Resonance: Ragnarok: Volume 3 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£13.32
  • RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £3.67 (22%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 weeks.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Trade in your item
Get a £1.20
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Resonance (Ragnarok 3) Paperback – 19 Dec 2013


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 19 Dec 2013
£13.32
£5.14 £8.76

Trade In Promotion


Frequently Bought Together

Resonance (Ragnarok 3) + Transmission (Ragnarok 2) + Absorption (Ragnarok 1)
Price For All Three: £26.90

Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £1.20
Trade in Resonance (Ragnarok 3) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £1.20, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (19 Dec. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0575085398
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575085398
  • Product Dimensions: 15.5 x 3.5 x 23.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 417,103 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

I'm John Meaney (aka Thomas Blackthorne), writer of hard SF, gothic SF/dark fantasy, and near-future thrillers. Having studied physics and computer science, I've been a globetrotting IT consultant and taught software engineering on three continents. Nowadays, I hide in a Welsh valley and write full-time.

I've trained in martial arts since I was a kid, primarily shotokan karate. I'm a trained hypnotist, so don't look into my eyes... And I adore cats. (And www.johnmeaney.com is my online home - pop in and say hi!)


P.S. For readers shopping at amazon.co.uk - please note that Black Blood is a US import, being the title the American publishers chose to use for the book that's called Dark Blood over here. (Writers don't choose titles or cover art or any of that stuff. We don't like it when something appears under 2 different titles, because in the long run it costs us readers!) To be fair to the publishers, Black Blood was my original working title, but it changed a year before US publication. The US edition contains later revisions compared to the British version, but they're minor.

Publishers buy the rights to publish in certain countries, so the US publishers weren't thinking of American books being sold in Britain. The business is country-based, but the Web is global.

Product Description

Book Description

A conflict lasting thousands of years and spanning millions of light years comes to its shattering conclusion in the final book of the Ragnarok trilogy, perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds.

About the Author

John Meaney is the author of TO HOLD INFINITY, PARADOX and CONTEXT. TO HOLD INFINITY and PARADOX were on the BSFA shortlists for BEST NOVEL in 1999 and 2001 respectively. THE TIMES called John Meaney 'The first important new SF writer of the 21st century'. Meaney has a degree in physics and computer science, and holds a black belt in Shotokan Karate. He lives in Glamorgan.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By D. Harris TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 12 Jan. 2014
Format: Paperback
This is the final part of a trilogy, following Absorption and Transmission.

If you have read them, you'll pretty much know what to expect.

If you haven't, this is an ambitious trilogy, spanning the time period between the 8th century and the 6000th, describing the infiltration of our Galaxy by a darkness and the efforts of humanity, and various alien species, to resist it. There are many, many characters, often related to each other - sometimes the links are clear, sometimes only hinted at - and themes, such as Norse mythology and the concept of Ragnarrok that runs throughout. It is well written, incredibly diverse, and generally compulsive reading. I'd urge you to go and read the first two books now, and in fact to read the three books one after another because the downside of all that detail is that there's a lot to forget if you leave too long between them. DON'T read any more of this review because it may become slightly spoilery for the first two books.

If you are still with me, as I said above, this book is very similar in format to the others - separate sections narrating the stories of Roger Blackstone, the young Pilot; of Ulfr, the 8th century Viking warrior; of Gavriella, Lucas her grandson, and so on. We also hear more of the World, whose story finally (but only just!) links up with the main narrative, of how the Schenk family came to embrace the darkness, of the origins of the Pilots, the Ragnarok Council and the nature of Kenna.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 26 Dec. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Space opera this may be, but it is top quality space opera, well written, stimulating, eminently readable yet intelligent, on a galactic scale.
John Meaney has succeeded in wrapping up the Ragnarok trilogy via this satisfying finale. I was engrossed, reading into the early hours to see what happened. But now I've read it there is a sad hole in my life: where are the other contemporary works of quality SF to brighten my evenings?
Those who are new to Mr Meaney had better start with the earlier works - Paradox, Context and Resolution in the Nulapeiron sequence and Absorption and Transmission, the preceding parts of the Ragnarok trilogy. (The two trilogies take place in the same universe, and elements from the earlier Nulapeiron opus appear in Ragnarok.)
If I were to be picky, I'd have liked to have heard a little more self-disclosure from the Darkness, or Admiral Schenck, perhaps during an attempted diplomacy by the pilots or Kenna, and it would also have been in the pilots' interest to make more effort to forge an alliance with the Zajinets.
If you've enjoyed Meaney's works then you might also enjoy The Quantum Thief and Ancillary Justice.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed the first two volumes of this trilogy so was eagerly awaiting the opportunity to read this, the final instalment. I was, however, destined to be sorely disappointed.

Gone is the break-neck pace, elegant prose and satisfyingly smooth narrative flow of the previous volumes to be replaced with grammatically convoluted, overlong sentences (see quote below from page 240 by way of a sadly typical example), pace killing narrative threads which take umpteen chapters to actually progress the plot and a confusing morass of shallow characters and locations.

“He was in the centre of the lab chamber, surrounded by a plethora of holovolumes: sheaves of number; intricate, shifting phase spaces rendered in a thousand hues where every nuance of colour held meaning; and many dimensioned emergenic maps, which tracked the generation of properties emergent from complex substrates, always checking and attempting to predict the emergence of order from chaos.”

Perhaps more generous readers might consider such gibberish challenging (they’d probably really enjoy Rajaniemi’s Quantum Thief), but I just found page after page of this waffle annoying padding. Despite being only a few pages longer than ‘Transmission’ it took me over twice the time to read this volume. It could be me, but I completely failed to get drawn in and ended up skip-reading the last 100 or so pages just to get to the not unexpectedly confusing and rushed finale. It seems to me a typical example of ambition overreaching ability but I don’t understand what went wrong; the first two instalments were excellent and I really enjoyed Meaney’s Tristopolis novels. Shame; a disappointing end to a potentially superb trilogy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By S. Earl on 7 Feb. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I came across the Ragnarok series back in 2011 and have waited eagerly for each of the subsequent books to be released. With the release of the 3rd and final instalment I was eager to see where and how this time spanning story would be wrapped up. I haven't been disappointed, the whole cycle has been well written bringing real depth and detail to each of the major characters and their situations and drawing them all into a finale worthy of the rest of the series. The writing style has reminded me of Peter F Hamilton and his vast sweeping books and I look forward to reading more of John's work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback