Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series [DVD]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£31.98+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2013
I love this series, owned a few older format dvd copies I'd got second hand but when this reconfigured box set came out with 8 discs, I thought fantastic, I'll get it. It really is a fabulous show, I loved the whole programme when it first came out & now, nothing has ever compared to it. But, & this is a BIG but, it is the 21st century, the dvds have been done up, look & sound better, but why on earth are there no subtitles for those of us with hearing problems?? I have ancient Ealing comedy films on dvd that few now know yet they have subtitles. So why on earth doesn't the dvd of this BAFTA award winning, world renowned series have no subtitles? That is a serious mistake.
The series however is no mistake, it is fantastic, enthralling & the out-takes the best ever! But come on producers, it is the 21st century, there is NO excuse for dvds of such popular series to not have subtitles.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 18 October 2010
Of all the adaptations of Robin Hood that I've seen so far (some I haven't seen yet), the HTV-produced Robin of Sherwood from the 1980s is in my opinion the best of the lot. This adaptation is true to the Robin Hood legend with great storylines and the actors who played their characters were a true fit to them, compared to the actors in the BBC's adaptations with Jonas Armstrong which were a bit on the cheesy side.
Back to Robin of Sherwood, the first two series with Michael Praed as Robin of Loxley/Sherwood were great because it actually had the main character in the show, whereas in series 3 Jason Connery (son of Sir Sean Connery) was brought in to the show as Robert of Huntingdon who later became the second Robin Hood because Michael Praed left the show after two series. The third (and final) series was good enough to watch, although if I have to be accurate, I would say that it perhaps wasn't quite a patch on the first two. But still, I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of the Robin Hood legend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
Robin of Sherwood is an imaginative version of the famous 12th Century legend Robin Hood. Here Robin is "Robin of Loxley". His adventures begin when his home at "Loxley Mill" is destroyed by Norman soldiers. Robin wants revenge and sets about getting it.
This series was produced in the 1980s and it was created by Richard Carpenter who earlier had worked on the series Dick Turpin.
Robin of Sherwood is a fabulous series. There are some great original stories and ideas here. And the DVD set brings together all of the episodes from all of the series as well as some good special features.

Robin of Sherwood weaves the legend of Robin Hood together with pagan beliefs that people of the 12th Century would no doubt be more familiar with. Seeking revenge, Robin encounters mystical "Herne the hunter" a sort of spirit protector of nature and the oppressed Saxon folk. A shamanic figure who is believed to be a forest spirit representing the powers of light and goodness, inspiring and protecting the Hooded Man. Herne appears as a man with a Stag's head.
Here Herne appears to Robin as a man wearing a stag's head. He tells him that he has chosen him to be the peoples champion and to be the son of .Herne. He endows Robin with the sword Albion. Robin then becomes "The Hooded Man" also known as Robin in the Hood, and better known as simply Robin Hood.
Lady Marion, Maid Marion of Leaford (Judi Trott), Little John, (Clive Mantle) Will Scarlet, (Ray Winstone) and Friar Tuck, (Phil Rose) are all familiar characters that join Robin. Also in this version we get the wonderful character of "Nasir" (Mark Ryan). A Saracen assassin, who had been captured in Palestine by Baron de Belleme, and brought back to England to work as his henchman. He is freed when Robin kills the Baron and, having found respect for Robin during a crucial sword fight, decides to join the Merry Men. Throughout the series, he speaks very little.
This additional character seems to have influenced further adaptations of Robin Hood through film and Television.
The Sheriff of Nottingham is played brilliantly by Nicholas Grace and Guy of Gisbourne is excellently played by Robert Addie.This great series also featured many familiar stars in guest appearances.

Michael Praed, (Robin) left the series after two seasons. He went on to Broadway and the TV series Dynasty in America.
The third series brings in the storyline that Robin of Loxley is killed in an ambush but his revolutionary spirit is assumed by a new "Hooded Man" Robert of Huntingdon. (Jason Connery) Robert is a lad of noble blood who, like his predecessor has been inspired by Herne the Hunter. Robert rescues the "merry men" and becomes Robin in the Hood.

The music is hauntingly beautiful and comes from Clannad. The whole series has unique camera work and lighting with soft focus and atmosphere. The stories are interesting and adventurous.
It is clever the way mysticism is presented in a believable way. It is not magic as such. But there is a "physical" presentation of spiritual pagan belief that is full of atmosphere.

