Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 September 2012
In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to worse.

Umbrella Conspiracy is the first book in a series of Resident Evil stories by SD Perry and is based on the original Resident Evil survival/horror game. Following both Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine the book sticks to the story in the game, as best as it can.

The story switches between Chris (and Rebecca Chambers) and Jill (and Barry Burton) as they try to survive until help comes. There seems to be a lot of the running back and forth, retracing their steps and so on; of course, the characters in the book don't have limited carry areas like they do in the game.

Characters have been flashed out more then the game allowed, even characters which feature for a short time in the game are filled out and become more acceptable as part of the teams rather than being just passing names with no connection to them.

The only real problem for me was that it seemed far too short, there seemed to be some of the battles, puzzles, etc, missing, but it was (and still is) a fulfilling fan read.

This is a great substitute for the game when you have to be away from your console, whether that be for work or medical reasons.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
As a huge fan of the original Resident Evil video-game franchise (before Capcom decided to derail the franchise by replacing the iconic zombies with lame mutants). I found the urge to revisit the original Resident Evil storylines through S.D Perry's series of Resident evil book adaptions too tempting, and I am glad that I did! This book along with the other titles in the series are very well written and accurate in every sense to the original game storyline. I myself have played all of the originals (Resident Evil 1, 2 & 3) at least 4 or 5 times each and thoroughly enjoyed every second, it is nice to be able to relive something so accurate and true to the originals that you can actually follow the book chapter by chapter and directly link it to sections of the game, I am afraid that I do not have any time for any adaption that essentially re-writes the original storyline and changes the underlying theme, the Resident Evil movies are a good example of how adaptions can go terribly wrong!

I personally applaud S.D Perry for her excellent transition from game to novel, she clearly must have studied the franchise and storyline from the individual titles extensively. It is true that some of the scenes and events from the original games are either not present in the books or more commonly not as focussed on as it maybe was in the original game, but the way in which S.D Perry describes in detail the gory zombies and mutants, the lavish surroundings of the mansion, the characters and even the mind numbing puzzles- for which Resident Evil was famed for is a fantastic reminder of how imaginative the original Resident Evil's were.
The books also include a lot off additional information/content that are not present in the game like the first 2 chapters from this book which effectively introduces Jill Valentine and the other members of S.T.A.R.S with background information and stories from the past, this extra content will also pop up from time to time throughout the story which helps to bridge some of the gaps in the storyline that were present in the original games.

I would 100% recommend the Resident Evil book series to any Resident Evil fan, a much better alternative to watching the shockingly rubbish so called movie adaptions!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
I would like to say first of all i'm a massive fan of everything about resident evil. I watched the movies and played the games on the computer but i did not know there was a book (i know i'm shocked to). When i finally found there was a book i got it once in my hands I started to read....

Book one follows the first computer game (not the movie) I was really glad that it follow the game because when you playing it you did feel that lots was left unseen. The story starts just people are turning up dead the STARS members are finally called in to find out what going on...Is it wild animals or a bunch of crazy serial killers when STARS loss contacted with the first team they go into the wood to find out what's going on. From there the book takes on this cool creepy feel the team land in the wood by helicopter only to be attacked by strange dogs that seemed to have been skinned and mad into monsters that are hunger and will hunt anything that moves. It's not long before the team are in a creepy mansion that's owned by umbrella (which was meant to be closed up and unused big fat lie). Now stuck in this house they must find another safe way out but the house is like a massive puzzle someone in the team is a traitor. Zombies walk the halls but trust me when i say there are a lot worse waiting for them.

I simply loved the book and if you are a fan of zombies you will love this book. Its action pack with guns fighting and puzzles you are dying to see what happens next and most of all you get new shocks around every corner. It's brilliant you also start to like some characters more than others and before long you have fallen into this amazing book and you need to get to the end. I loved everything about the book so I give the book 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 July 2010
I am a recent convert to the Resident Evil cult and looked for a way of taking the characters and their adventures with me when I have stay away from home, and don't have access to my Wii console.

In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to worse.

Umbrella Conspiracy is the first book in a series of Resident Evil stories by SD Perry and is based on the original Resident Evil survival/horror game. Following both Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine the book sticks to the story in the game, as best as it can.

