Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Rock Your Baby: 24 Red Hot Rompers for Children of All Ages
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Rock Your Baby: 24 Red Hot Rompers for Children of All Ages CD

Price: £13.86 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
25 new from £6.79

Amazon's Fireballs Store

Visit Amazon's Fireballs Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (31 Oct. 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Ace Records
  • ASIN: B00000DN2U
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 233,855 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Barnyard Boogie - Louis Jordan
2. The Boo Boo Song - King Coleman
3. Monkey Monkey (You Do It Like This) - Wayne Cochran
4. Jolly Green Giant - The Kingsmen
5. Nasty Dan - Johnny Cash
6. The Animal Song - King Perry
7. Olive Oyl - The Mixtures
8. Foolish Frog - Blind Blake & The Royal Victoria Hotel Calypsos
9. Tarzan - Sonny Day & The Rare Breed
10. The Mummy - Bob McFadden & Dor
11. Knock Knock (You Can't Come In) - The Carlisles
12. Oh That's Good, No That's Bad - Sam The Sham & The Pharoahs
13. The Greasy Chicken - Andre Williams
14. Scrooey Mooey - The Peels
15. Mexi Love Song - Rochee & The Sarnos
16. Ain't Got No Home - Clarence "Frogman" Henry
17. Jump Rope Boogie - Cliffie Stone
18. I Couldn't Spell !!*@! - Wayne Carson
19. Naughty Little Flea - Lord Flea and his Calypsonians
20. Boppin To Grandfather's Clock - Sidney Jo Lewis (Aka Hardrock Gunter)
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Description

* Move over "Hello Children Everywhere"... there's a new kid on the block!

* Ace are delighted to present "Rock Your Baby": 24 Red Hot Rompers for children of all chosen by Mark Lamarr.

* Mark Lamarr has long been a champion of real rockin' music to kids on his various radio shows and these are some of the most hep and hip; a present the parents won't begrudge.

* Compiled with TLC and a depth of knowledge that will impress the most discerning of collectors, this is pure dynamite! A positive pot-pouri of knowns, semi-knowns and downright obscure and they are all guaranteed to have you and the brood boppin' like crazy. A rocking CD with funny and silly songs to amuse the kids on those long car journeys or even those early years parties (just before they discover Justin Beiber!).

* Or...maybe this beauty could really be of course for the parents who would rather hear this stuff than Oopsy Daisy's singing on the "Night Garden" CD!

* Many tracks are new to CD and the booklet features an introduction by Mark and some informative and highly-entertaining notes by Sir Tony of Rounce!

* "Are we nearly there yet dad?" `Who cares son - we've got the Greasy Chicken to keep us going...'

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Slipper Tree on 2 April 2014
Format: Audio CD
As the only review posted appears to have been placed here erroneously I shall say a few words about the actual 'Rock Your Baby' release - Ace CDCHD 1316.

It is probably not specifically intended for children - though a certain Mark Lamarr claims in the excellent booklet that he has put this together for HIS children to pass long car journeys with a minimum of aggravation. On this basis it contains (as you might expect from Mr Lamarr and Ace) a variety of quirky tunes from 1947 to 1985 but with the vast majority from the late 50's to the mid-60's.

You can't help but like most of these in a general sense - many are very much of their time and were novelty songs in an age when such things seemed far commoner than they are now. The only two mainstream pop cuts are 'The Name Game' from Shirley Ellis and 'Bread and Butter' from the Newbeats - offerings from Sam the Sham, Clarence 'Frogman' Henry, The Kingsmen start to lead us to the more offbeat material which may or may not have been intended as a serious commercial proposition when it was released originally. Pop, Big Band, Country and R & B all feature with a sprinkling of calypso as well - the artists include DJs and MCs and even voice-over artist Bob McFadden whose 'The Mummy' is apparently a collaboration with none other than Rod McKuen.

All part of musical history, unlikely to be repeated, ideal for those lighter moments and the sound is excellent, as usual with Ace product.

Go on, you know your inner child wants to. Not sure what the actual kids will make of it, though...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Dangerous Dave TOP 500 REVIEWER on 17 Jun. 2011
Format: Audio CD
The review under my name which has been appearing here was not put there by me but by some quirk of the Amazon system. My review was intended for another album entirely and does actually appear under that album. That it appears here as well was certainly not my intention.

There also appears to be no way of removing the review and the first time I tried to edit it to include some explanation, nothing happened. That'll probably be the case this time.

"C'est la vie" say the old folks, it goes to show you never can tell!


You might expect that this would be two more albums from the Fireballs nicely packaged by Ace. Well that's almost true - indeed the second part is totally true. The first "half" of this set, entitled, "Blue Fire" was intended to be the boys' third album but it didn't happen because Top Rank, the record label, went bust. It's joined by a number of alternates and out takes which didn't make it to official release.

"Blue Fire" was an early stab at a concept album in that it contained solely songs with "blue" in the title - consequently most, but not all of them are blues. Apparently it follows the same approach as an earlier album from the Norman Petty Trio entitled "Moondreams" where every song had "Moon" or "Dreams" in the title. And that's what we get, mainly blues. What does come as a surprise though is that the Fireballs do not appear to have any familiarity with then current black music.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
typical great fireball cd 28 Oct. 1999
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
for my money, these guys are better than the Ventures and I wish they had more material to be released.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category