Resonance: Ragnarok: Volume Three and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 2.21 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Resonance: Ragnarok: Volume Three on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Resonance (Ragnarok 3) [Paperback]

John Meaney
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
RRP: 16.99
Price: 11.89 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 5.10 (30%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 31 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 6.53  
Paperback 6.53  
Paperback, 19 Dec 2013 11.89  
Trade In this Item for up to 2.21
Trade in Resonance (Ragnarok 3) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 2.21, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

19 Dec 2013 Ragnarok 3

From the leader of a Norse raiding party in 7th-century England to a young symbiotically bonded Pilot-and-Ship in the far future. From a female German scientist during the Second World War to a member of an alien race who communicates by smell. From the past to the future, war is coming. And only a few can see the darkness.

Hidden at the centre of the Universe, the darkness spreads its tendrils throughout space and time. Those it touches become puppets, dedicated to slowing down the improvement of the human race and preventing it from reaching its true potential. For the darkness knows that when it makes its final invasion of our space, humanity will stand against it.

And in the far far future, knowing that they are the last hope for the galaxy, the Ragnarok council is forming...


Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Resonance (Ragnarok 3) + Transmission (Ragnarok 2) + Absorption (Ragnarok 1)
Price For All Three: 25.47

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (19 Dec 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0575085398
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575085398
  • Product Dimensions: 15.3 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 227,507 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

I'm John Meaney (aka Thomas Blackthorne), writer of hard SF, gothic SF/dark fantasy, and near-future thrillers. Having studied physics and computer science, I've been a globetrotting IT consultant and taught software engineering on three continents. Nowadays, I hide in a Welsh valley and write full-time.

I've trained in martial arts since I was a kid, primarily shotokan karate. I'm a trained hypnotist, so don't look into my eyes... And I adore cats. (And www.johnmeaney.com is my online home - pop in and say hi!)


P.S. For readers shopping at amazon.co.uk - please note that Black Blood is a US import, being the title the American publishers chose to use for the book that's called Dark Blood over here. (Writers don't choose titles or cover art or any of that stuff. We don't like it when something appears under 2 different titles, because in the long run it costs us readers!) To be fair to the publishers, Black Blood was my original working title, but it changed a year before US publication. The US edition contains later revisions compared to the British version, but they're minor.

Publishers buy the rights to publish in certain countries, so the US publishers weren't thinking of American books being sold in Britain. The business is country-based, but the Web is global.

Product Description

Book Description

A conflict lasting thousands of years and spanning millions of light years comes to its shattering conclusion in the final book of the Ragnarok trilogy, perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds.

About the Author

John Meaney is the author of TO HOLD INFINITY, PARADOX and CONTEXT. TO HOLD INFINITY and PARADOX were on the BSFA shortlists for BEST NOVEL in 1999 and 2001 respectively. THE TIMES called John Meaney 'The first important new SF writer of the 21st century'. Meaney has a degree in physics and computer science, and holds a black belt in Shotokan Karate. He lives in Glamorgan.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent ending to ambitious trilogy 12 Jan 2014
By D. Harris TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
This is the final part of a trilogy, following Absorption and Transmission.

If you have read them, you'll pretty much know what to expect.

If you haven't, this is an ambitious trilogy, spanning the time period between the 8th century and the 6000th, describing the infiltration of our Galaxy by a darkness and the efforts of humanity, and various alien species, to resist it. There are many, many characters, often related to each other - sometimes the links are clear, sometimes only hinted at - and themes, such as Norse mythology and the concept of Ragnarrok that runs throughout. It is well written, incredibly diverse, and generally compulsive reading. I'd urge you to go and read the first two books now, and in fact to read the three books one after another because the downside of all that detail is that there's a lot to forget if you leave too long between them. DON'T read any more of this review because it may become slightly spoilery for the first two books.

If you are still with me, as I said above, this book is very similar in format to the others - separate sections narrating the stories of Roger Blackstone, the young Pilot; of Ulfr, the 8th century Viking warrior; of Gavriella, Lucas her grandson, and so on. We also hear more of the World, whose story finally (but only just!) links up with the main narrative, of how the Schenk family came to embrace the darkness, of the origins of the Pilots, the Ragnarok Council and the nature of Kenna. And much more - a number of new characters crop up, nicely bridging the lengthy periods that separate the different viewpoints.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfying Conclusion 26 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Space opera this may be, but it is top quality space opera, well written, stimulating, eminently readable yet intelligent, on a galactic scale.
John Meaney has succeeded in wrapping up the Ragnarok trilogy via this satisfying finale. I was engrossed, reading into the early hours to see what happened. But now I've read it there is a sad hole in my life: where are the other contemporary works of quality SF to brighten my evenings?
Those who are new to Mr Meaney had better start with the earlier works - Paradox, Context and Resolution in the Nulapeiron sequence and Absorption and Transmission, the preceding parts of the Ragnarok trilogy. (The two trilogies take place in the same universe, and elements from the earlier Nulapeiron opus appear in Ragnarok.)
If I were to be picky, I'd have liked to have heard a little more self-disclosure from the Darkness, or Admiral Schenck, perhaps during an attempted diplomacy by the pilots or Kenna, and it would also have been in the pilots' interest to make more effort to forge an alliance with the Zajinets.
If you've enjoyed Meaney's works then you might also enjoy The Quantum Thief and Ancillary Justice.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book 11 Feb 2014
By Mr G
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Am not one for writing a million word review. All you need to know is this....if you love your sifi then you will love john meaney, have read a lot of his books they are all brilliant reads . He's on a par with reynalds,asher,gibson,baxter but Ian m banks defo the man read his culture novels they are pure quality.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Way to finish an well written trilogy 7 Feb 2014
By S. Earl
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I came across the Ragnarok series back in 2011 and have waited eagerly for each of the subsequent books to be released. With the release of the 3rd and final instalment I was eager to see where and how this time spanning story would be wrapped up. I haven't been disappointed, the whole cycle has been well written bringing real depth and detail to each of the major characters and their situations and drawing them all into a finale worthy of the rest of the series. The writing style has reminded me of Peter F Hamilton and his vast sweeping books and I look forward to reading more of John's work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A challenging read 20 Jan 2014
By Fiona A
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
As a conclusion to a trilogy this ticks all the boxes. Despite the complexity of the multiple timelines and characters Meaney brings the potential ragarnok to a satisfying end. I hadn't managed to reread the other books while waiting for the final volume so I found it a challenging read as I tried to remember the various characters that were interacting with the main characters in each era. There is a great attention to detail in the contextual detailing of each timeline that brings each one to life and makes the reader invest in the characters and their lived experience, very different from the cardboard cut out characters often encountered in other works of this breadth and scope. The nod to the earlier Nulaperion trilogy was also welcome and reintroduced some favourite characters.
A very good read and recommended, but with the caveat that this is not a standalone book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Riordan 1 26 May 2011
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback