Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2002
This book is what every new driver should get along with the highway code. sadly this doesn't happen, so whether you have been driving for one day or thirty years you should read this.
The book is very well laid out and of the highest quality. Clear concise it is a very good example of HM Govt. publishing at its best. All points are clearly illustrated with diagrams, which interestingly often show a white car as the protagnist.
I am a little worried though at the thought that more than 99% of drivers have never even heard of this book. You won't learn any dark secrets, it will seem obvious when you read it like all the best advice. You will learn how to be a safe yet fast driver. How to handle your car and avoid accidents no matter what other drivers are up to.
Don't expect a potted road rally course or techniques of police pursuit driving. This is about road driving safely and quickly. Essential reading if you are going for an advanced driver rating or not.
In short: if you drive - read this
11 comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
Reading Roadcraft cannot fail to improve your driving. It's one of the most thorough books on advanced driving. This is an extremely valuable book for anyone who is interested in their driving. Roadcraft is also 'the bible' of advanced driving; those taking the advanced driving test of the Institute of Advanced Motorists or RoSPA need a good working knowledge of Roadcraft...However, other drivers will find it one of those books that's informative to dip into from time to time. It'll also be interesting for anyone curious to learn how the police drive.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
Don't be fooled by the new cover on the most recent issue of Roadcraft. This book is not just for Advanced Police drivers but for everyone who has a keen interest in driving and for driving safely. As a traffic cop myself it is the bible for all the courses, however, it also takes drivers who have passed the DVLA standard test and through very well laid out sections, teaches them a whole different approach to their driving.

Without giving too much away, it teaches drivers to adopt a proven system of car control which WILL improve anticipation and observation skills dramatically amongst many other things.

A very worthwhile read indeed.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2007
For anybody interested in motoring, it gives an insight into advanced driving techniques. For those of us who passed their driving test when Adam was a lad, it is well worth a read. An excellent and well written book. I purchased the book when I took my Advanced Driving Test with the Institute of Advanced Drivers and passed first time.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Good practical advice and would be beneficial for learner drivers to give perception and positioning to make our roads a safer environment
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2005
This book covers all the relevant knowledge required for safe,systematic driving and as the book describes, the safe use of "driving to the system". It helps everyone finally understand why it is their driving that causes accidents and not the vehicles they drive. It covers cornering,steering, use of gears, overtaking (which is legal you know, regardless of people sticking their fingers up at you for doing it and flashing you when you have plenty of room and don't sacrifice anyones safety to do it !), skidding and how to correct it and much more including drivers behaviours and tips on how to generally drive safely (not necessarily slowly !). It enables any driver to observe everything around him, anticipate any hazards before its too late. This book is well worth a read if you are not the most confident of drivers or indeed you have had a few accidents and think you have learnt because the stats in this book will shock you. The only criticism of this book is that to explain a relatively straight forward task, does involve long winded words, which for some people they would find taxing and quite boring. But with a dictionary to hand, you would be fine. If it is used to train police officers, which i think from what i see living in London everyday, it does a good job ! enjoy. AW.
22 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2003
Roadcraft has been around for at least twenty-five years that I am aware of and the advice in it gets better with every day. It is the book that will teach you how to survive on the roads.
It will not teach you how to be a traffic cop. It will teach you how to read the road, how to see trouble coming and how to avoid it. It will teach you how to overtake safely, how to manoeuvre safely in tight situations and how to see escape routes when faced with other people's stupidity. Everyone should have to read and understand this book before they pass a driving test.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2002
When collisions occur it's generally someone's fault. That's why the police tend to call them road traffic collsions now, rather than road traffic accidents. Nonetheless, what would you prefer, to be not at fault in a collision or to not have the collision in the first place? ROADCRAFT, applied correctly, will make the driver appreciate all kinds of hazards that are on the road today. Driving to the system of car control also makes you drive with less stress and you will travel using the maximum safe progress, which is how police officers treat every journey. It doesn't have to be fast, but by using the principles in ROADCRAFT, you will avoid hazards, appreciate hazards that you didn't before, and you'll learn to see them earlier. Recommended reading for EVERY driver.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I have bought each edition of 'Roadcraft' since the 1970s. With each new edition there has been significant improvement and this one is no exception; it tops the lot. I have for many years been interested in good driving and possess a small library of books and DVDs on the subject. This book and the companion DVD (sold separately) hold pride of place, and I can recommend it without reservation.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
As the author of "How to Become a Driving Instructor" I was delighted to have the latest edition of "Roadcraft". A book that has truly stood the test of time. The new edition is especially valuable to me as an IHCD ambulance driving instructor. The updates include a new chapter on emergency response that I recommend that all my students read. This book is not only valuable, but essential for every good driving instructor.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.25
£4.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.