Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Revelry Overture Op. 62 (Sutherland, BBC Concert Orch)

Price: £20.09 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
11 new from £6.98 11 used from £3.97

Frequently Bought Together

Revelry Overture Op. 62 (Sutherland, BBC Concert Orch) + Montague Phillips Vol 2
Price For Both: £38.20

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Orchestra: BBC Concert Orchestra
  • Conductor: Gavin Sutherland
  • Composer: Montague F Phillips
  • Audio CD (3 May 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Epoch British Music
  • ASIN: B00022M40K
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 194,126 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Allegro Assai Con Brio
2. Larghetto Sostenuto
3. Jig (Allegro vivace)
4. Gavotte (Andante)
5. Graceful Dance (Allegretto grazioso)
6. Villagers' Dance (Allegro vivace)
7. A Spring Rondo (Presto leggiero)
8. A Summer Nocturne (Adagio sostenuto)
9. Richmond Park (Allegro con grazia)
10. The Shadowy Pines (Lento espressivo)
11. Kingston Market (Allegro leggiero - Allegro assai ben marcato)
12. Andante ben marcato - Allegro vivacissimo (leggiero)
13. Andante Moderato
14. Allegro Risoluto
15. Canzona: Lento tranquillo
16. Scherzo: Allegro vivace - poco meno messo (Alla marcia)

Product Description


Filed under `light' this may be, but this neglected music has true symphonic stature. -- The Gramophone Editor's Choice September 2004

Now here really is something! ... Phillips's voice, so eloquently served here by fine performances and recording. -- Andrew Lamb, The Gramophone, September 2004

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful By antom TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 April 2006
Verified Purchase
This CD was a Gramophone "Editor's Choice" in 2004. Montague Phillips was a composer of British music that is tuneful and very enjoyable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Where has this composer been all my life? 21 Sept. 2008
By Timothy P. Koerner - Published on Amazon.com
Montague Phillips (1895-1969) was a contemporary of British composers Arnold Bax and York Bowen and studied with Frederick Corder, among others, at the Royal Academy of Music. He's known primarily for orchestral songs and what is referred to as "light music".

This CD contains eight of his orchestral selections and gets off to a rousing start with the Revelry Overture. A short (6 minute) piece that reminded this listener of Eric Coates, it is lots of fun. The Moorland Idyll (6 minutes) has a lovely passage for flute followed by English horn (or oboe?) and sounds, especially at beginning and end, very Elgarian. Four dances from Phillips' light opera "Rebel Maid" feature threee brief fast tempo dances plus a gorgeous gavotte that I wished wouldn't end.

Phillips wrote a symphony in C minor in 1911 that was lost in Germany during the Great War. (One would like to know more about this.) We have here two reconstructed movements (15:40) from that work, the second a summer nocturne that is quite appealing.

A Survey Suite (10:50), Shakesperean Scherzo (7 minutes), Arabesque (4:16), and 15 minute Sinfonietta complete the 75 plus minute disc.

Where has this composer been all my life? I'm sorry I hadn't come across Montague Phillips earlier but also glad I found this CD while browsing in a public library. All but two of the tracks are first recordings, so it is likely Phillips' music is not very familiar outside the UK.

I strongly recommend this disc to anyone who enjoys British light music or just plain tuneful music. It contains an excellent ordering of selections, meaning it is easy to listen to the entire program with little likelihood of fatigue or boredom. The BBC Concert Orchestra, directed by Gavin Sutherland, plays superbly, and the recording is bright and closely miked. There are informative liner notes written by British music expert Lewis Foreman. But above all, thanks go to a person I have come to respect greatly, Michael Dutton, for bringing us this attractive CD.

Check the UK Dutton Labs website for delightful British music, including more of Montague Phillips.

Tim Koerner
September 2008
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category