Shop now Learn more Shop now Up to 50% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Halloween Pets Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).
Rolf Wallin: Wire and Str... has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Rolf Wallin: Wire and String Hybrid SACD

Price: £16.12 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
25 new from £9.17 1 used from £9.16
£16.12 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. ImellaSusanne Lundeng, Bodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen21:18£0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. The Age of Wire and String; I Snoring, Accidental SpeechBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 1:08£0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. The Age of Wire and String; II Dog, Mode of Heat Transfer in BarkingBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 1:43£0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. The Age of Wire and String; III Half-Life of Walter in the American AreasBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen0:29£0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. The Age of Wire and String; IV Food Storms of the Original BrotherBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 1:25£0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. The Age of Wire and String; V The Golden MonicaBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 1:11£0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. The Age of Wire and String; VI Leg of Brother Who Died EarlyBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 1:10£0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. The Age of Wire and String; VII Food Costumes of MontanaBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 3:08£0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. The Age Of Wire And String; VIII Swimming, Strictly An InscriptionBodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen0:59£0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Drei Gedichte von Rainer Maria Rilke; Liebes-LiedSiri Torjesen, Bodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 3:45£0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Drei Gedichte von Rainer Maria Rilke; Buddha in der GlorieSiri Torjesen, Bodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 4:14£0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Drei Gedichte von Rainer Maria Rilke; Sluss-stückSiri Torjesen, Bodø Sinfonietta & Christian Eggen 3:32£0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Description

'Wire and String' is a musical portrait of the internationally renowned contemporary Norwegian composer Rolf Wallin. The disc presents three works: "Imella", a newly-written fiddle concerto, the album's title piece for sinfonietta, and Drei Gedichte von Rainer Maria Rilke for soprano and chamber orchestra. The Bodo Sinfonietta is conducted by Christian Eggen, and the soloists are Susanne Lundeng (fiddle) and soprano Siri Torjesen. As is often the case with the compositions of Rolf Wallin, on this new album we hear folk music interacting with contemporary idioms. The concerto "Imella" ('in-between') was commissioned by the Bodo Sinfonietta. It borrows its title, and also the titles of its individual movements, from the debut novel by the American author Ben Marcus. This wonderful and highly unusual book describes a world that defies earthly laws of nature, but that still seems to have its own set of laws and logic, consistent, yet ungraspable. The Rilke poems used in the Drei Gedichte are very different in terms of form, subject and atmosphere. Liebes-Lied is about deep and strong but painful love, Buddha in der Glorie is an account of religious ecstasy, and Slußstück is about death, existing right in the midst of us, in the middle of life. Personnel: Susanne Lundeng (fiddle), Siri Torjesen (soprano), Bodø Sinfonietta, Christian Eggen (conductor)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
On Loan to Norway 18 Nov. 2011
By Reviewer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Wallin is a distinctively Swedish name, but Rolf Wallin was born in Oslo in 1957 and has continued to work in Norway, with Norwegian orchestras, for most of his career. There have been Wallins active in Scandinavian music persistently since the 1700s; Johan Olof Wallin (1779-1839) was a Lutheran hymnist, Per Henrik Wallin was Sweden's most accomplished jazz pianist, and violinist Ulf Wallin is a prominent advocate of contemporary classical music. The Scandinavian "music scene" is vibrant and well supported; thus a 'small town' orchestra like the Bodø Sinfonietta heard on this CD can be of the highest caliber of musicianship.

Rolf Wallin's compositional methods are considerably more structured and mathematical than you may detect on first hearing. His sources of 'melody' include birdsong, computerized analyses of human speech, and fractal mathematical formulae. At the same time, however, he eschews classical tonality and development, and classical notation, in favor of 'aleatoric' procedures wherein the performer is given a set of musical figures that she or he can employ at will. Wallin's music has been associated with that of Iannis Xenakis and Luciano Berio, but to my ears his affective personality is closest to Anton Webern, evn though Wallin is not a serial 'twelve-tone' disciple. The title composition on this CD -- The Age of Wire and String -- is a set of eight miniatures for piano and orchestra, which reminds me very much of Webern in its precise but fleeting abstraction; the longest piece is three minutes and the shortest a mere 29 seconds. Yes, it's enigmatic, but it's also quite evocative and -- dare I say? -- beautiful.

The longest composition at 21 minutes, Imella, is an aleatoric concert for "fele" (fiddle/violin) and orchestra. The violinist is the Norwegian fiddler Susanne Lundeng, noted for her commitment both to traditional and "up-dated" traditional folk music. Imella was composed on commission for Lundeng. If you have any background in Norwegian traditional music, you certainly hear its role in this concerto. If not, what you'll hear is a brooding evocation of the forests and fjords, dark and stark but not at all depressive.

The third composition is Wallin's orchestral setting of three poems by Rainer Maria Rilke, sung in German by soprano Siri Torjesen. Once agin, these are extremely terse Webernesque miniatures, highly emotive on first hearing yet formidably dense in musical ideas.

Rolf Wallin is well known and much appreciated in Norway, as you'll discover from the number of his compositions available on CDs. It's high time that North Americans and Britons discover him also.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions