Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Start reading Ripped on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Ripped [Kindle Edition]

Frederic Lindsay
2.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 322 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 700,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

Jack the Ripper.

One of the most notorious serial killers of all time.

And one who has been copied many times.

But in the Scottish town of Moirhill, a killer is stalking a different prey.

Men are now the targets and not women.

The dates of the murders parallel those of Jack the Ripper’s murders, and as the days move towards that of his final crime, Detective Murray Wilson races to catch the killer before it is too late.

But as he is sucked into a world of politics, sex and murder Wilson starts to
realise the murderer might be closer to home than he suspected.

And it is not just 'Jack The Ripper's' past that is about to catch up with him.

Frederic Lindsay's book is a gripping crime thriller that uses the Ripper murders to create a chilling and unnerving study of the nature of evil.

'Ripped' is perfect for readers of Patricia Cornwell and Ian Rankin.

Frederic Lindsay was one of the most widely praised crime authors of the last two decades.

'Intelligent, entertaining, gripping and well-written.' - Ian Rankin, Scotland on Sunday.

'Lindsay can chill your soul' - Sarah Dunant, The Listener.

'Lindsay has used a genre often concerned with entertainment only to write a write a profoundly serious novel, as Chandler and Ross Macdonald did in California half a century ago.' - Alan Massie, The Scotsman.

'An intriguing and intelligent thriller' - Sunday Telegraph.

Frederic Lindsay was a novelist living in Edinburgh. His books include 'When The Stranger Came' and the Inspector Jim Meldrum series.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3113 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (24 Jun. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DM8QM7M
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 2.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #149,887 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and original dark crime 28 Jun. 2013
Set in an unpredictable urban landscape a number of gross murders take place with a twisted mirroring of the Jack the Ripper murders a hundred years before, this is a great read for crime enthusiasts.

The main character (Murray Wilson) is dragged into a world of politics, scandal and murder as he attempts to solve the crimes, without realising how close to home the murders really are. It is further complicated by his own troubled life and growing obsession with his enigmatic sister in law. This book makes for an intriguing and addictive read, a thriller which truly looks into the modern concepts of evil.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and Gripping 30 Jun. 2013
By Kmacs
Ripped is a well-written story of murder, deceit and scandal set in an urban landscape. A really interesting take on Jack the Ripper this book makes for an unforgettable and enthralling read, a must for anyone who enjoys realistic and intriguing crime books. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Karin Slaughter. The plot is complex, further complicated by various multifaceted characters with histories which precede the book, but on a whole this adds texture and layers to the story which many writers struggle to achieve. I would 100% recommend this to friends and any other crime fans.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought on promotion - couldn't put it down!! 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase
I downloaded this book as part of a free promo yesterday and have already finished it. Couldn't put it down all of last night! A fantastic thriller, really gripping. And it cost me nothing - what a bonus!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, bit confusing though 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase
I downloaded this on the strength of the reviews that said this unputdownable. Not for me, I'm afraid.

It was too confusing with all the jumping back and forth and sometimes there was no clear idea of who was actually doing what.

I read it to the end just to find out what happened, but wouldn't say it was a real thriller.

Each to his own though.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars I struggled to 49% 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase
Seriously not impressed with this book.....

I got halfway through, ok 49 per cent is not quite there but I felt that I deserved a reprieve! I normally go for books in the Top 100 Free Category and it can be hit or miss. I have read some fascinating or gripping ones but there have been the occasional stinker, and I am afraid this one falls into that pile, I wanted to like it and there had been some good reviews.

It was slow, the characters had no personality, the plot or storyline was unclear and the grammar was often poor.

I did find one slightly redeeming factor - as I read it, I felt that it could be similar to an episode of Taggart, there has been a murrrderrrrrrrr........ Yes, I am clutching at straws to find something good to say.

Just before I threw in the towel I sneaked a look at the latest reviews. Many felt like me. However, to my surprise, some people found it gripping. Yes, the complete opposite, so if you are thinking about getting this, go ahead, you may actually enjoy it - good luck!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proper Crime 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase
This is not a light and fluffy 'English murder mystery' read but a proper gritty and gruesome crime novel. I have always been interested in the 'Jack the Ripper' murders and this uses them in an interesting and unusual way. Would recommend to anyone who likes serious, dark crime books.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping thriller 6 Aug. 2013
By AlexO'B
Verified Purchase
Downloaded this a while ago and started reading it as my journey ebook last week. Not my favourite crime novel but I found it gripping, sinister and, with its illusions to Jack the Ripper, very spine-tingling. I would recommend it to all crime fic fans and thriller, mystery addicts.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and dense 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase
This is a very dark graphic book so not for anyone looking for a cozy crime read. Lindsay writes in a very unusual and distinctive style - a little confusing to begin with but worth taking the time to continue.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Good read
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Like Hard Work
This was too Scottish and way too confusing and I'd had enough 4% into it. I've no idea what a clype is nor a crapule and really can't be bothered to look it up. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Lynda Kelly
1.0 out of 5 stars No suspense.
I just could not get into this book at all,I sussed the murderer early on.I love thrillers but this just didn't catch my attention sorry.
Published 21 months ago by Di
1.0 out of 5 stars Good cover, bad book
This book is unacceptably bad written. Boring, full of mistakes and simply not worth buying it. Avoid it under all circumstances. Do not even read it for free!
Published 21 months ago by Sean Kirk
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read
The story is great, the book well written and it hangs together quite well. Read a bit as if written for the teenage market at times but overall entertaining and fun.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer
2.0 out of 5 stars FOUND IT A HARD BOOK TO READ
I don't know if the style of writing but I only managed 3 chapters, just couldn't get into the flow of the book, so cannot comment about the overall storyline, just didn't make me... Read more
Published 23 months ago by Lorra
3.0 out of 5 stars Ripped off! Well not quite
It's difficult to explain this book. The stories there, if a little oddly written in places,

The real problem is the formatting which make the book difficult to follow. Read more
Published 23 months ago by Roger Cave
1.0 out of 5 stars Ripped
Awful book, couldn't get into it at all, muddled and confusing writing. Most unusual for me as I love this sort of book normally.
Published 24 months ago by Mrs. K. Brewster
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth reading in my opinion
Didn't even finish this book as could not get into the story. So did not even finish it very unusual
Published on 29 Aug. 2013 by JessieB
4.0 out of 5 stars ripped
This is a story set in Glasgow around a policeman who left the force and now does private investigations. Read more
Published on 21 Aug. 2013 by R. Gardner
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category