Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
This little book tells me everything I believe I'll need to plan my day-to-day travels. Perhaps a bit more on some reasonable hotels (and motels) that have above-average atmosphere or a key location would be welcome. On the whole, a good travel buy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Took a Mississippi road trip from Memphis to New Orleans and the book was extremely helpful with useful little stories that give a flavour of past and present. You really need to get a sense of size of the river and its flood plain and this is the book that helps do it. In reality the entire 3 week holiday could have been taken up on just this portion of the Mississippi if you followed every path to the waters edge. highly recommended if you want a good introduction to the power, importance and heritage of the Great River
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
This book is useful. It makes suggestions about how you might get from Point A to Point B in America if you decided not to use the freeway/motorway system (in this case following the Mississippi River as it runs doen the US). It doesn't try to be overly detailed. Instead, if you've decided to make this trip, it gives you "colour" about the possible route you could take, with thumbnail sketches that will make the places on the route sound sufficiently interesting that you'll want to take time to investigate, and learn about, the places for yourself.

The fact that it gives you colour rather a ton of detail might make it sound like there isn't advice at all in the book. That isn't true. It gives recommendations about where to eat, and what to do in a lot of places, but because of the type of book it's trying to be, the sort of small town America it covers, don't expect to get lots of ideas for the places it suggests you visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
A succinct and helpful guide. Ideal if you want a book which is easy to carry and with a reasonable amount of information. Less valuable if you want in depth information. Will be using as our guide when we make the trip because of its ease of use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Well presented and very clearly laid out. We travelled the whole length of Mississippi and so often always liked the options of "side trips". Was an essential framework for a trip. Thank you
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Very useful book to have when starting the great river roead. provides good information on what to expect in the different city we will be driving along. Good for preparation of the trip.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
This book was a good start point in planning a trip down the Great River Road following the mighty Mississippi. I used it in conjunction with local websites in the areas of interest to develop my complete journey plan.
The general descriptions of the road characteristics were the most useful in letting me focus my attention on areas with best access to the exemplars of the varying landscapes and locations for river access.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Very useful reference for this road trip, excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
good information, will use it with my own map,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)