The story switches between Chris (and Rebecca Chambers) and Jill (and Barry Burton) as they try to survive until help comes. There seems to be a lot of the running back and forth, retracing their steps and so on; of course, the characters in the book don't have limited carry areas like they do in the game.

Characters have been flashed out more then the game allowed, even characters which feature for a short time in the game are filled out and become more acceptable as part of the teams rather than being just passing names with no connection to them.

The only real problem for me was that it seemed far too short, there seemed to be some of the battles, puzzles, etc, missing, but it was (and still is) a fulfilling fan read.

This is a great substitute for the game when you have to be away from your console, whether that be for work or medical reasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2002
For those not in the know, Resident Evil is a tale of Scientific experimentation gone wrong. Mutated Viruses have begun to cause innocent victims to turn into mindless zombies, and the corporation behind this Virus, Umbrella, have also created a whole slew of nasties to support whatever hidden agenda they are operating.
This book documents the events of the first of the Resident Evil games, and in fairness does a pretty good job with what's on offer there. The plot of Resident Evil in many ways flows like a film, with extended 'action' sequences between the plot revelations. What this book does is takes that plot, divides it a bit more evenly between the main characters and the supporting characters (Although for the most part these characters never gain much more personality than the game gives them, principle exception to this rule being Albert Wesker, Leader of team of heroes).
The book achieves the dubious honour of reading much like the games play, with the characters progressing through investigation, solving puzzles and fighting to survive.
This isn't great intellectual stuff, but then it never sets out to be, but it captures the tone well and keeps your interest nicely as it moves along at a pleasantly peppy pace. The characterisation isn't too deep, but gives you some nice insights and allows you to feel something for them.
Fans of the game should like this, it's a pretty thorough adaptation, set within a familiar framework and shaken up a little bit. Others should approach it with a little trepidation though. If you're after a simple adventure, then this will probably do the trick. If you seek more, best give it a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Being a big fan of the games, this gave me a closer look at the characters , and also how the all of the game elements such as the different symbols and keys could be explained. The book set of at a quick pace and did not slow down. Would liked it to have been a little longer but this was still a good book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
By far one of my favourite Resident Evil novels. I have read the entire series, but can read this one over and over again. For those just discovering the novels, my favourites are the novels based on/around the actual games - only as they provide a more in depth and alternate view on to the original stories. They also provide more depth to the original characters and help to fit pieces together that you may have missed through gameplay. While reading this one I could picture every detail and literally had me on edge wanting to read the next chapter immediately. I found that some of the novels that are not based the games lacked momentum but still enjoyable (even if you only read once).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
For more than 300 pages the novel covers the entire first game as well as exploring new plot points involving a new mysterious character called "Trent" who is later featured in the other books. Also the book gives the reader a new insight into the events which unfold before STARS head to the mansion including more detail on the murders which happened near the mansion and more character developtment for the STARS.

At the end of the book you also get a preview of the next book Caliban Cove where S. D. Perry's original storyline begins. Although a fun read I just wish the book could have been longer and should some details about the aftermath of the mansion incident.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2001
This book is pretty damn good considering the game is action packed, shoot a lot, solve some puzzles and leggit based. The book however goes into much more depth and this is what makes it THE best of them all. S.D. Perry out did himself when he wrote this and he has out down himself plenty a time, especially the Resident Evil range. I have got and played and completed all of them: Resident Evil Resident Evil 2 Resident Evil 3 Resident Evil: Gun Survivor Resident Evil Director's Cut
Resident Evil Code Veronica I am also hoping to get Resi: Code Veronica Complete but as I try to emphasise, the books being much more in depth, are much more exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 1998
Resident Evil was first brought to my attention in its origional form of a game. I played the game with great interest as I had not seen a game with such an immense storyline.. and now the book. The book takes you throught the storyline in such detail that you can "live" the experience in the Spencer Mansion. you start with the S.T.A.R.S first entering the mansion and you are led on an adrenaline rush of fear and exitement for the S.T.A.R.S operatives as they make their way through the Evil and the betrayal of their fellow S.T.A.R.S member Captain Albert Wesker.. Liked the game? LOVE the Book!!! Cant wait for the movie!!
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.