d'Arc (who she really was: not the fainting visionary peasant girl) and a contemporary thriller.

She is Chair of the Historical Writers' Association (http://www.TheHWA.co.uk), Prize Chair of the HWA Debut Crown and Programming Chair of the Harrogate History Festival. She writes reviews and columns for the Independent, the Express, the Telegraph and the (Glasgow) Herald.

She is an avid reader. Her top picks of 2013, in no particular order, are: Robert Wilton: TREASON'S TIDE, Imogen Robertson, 'THE PARIS WINTER', Beatrice Hitchman: 'PETITE MORT' Robert Ryan, 'DEAD MAN'S LAND', Robert Low, 'THE LION RAMPANT', Neil Gaiman 'THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE' and Neal Stephenson, 'Reamde' (it's 2012, but it's still outstanding.

Further details can be found on her website: http://www.mandascott.co.uk

Product Description

Review

"This is a book that honours all those who have fought for a cause. It is a tale that shines like the Eagle at its heart.I suspect that no one else writes like MC Scott. I’m certain plenty wish they could." (Giles Kristian)

"Brutal, touching, learned and above all captivating. This story of defeat and victory in Rome's war with Parthia had me hooked from the first page." (Tony Riches)

"Gladiator meets Tinker Tailor in a baroque landscape" (Robert Lowe)

"M.C.Scott stakes a bold claim to a place in the canon of cherished adventures. Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth succeeds thrillingly. It’s gripping, absorbing, and thoroughly entertaining, right to the last moment of desperate action and decision." (Robert Wilton)

"Stirring stuff written by a lady who has proved her worth over and over again, rivalling any other offerings by popular male writers such as Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow." (Shropshire Star)

Book Description

A breathtakingly compelling story of a legion at war in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Tony G on 20 Jan 2013
Format: Hardcover
In "Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth", we are transported to that Legion's participation in the War in Parthia, and subsequent action in Jerusalem. The Twelfth Legion has to endure shame, and near-obliteration, before finding redemption through the actions of the author's principal characters.

Authenticity seems to drip from every page of M. C. Scott's novel; whether it is the superstitions of the common soldier, the description of the local geography or the tactics and training of this incredibly well-drilled fighting machine. And it's so difficult to review such a story and refrain from including "spoilers" - but they are called that for a reason, and I would hate to lessen your enjoyment of this by tipping you off to the action, now!

This book centres around Demalion of Macedon, his comrades, and their immediate leaders - some loved and some loathed, and, as with many armies throughout history, the effects their decisions have on the campaigns being waged. The action unfolds in several, different and distinct phases; each one with a different feel and atmosphere, and each one pivotal to the development of the plot.

I cannot emphasise strongly enough what a good story this is; my favourite periods of history are the myths and legends of Greece; and the empire-building of Rome, and this latter is not only well catered for, here, but actually adds to my knowledge - and, therefore, my enjoyment of the tale. I have added the author's other novels to my wishlist - can't give any higher praise than that?

Anyone who calls one of their leading characters "Pantera" is ok in my book - and in his!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By JennyD VINE VOICE on 25 Oct 2013
Format: Paperback
Telling the story of Demalion, a reluctant soldier in Rome's legions, this book is far from a throwaway sword n' sandal read of epic bloody battles and vague characters. This is the story of an entire Roman legion, the 12th to be exact. We follow Demalion from his reservations, to his enthusiasm, then to his eventual love of his legion and his follow soldiers. The characters are all so beautifully detailed, their story so engaging, that it is like reading a biography. I have never read any historical fiction quite like this, it is in a different league and has authenticity and great writing at its core. When I say the writing is detailed I seriously mean it, right down to different types of clothing, layouts of Roman army camps and even types of horses! I finished the book half convinced that everything I had read, including all the characters, were real and if I'm honest, I wanted them to be. The characters had such a sense of honour and duty it was hard not to admire them, not to cheer them on in their mission to retrieve their Eagle, the object that means so much to every legion. I loved following the 12th through their triumphs, defeats, sorrow and redemption, this is a truly thrilling read and I will be reading more from this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Evelyn on 26 Sep 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Found one in a charity shop and so good I had to buy the whole series. Cannot put the books down and look forward to reading the other series written by her. Easy to read and battle scenes very visual and moments where time seems to stand still.
A great read really recommend it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Bridget the reader on 22 Sep 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I have read many novels set in the era of ancient Greece, and the Roman Republic and Empire; and I have enjoyed this the most of all. The characters are strong and believable, and you care for them; and a moving love story unfolds through the course of the book.

On top of that, the quality of the writing is lyrical and superb; and I can't wait to read the next novel in the series, both to enjoy more of M. C. Scott's writing; and to discover what happens to Demalion and the other characters we have met in this, and in the previous books; and above all, the enigmatic Pantera, whose story runs through them all
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER on 22 May 2012
Format: Hardcover
Review:

There are many Roman era Historical Fiction books and authors on the market now and they explore differing facets of the Roman world and the roman army. What the majority of them have in common is that the culmination, the pièce de résistance of the story is the great battle, the pulling together of all the threads so the hero wins, or survives to fight another day over coming terrible odds. All this is what most of us readers want in a novel, something of great power and motivation, coupled with great story telling and that touch of escapism to take us beyond the borders of our lives into another time and place, to maybe give us a little piece of that heroic feeling.

With Manda Scott's Eagle of the Twelfth you get all the usual accomplished parts of a roman novel, but then you get something more, something that I always felt I got touches of in Simon Scarrow's early eagle novels, but In Manda's to a much greater depth. You get to be the hero, to feel the heroes thoughts, cares concerns, you ride along in his skin rather than as an observer, but you experience it as a real person doing heroic deeds rather than a prefab hero.

Eagle of the Twelfth is not just Manda's triumph, Demalion of Macedon is her triumph.

For those readers who are expecting a swords and sandals heroic ride with a Scarrow or Riches style swagger, its there, but expect also for the legion to finally be stripped back to its real warts and all self. Because Eagle of the Twelfth gives an expose on just why these men conquered the world, how they were so tough, why they fought so much as a unit and how they used that comradeship, that family of the eagle to survive the cold the heat, the rain the hell of war, Life in the ancient world.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback