Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars163
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2011
My search is over, after trawling the net i came across this cd/radio player and cannot praise it enough. The unit is nice and compact, light to carry around. Why some people on the reviews complain about the sliding switches for the cd/radio operation amazes me. The rotating knob for the radio is ok and tunes in stations accuurately with clear clarity without extending the ariel in wolves. Bass boost when activated clearly makes a difference, a nice touch. I love the rotating volume knob common with roberts products. The top of the cd is clear plastic and u can see cd rotating. Track display is large and clear, and with speakers mounted on the side belt out a clear, crisp sound. I could go on....BUY IT....DELIVERY TOOK 2 DAYS....
0Comment|106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
The best part is the recharge battery that is in built which means you can take it any where, with out having to worry if the batteries are going to be flat. Great radio good sound very pleased.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Very useful player as it is readily portable, lightweight, mains/battery powered and with good quality sound - all at a good price.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
This product fitted my financial situation perfectly, as the cost was very agreeable. All in, a decent apparatus, with good sound, and fine reception for radio stations. I listen to the music on it, by headphones, as I don't like to annoy my wife when she's watching the television! I would recommend this model, to anyone who is especially, not looking for an expensive way of listening to CD's and the radio.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
As portable CD players go, this is great for the price. The sound quality is surprisingly good. Operation is easy and straightforward - bought for my mum who loves audiobooks and the player travels between living room, bedroom and kitchen!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Bought for my elderly mother so it needed to be easy to operate and it has a nice clear sound, she loves it.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
The first thing i noticed when taking it out of the box is that unit has a decent weight to it and feels sturdy and solid!!! It looks cute but don't be fooled into thinking it has tinny rubbish sound that a lot of similar looking portable stereo's have because even without the bass boost their is a nice depth to the sound!!! The bass boost switch adds a dash more bass into the mix!!! I have never bought a Roberts products before but i would hapilly buy another Roberts cd/radio as i am impressed with this tidy little unit and i recommend it!!!!!!
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
I wanted a cheap CD player for a small room and decided to buy it.

My review is obviously not comparing against expensive HIFI units but cheap (Under £50) radio/Cd players.

The bad......

1/ No digital tuner, just the old-type dial analogue radio tuner.
2/ The slide-switches feel cheap quality and are a bit stiff to move. The CD lid feels delicate when you close it and could have been made stronger.
3/ No cassette player. Is it really needed though??
4/ Hiss noise present when volume is turned down low.
5/ Green LED screen is basic only showing CD track numbers and nothing else.

The good....

1/The loud sound quality is pretty good and vocals and hi frequencies are clear and bright. The bass is ok but won't shake your pictures off the wall. ;o)
2/Overal build quality is quite good apart from the odd bits. For the money you can't expect everything to be top-quality.
3/In my opinion is pleasing to look at and I expecially like the 'Clear' CD lid which shows the CD spinning around.
4/Compact size makes it great for small rooms.
5/Picks up many radio stations.

Vedict...

So while it not perfect, for the money you get a great little sounding piece of equipment that hopefully has 'ROBERTS' quality parts fitted inside.
I've only had mine a few days so only time will tell how long it will last.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Really liked the way it was set out and was very disappointed when the cd player kept sticking. Also had some of the vibrating other reviewers mentioned. I expected a lot more from Roberts. Would be wary of this brand in future.
As per the usual great customer service from Amazon, was returned with no problem and got a Phillips instead which I am very pleased with.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Has quite a good sound (for its size) when playing CDs. However, the 'slider' on/off & wave change switches on the front are very small and difficult to use, they are not very good at all. FM/MW radio reception is ok, but LW radio reception is really quite poor in comparison to my Roberts R983 radio.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)