The whole series is as enjoyable today as it was back in the 1980s when it was first made. The DVD set is well presented with great picture quality and picture restoration. Also the sound is fabulous with its new digital stereo mix. I enjoyed watching the whole series more this time round than when it was originally on TV.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2014
I have always loved the legend of Robin Hood, but for me the ultimate telling of this story was done in an original way by the genius that was Richard "Kip" Carpenter who previously wrote Catweazle wanted to re-do a new modern take on the tale and made it more gritty and real but by adding a touch of magic with "Herne the Hunter". Take a look back at a young Ray Winstone who made Will Scarlett more tougher than the previous versions that have portrayed him as a wimp in the Hollywood take on this classic, also see a character that was never there originaly but made up by "Kip" for the show was Nasir brilliantly played by Mark Ryan and was stolen to be used in the Kevin Costner version with the Saracen being played by Morgan Freeman. All the episodes from series 1 to 3 are spread out over 8 discs with commentaries from actors and producers and directors. Michael Praed is still the best Robin Hood but credit also goes to Jason Connery as well because it was hard for people to see him as the character seen as Michael did such a great job setting the show up from the start. For me the best Sheriff of Nottingham Nikolas Grace with Robert Addie as his inept second in command Guy of Gisburne were the best double act out of all the versions their has been. The most recent series with Jonas Armstrong that never even had Friar Tuck never worked for me and it lost something that Richard Carpenters version will never have. Look out for guest stars such as John Nettles, John Rhys Davis, Reece Dinsdale, Ian Ogilvy, Patricia Hodge, Rula Lenska, Lewis Collins, Richard O' Brien and many more. If like me all your VHS tapes are worn out from watching this stunning show over and over then get this set where the visuals are much clearer than the VHS tapes. The legend, the visuals, the actors and the haunting music by Clannad is what sets this version apart from anything that has come before or since. This is a must have in your collection if you loved sitting down in the 1980s' at 5.30pm to watch "The Hooded Man" his Maid Marion played by Judi Trott with Nasir, Will Scarlett, Little John, Friar Tuck and Much rob from the rich to give to the poor and get one over on the Sherriff and Gisburne then this is for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2013
This is the the greatest and best interpretation of this important piece of English culture. It underlines the spiritual aspect that underpins the legend and other authentic traditional magical elements introduced by Richard Carpenter give this credibility and substance. Did you know that he also wrote Catweazle? I thought Michael Praed could have been a tougher Robin in places and Judy Trott's emotional range as Marion was stretched at times but what a great supporting cast. Nickolas Grace's glorious Sheriff of Nottingham stole the show. It all made Jason Connery look wooden when he came in as Robin and they brought in a wonderfully over the top Richard Obrien. Treat yourself to this. Act without thinking!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2014
A classic television series, this still holds up well despite the many years that have passed since its original airing. Including pagan beliefs and Celtic traditions, this series has a wonderful dimension of the magical and mysterious. Though there is obviously some dating, it remains an interesting and captivating take on the legend of Robin Hood.

There is some ropy acting, mainly from bit-part players that only appear in an episode to two, but the main cast are great in the first two series. I don't usually like Ray Winston, but he makes a convincing Will Scarlett. If Michael Praed were Robin in the 3rd series this would have been a 5 star review, but unfortunately Jason Connery's acting leaves a lot to be desired.

The extras are interesting and the sound quality of this reconfiguration is good.

So, if you enjoyed it when it was on or want a tale of Robin Hood with some mystique and can cope with the effects and directing being a little dated, then this is definitely worth investing in. A very enjoyable series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 10 February 2013
This was considered a watershed series for the legend of Robin and the Merries. A lot of the new themes introduced for the first time in it were taken up by modern Hollywood adaptations; for example a Saracen being part of the band (Robin Hood - Prince of Thieves) and the very fears and superstitions of the medieval times bring the `magic` element of the myth and legend that surrounds Robin.

A fantastic show that has not dated in the 30 odd years since it was made back in the 1980s. A few of the cast went on to be huge stars of film and theatre such as Michael Praed (Dynasty, Riders, many West End Theatre Shows) and Ray Winstone (Many major films and shows from UK and USA).

There were also a lot of famous guest stars that took part because of the quality and reputation of the writers, cast and crew. Well worth a look, you`ll be hooked, as Robin often says - nothing`s forgotten, nothing is ever forgotten! and neither should this show be.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 3 May 2010
If, like me, you were disappointed in the BBC's mess of a version of the Robin Hood myth (with its political correctness, modern in jokes, etc., etc.) then treat yourself to this set which shows you how it should be done.

Combining elements of the classic Robin Hood myth with pagan myths around Herne the Hunter, and even elements of Arthurian legend, this series created at atmosphere which was totally devoid in the BBC's recent version. Nikolas Grace was wonderful as the Sheriff of Nottingham and this programme launched/enhanced the careers of now established actors such as Ray Winstone and Clive Mantle. Michael Praed was a much better Robin than the rather wooden Jason Connery, but the wonderful stories meant Connery's contribution didn't detract from the whole.

