Start reading Ripe for Scandal (The League of Second Sons Book 2) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Ripe for Scandal (The League of Second Sons Book 2) [Kindle Edition]

Isobel Carr
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £3.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.50 (50%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.49  
Mass Market Paperback £6.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Book Two in The League of Second Sons

A secret society of younger sons, sworn to aid and abet each other, no matter the scandal or cost . . . Their fathers and brothers may rule the world, but they run it, and when it comes to passion they refuse to accept second best.

No one would ever suspect Lady Boudicea "Beau" Vaughn, a well-bred, young heiress, of secretly harboring unladylike desires. The object of her affection: Gareth Sandison, a notorious rake and her brother's best friend. Beau knows her brother would never approve, yet one glance into Gareth's smoldering eyes stirs a longing deep inside her.

The second son of an Earl, Gareth has always known the lovely Lady Beau is above his station. But when she is kidnapped, Gareth sees a chance to prove his worth and plans a daring rescue. Soon he and Beau are on the run. Yet Beau's abductors are not the only threat-passion pursues the pair at every turn. Long nights fuel forbidden fantasies, and with danger closing in, Gareth and Beau will finally give in to the ultimate temptation...


Product Description

Review

"4 Stars! With her witty dialogue and tender romance, Carr draws readers into her marriage-of-convenience plotline that delves into what happens when the couple falls in love and then struggles to build a strong marriage against the odds. It's a lesson all can savor."-- RT Book Reviews

Book Description

Forever's first erotic historical author continues her super-sexy series that will appeal to fans of Emma Holly and New York Times bestselling authors Susan Johnson and Nicole Jordan.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 972 KB
  • Print Length: 341 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 044657273X
  • Publisher: Forever; Original edition (1 Sept. 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00FOVT89O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #330,982 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripe for Scandel 12 Feb. 2013
By Chris
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Really enjhoyed this book it was so well written you were pulled into the story in no time enjoy...this book
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars  18 reviews
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed 6 Sept. 2011
By cindy - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This book did not live up to the description on the back cover at all. I actually finished this book and cannot tell you what this so called hero did for a living. 'Secret Society of second sons sworn to aid and abet'....what a joke! Just another sad tale of a man whoring his way through women....preferably married...as this somehow made his behaviour acceptable....and the woman who didn't care how many women he had been with nor whether he was full of disease or had fathered any children. In fact she accepts a child into her home who she believes is her husbands bast**d with a shrug of her shoulders thinking to herself 'I should have known!'

I usually wait to read the reviews before purchasing a book now but took a chance anyway. What a huge disappointment not to mention waste of time and money. I know I am not alone in wanting to read a story about a hero with some integrity and depth....someone with a few morals perhaps? Unfortunately there are too many authors not listening.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story/Average Character Development 10 Sept. 2011
By mekramer79 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
This novel started out very strong and the story description is compelling, but the conflict is not developed enough for a whole novel. There were so many moments when the angst could really excel, but the characters moved on rather quickly with forgiving and making up. The conflict was resolved without much hardship or sacrifice. All in all the sex scenes were hot and frequent, but the plot lacked. No one learned anything and I skimmed it to the end.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keeping secrets can ruin a romance 24 Oct. 2011
By Jen (Red Hot Books) - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Gareth Sandison is in love with his best friend's little sister, Beau. But as a second son, he knows the lady is out of his reach. Beau has other ideas. She wants Gareth for her own, and when he saves her from a kidnapping attempt, she grasps her opportunity to have him.

The two decide to wed in order to keep Beau's reputation intact --and it works for the most part. But swooping in on a friend's sister is a cardinal sin among gentlemen and the marriage leaves Gareth ostracized among his buddies. The love is there for our couple and so is some pretty rockin' sex... but they aren't without problems. In addition to Gareth losing his friends, they must also deal with a revenge plot against Beau and the appearance of Gareth's bastard nephew, who his brother refuses to claim.

This is where the book lost me. I kind of like the idea of our hero and heroine banding together to thumb their nose at society. They were a united force --who entertained me with steamy love scenes. But Gareth's willingness to break Beau's heart to perpetrate his brother's lies completely alienated me. It was totally unnecessary. Even if he wanted to maintain the pretense to the outside world, lying to Beau was inexcusable.

The first half of the book was pretty enjoyable... and I was satisfied by the time we got to the ending. But the baby plot device/ secret/ misunderstanding was a big fail. 3 1/2 stars.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, solid read (SPOILERS) 29 Aug. 2011
By mys_reader - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I enjoyed the first book very much; this is a nice follow up. Strong heroine (Beau) who takes no nonsense and is sensible. Hero (Gareth) is good - well done "I'm in love with my friend sister" theme.

But I had a real problem with Leo, Beau's brother. (Hero of the first book) He was a complete &(%#&! in this book. I couldn't understand him at all. Why would he mistrust a beloved sister and a longtime friend? Why would he blacken his friend's reputation AFTER that friend was married to his sister - thus hurting HER reputation in the process?

And one niggling detail. I was hard-pressed to understand why one of the villains was let off. He BEAT the heroine up and was planning to hand her over to a psychopath! Hello? And they just let him off? WTH?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scandalous, steamy scenes and action packed. 19 Feb. 2012
By Under The Covers Book Blog - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
4.5 Feathers
Ripe for Scandal
Reviewed by Angela & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

True to its name, this second installment for The League of Second Sons series is full of scandal, family entanglement, romance with steamy scenes, and suspense. Ms. Carr has outdone herself as this book is so much better than the last!

Lady Boudicea Vaughn is the marriageable daughter of the Duke of Lochmaben, also Lord Leonidas little sister. This girl is not the black sheep of the family by far, but definitely a black sheep of their society. She is always going against the rules, and intentionally or not, her reputation is always in question. She will find herself in a situation where her purity will be at risk to the point of no return. And that`s where our Hero comes in, the famous Rake of London.

Gareth Sandison is the second son of the Earl of Roxwell, member of the League, and childhood friends with Lord Leonidas, which complicates things. Now, this guy is "..a rake known for dallying with other men's wives...", he was a flirt, a wanderer living the life of a bachelor. However, when the responsibility of taking care of Leo's little sister came up, he definitely came through, in more ways then one.

They have known each other since they were kids and always had feelings for each other. Knowing it will never be, Garreth and Beau avoided each other but a situation will arise where their attraction cannot be ignored. The love scenes were fairly hot and take note, there is very thorough instruction of how-to-do a Hand Job included.

Their coming together was as predictable as the Guy Next Door story, but do not be fooled. This book has twists and turns that are unexpected and left me holding my breath.

Ms. Carr was able to deliver an action packed story, one suspense after the next. She managed to include the Duke, the Earl, few members of the League, other members of their family and of course the villains of the story. And they were all infuriatingly annoying but added intensity to the story. I enjoyed this book beyond my expectations and cannot wait to find out what book 3 entails.

I have to include some quotes from our Rake.

Gareth:
~"Bringing pleasure to your partner, giving rather than receiving, is a pleasure all its own.."
~ "I swear to God, Beau. If you're still straddling me when you open my Breeches..."
~ "Spit in hour hand.."
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category