Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2012
I enjoyed this book immensly. It probably wasn't all true, and yes it probably did make drug smuggling seem both easy and exciting, but we are not idiots, we know its wrong and we're not going to suddenly give it a go. It's hardly a how-to guide.

If you are interested in reading about the underworld and the goings on of a group of people who's had interesting, if not slightly hyped up lives, then this is a great read.

I followed this up with reading Gang Land, another great read by Tony Thompson!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This is not a "good" book for pot sympathizers. It's about a big pot smuggling "ring" operating from mid-1970'ies to late 1980'ies. The angle is how successfully the evil pot smugglers were "brought to justice" (the author seems obsessed with the expression, never questioning any of the forms of "justice"). And about how sad it was that DEA agents were caught out as personally corrupt, and caught corrupting the cases to catch smugglers on false and bent charges.

What a pot buff can glean from this book is how a lot of pot was shipped worldwide 30 years ago. But the results are given, as we already know the pot got here - to the markets, i.e. people eager for mostly harmless fun. It still does. E.g. some 80-100.000 metric tons raw pot annually out of Morocco, amounting to only est. 60-70 % of EUropean hashish markets, which again is only est. half the EU cannabis market (EMCDDA-numbers). Despite the scale of the smuggling, the pot plots in the book were a small part of that. Though the ring's hauls and busts did influence US West Coast prices.

Written like a trad crime story tracking down perpetrators, the author misses the point about pot-use being part of an ideological struggle of materialism vs. "easy living".

If you "must have" this book, for some unfathomable reason, you can have mine. Read e.g. Howard Marks instead, learn more.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
If you like reading about smuggling cannabis around the world, then this it the book that you need to read. Alan long needed bigger planes, Howard Marks needed larger containers, George Jung needed bigger houses well this guys needed supply ships, trucking companies and conveyor belts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
A good story, tracing the fortunes of a disparate group of US traffickers. Not as entertaining as 'Mr Nice' by Howard Marks, but interesting, and the sums of money made (and largely kept) by these rogues is amazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
For anyone who has a slight interest towards drugs and crime. Buying this book is a no-brainer. Although this book is perhaps a little eccentric it its still a very interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Well written and throughly absorbing. I wanted to read this book for a long time and the offer price was just too good to miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
good read, recommend to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)