There are also some great guest appearances, ranging from Rula Lenska to Lewis Collins. Phil Davis appeared regularly as Prince, then King John, also to great effect.

Clannad's haunting music serves to add to the atmosphere of the programme and their CD with the is worth buying in itself.

I've no idea what the extras on this are like, but whatever their quality this set is worth getting just for the stories themselves.

'Nothing is forgotten, nothing is ever forgotten'!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Robin of Sherwood is an imaginative version of the famous 12th Century legend Robin Hood. Here Robin is "Robin of Loxley". His adventures begin when his home at "Loxley Mill" is destroyed by Norman soldiers. Robin wants revenge and sets about getting it.
This series was produced in the 1980s and it was created by Richard Carpenter who earlier had worked on the series Dick Turpin.
Robin of Sherwood is a fabulous series. There are some great original stories and ideas here. And the DVD set brings together all of the episodes from all of the series as well as some good special features.

Robin of Sherwood weaves the legend of Robin Hood together with pagan beliefs that people of the 12th Century would no doubt be more familiar with. Seeking revenge, Robin encounters mystical "Herne the hunter" a sort of spirit protector of nature and the oppressed Saxon folk. A shamanic figure who is believed to be a forest spirit representing the powers of light and goodness, inspiring and protecting the Hooded Man. Herne appears as a man with a Stag's head.
Here Herne appears to Robin as a man wearing a stag's head. He tells him that he has chosen him to be the peoples champion and to be the son of .Herne. He endows Robin with the sword Albion. Robin then becomes "The Hooded Man" also known as Robin in the Hood, and better known as simply Robin Hood.
Lady Marion, Maid Marion of Leaford (Judi Trott), Little John, (Clive Mantle) Will Scarlet, (Ray Winstone) and Friar Tuck, (Phil Rose) are all familiar characters that join Robin. Also in this version we get the wonderful character of "Nasir" (Mark Ryan). A Saracen assassin, who had been captured in Palestine by Baron de Belleme, and brought back to England to work as his henchman. He is freed when Robin kills the Baron and, having found respect for Robin during a crucial sword fight, decides to join the Merry Men. Throughout the series, he speaks very little.
This additional character seems to have influenced further adaptations of Robin Hood through film and Television.
The Sheriff of Nottingham is played brilliantly by Nicholas Grace and Guy of Gisbourne is excellently played by Robert Addie.This great series also featured many familiar stars in guest appearances.

Michael Praed, (Robin) left the series after two seasons. He went on to Broadway and the TV series Dynasty in America.
The third series brings in the storyline that Robin of Loxley is killed in an ambush but his revolutionary spirit is assumed by a new "Hooded Man" Robert of Huntingdon. (Jason Connery) Robert is a lad of noble blood who, like his predecessor has been inspired by Herne the Hunter. Robert rescues the "merry men" and becomes Robin in the Hood.

The music is hauntingly beautiful and comes from Clannad. The whole series has unique camera work and lighting with soft focus and atmosphere. The stories are interesting and adventurous.
It is clever the way mysticism is presented in a believable way. It is not magic as such. But there is a "physical" presentation of spiritual pagan belief that is full of atmosphere.

The whole series is as enjoyable today as it was back in the 1980s when it was first made. The DVD set is well presented with great picture quality and picture restoration. Also the sound is fabulous with its new digital stereo mix. I enjoyed watching the whole series more this time round than when it was originally on TV.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 22 January 2012
A very influential and enjoyable adaptation, looks and feels still very fresh in spite of its age to boot. The cast chemistry is very good, and so are clothes and locations. Even some details ( some haircuts - Robin's hairstyle is so early 80's rockstar, for instance ;p - and some 'home-made looking' low budget SE ) in this case add to the charm of this production.
I'm a bit of a Robin Hood fangirl (the hooded man is one of my earliest fictional crushes to boot - the Disney animated classic version, then the Sean Connery have always been my favourites since childhood)and now Michael Praed's spin on the character is happily in my top 3. He really has the charisma and fey-like, wood man-like quality required for this role also according to the series' creators ;).
This repackage edition is compact and quite handy, and I quite like the cover compared to previous prints (the black background older prints): the greener, the better!
I can't say how well the pic quality transfer fares compared to other versions, but I find it pretty good - again, considering the film is relatively old - . Audio/volume fluctuates a bit though in some spots.
The only flaw I can find is the lack of subtitles. I'm pretty fluent but I'm not a native speaker... I'm still fine with the series and can get the whole dialogue 90% of the time here, but HOH and not proficient foreign viewers might find out differently. The day they put subtitles I'll happily buy more copies for my friends as gifts.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.