Rome: The Coming of the King: Rome 2 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.96

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Rome: The Coming of the King: Rome 2 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Rome: The Coming of the King: Rome 2 [Paperback]

M C Scott
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
RRP: 6.99
Price: 5.03 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.96 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.59  
Hardcover 14.99  
Paperback 5.03  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

24 May 2012 Rome (Book 2)

Sebastos Pantera, known to his many enemies as the Leopard, is the spy the Emperor Nero uses only for the most challenging and important of missions. Hunting alone, trusting no-one, he must find the most dangerous man in Rome's empire and bring him to bloody justice.

But his prey is cunning, subtle and ruthless. Saulos has pledged to bring about the destruction of Rome and her provinces and now fate, good luck and planning have given him the means to do so.

It will take the strategies of a master hunter to combat the brilliance of Saulos' plan, but Pantera has a new ally, a king in the making who could change the future of his people; a man he can finally trust. If they work together, they could bring a province back from the edge of ruin. But first, they must attempt the impossible; an assault on an invulnerable fortress, where failure means death to them both.


Frequently Bought Together

Rome: The Coming of the King: Rome 2 + Rome: The Emperor's Spy: Rome 1 + Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth: Rome 3
Price For All Three: 16.05

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (24 May 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552161799
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552161794
  • Product Dimensions: 19.4 x 12.6 x 3.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 59,861 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Author, columnist and screenwriter, Manda (M.C) Scott has written thirteen novels beginning with contemporary thrillers. Her first, 'Hen's Teeth; was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, 'No Good Deed' was nominated for an Edgar Award in the 'Best Thriller' category.

Having served her writing apprenticeship, she went back in time to write the bestselling Boudica:Dreaming series. Her latest 'Rome' series starts with Rome: The Emperor's Spy and continues with Rome: The Coming of the King, Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth and Rome:The Art of War. Set from 54 - 69AD, the books feature Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard.

She is working on a dual time line novel of Jeanne d'Arc (who she really was: not the fainting visionary peasant girl) and a contemporary thriller.

She is Chair of the Historical Writers' Association (http://www.TheHWA.co.uk), Prize Chair of the HWA Debut Crown and Programming Chair of the Harrogate History Festival. She writes reviews and columns for the Independent, the Express, the Telegraph and the (Glasgow) Herald.

She is an avid reader. Her top picks of 2013, in no particular order, are: Robert Wilton: TREASON'S TIDE, Imogen Robertson, 'THE PARIS WINTER', Beatrice Hitchman: 'PETITE MORT' Robert Ryan, 'DEAD MAN'S LAND', Robert Low, 'THE LION RAMPANT', Neil Gaiman 'THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE' and Neal Stephenson, 'Reamde' (it's 2012, but it's still outstanding.

Further details can be found on her website: http://www.mandascott.co.uk

Product Description

Review

"Religious and political tensions, passion and intrigue, superb action sequences and real and imagined characters are seamlessly woven together to create a fascinating and exciting story on a truly epic scale" (LAURA WILSON Guardian)

"A dramatic new version of the past...grippingly sustained" (JANE JAKEMAN Independent)

"Rome: The Coming of the King is an intricately woven, cleverly plotted and exceedingly well-written book. Miss it at your peril!" (BEN KANE)

"Stunningly good. Rome: The Coming of the King gives the reader the extraordinary sense of living within another time and place - smelling its smells, tasting its tastes, thinking its thoughts and dreaming its dreams . A quite exceptional historical novel" (ANDREW TAYLOR)

"From the deserts and the people who roam them, to the cities and the kings who rule them, MC Scott deftly recreates the dangerous world of a country dominated by Rome. Superbly written and immaculately researched, Rome: The Coming of the King left me desperate to know what happens next!" (DOUGLAS JACKSON)

Book Description

A compelling novel of Rome in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome 29 July 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Why are these books not in Schools for pupils to learn about the Roman Empire, so exciting & informative! Excellent
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spy, Warrior, Kingmaker 10 May 2011
Format:Hardcover
Two years have passed. Math and Hannah are gone. The Leopard, Sebastos Abdes Pantera, remains. Rome is a distant memory and the heat of Rome's Eastern Empire shimmers with deadly allurement over the fate of our spy, warrior, kingmaker.
It is A.D.66, a summer ripe with rebellion. The burning of Rome is done and Saulos Herodian recuperates amongst the Berber tribes in the desert plotting the destruction of Jerusalem for he believes that "if Rome burned under the eye of the dog star, then Jerusalem might be sundered and in its place...might grow something wonderful...Judea must fall for that to happen." He has a new ally, the deadly Iksahra sur Anmer who uses falcons and cheetah as readily as a sword and the start of his new great game is to murder King Agrippa.
A desert away Pantera and Mergus are hunted on their way to Caesarea where Governor Florus and Queen Berenice reside. Estaph gives us a summary of the political situation: of Menachem's War party, of Gideon's Peace party and of the undercurrents of rebellious discontent against the Roman overlords where the province of Judea has plenty of keen ears into which Saulos can whisper insidious words of war. Conflict is swiftly engaged, the ebb and flow of struggles is set against the treacherous shifting sands of Roman Judea as we follow the timeline of the historian Josephus.
Into this assemblage comes Hypatia, Chosen of Isis, reluctant mentor to the headstrong Kleopatra, daughter of Queen Berenice.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
By Kate TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Two years after the great fire of Rome and the close of Rome: The Emperor's Spy (Rome 2), Sebastos Abdes Pantera has pursued Saulos to Judaea. As we recall, Pantera is a Roman spy and pupil of Seneca while Saulos is the arch enemy of Roman and Hebrew alike. Known to history as St Paul but here freshly interpreted as an agent of vengeance and death, Saulos has recovered from his severe burns, resulting from the fire, and now has his destructive sights fixed on Herod and his family and the annihilation of the entire Hebrew race. Pantera's injuries are more of the mind. Still mourning his lost family in Britain and with his new family safely despatched to Mona, the sacred island of the Druids, Pantera focuses on restoring peace to Israel.

Pantera is a loved man - he is surrounded my men such as Mergus and women like Hypatia who would die for him. By contrast, Saulos is followed by the Berber huntress Ikshara who is tied to him only through lies and deceit.

The Coming of the King carries us around the Kingdom of Judaea in 66 AD. The focus is on the court of Herod, his sister Berenice and his niece Kleopatra. They are surrounded by rioting Hebrews and Syrians, pacifists and warmongers. As the influence of Saulos grows, the voice of reason dies, and the royal family leaves their palace at Caesarea for Jerusalem where they are effectively undersiege and under attack from without and within. Pantera's influence also grows, uniting the descendants of the Galilean, gaining arms and support through a daring assault on the seemingly impenetrable fortress of Masada in the desert.

However, the action of The Coming of the King, although exciting, is not what makes the book.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story 14 Mar 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Arrived as expected great read good follow on, looking forward to reading the next instalment in the near future .thank you
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Collection 9 Jan 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
adds to my collection of this series. I know it will be good This author does her research so well. Entertaining as well as educational
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic account of the Hebrew Uprising 66AD 8 Jan 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Powerful characters, a page turning storyline and some shocking accusations made re St. Paul ( alleged) ..... Definitely required reading for anyone interested in this phase of history, amongst others !!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 8 Jan 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As above.
18 more words required.
14 more words required.
10 more words required.
6 more words required.
finished at last!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome: The Coming of the King: Rome 2 14 Dec 2013
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Having received book 3 in this series as a present earlier this year, I found that I liked it that much that I decided to get the rest of the books in this series.
So far I have Nos; 1, 2, 3, & 4.
This book was purchased as I prefer to read hard-back books, rather than paper-backs. It arrived in very good condition and very quick postage time too.
Very happy with purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xa7ad8da4)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback