Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2012
Having read and enjoyed the first two Detective Shakepeare novels from J Robert Kennedy I couldn't wait to get started on this one. I found the plot thrilling with more twists and turns than your avaerage rollercoaster. There were some strong links to the themes in the previous books such as the psychology of killing and of humankind in general, how survivors deal with their predicament and also the fate of the families of victims. What I found so brilliant about this book though was how it filled us in on some of the details of Shakespeare's life. Very much a peripheral character in Depraved Difference, he became more two dimensional in Tick Tock but The Redeemer will leave you in no doubt as to the nature and character of this man. A true hero. I even love that he isn't perfect; a slave to his stomach and a hostage to his waistline, it just makes him all the more likeable for me!

If you a hesitating over whether to invest in this novel. STOP! Just buy it! You definitely won't regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This book fills out the Shakespeare character explaining his "issues" encountered in the first two books. I was particularly drawn to the victims in this story and how the deaths of their loved ones and the percieved failure of the courts turned them into a vigilante group. How dangerous this is when it is wrong but how you can relate to the situation is startling. Who has not wanted to exact revenge on someone who has harmed a loved one? Just make sure you get the right person! I also related to the perpetrator of the crime as in moments of crises who knows what it will do to the mind. A great book with a good ending and now I need the next one to add to my collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
They say three's a charm and this third book in the series is certainly that. Detective Shaespeare returns in this third outing where we learn more of his past as well as what his near future will be like. The thing is, he isn't your normal hero type. If you described 'Shakey' to anyone, none of them would come up with the word hero. But that's exactly what he is; brave, forgiving, tough and strong and yet at times, frightened, fragile and weak. He lives to do good; to look after his friends, be a good person and to uphold justice. He is certainly a hero of mine.

Just as he does in his other series of books, J. Robert Kennedy defines his characters in such a way that it is very easy to get to know them. No two dimensnal stuff here!

The plot is thick with twists and turns all the way through, right up to the last page with a twist that once having read it, it seemed obvious as there were lots of clues in the book. But they were subtle and clever and were never allowed to breach your subconscious mind. Brilliant!

If you're undecided about buying this book and haven't read the first two in the series, buy all three - you will not be disappointed. And it's time there was a Detective Shakespeare Fan Club!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
Couldn't wait for the next Shakey book and was not disappointed. Sat up late to finish it. Loved the way the author 'filled us in' on the background. Unmissable for those who have read the first two books but also hugely recommended for those new to the Shakespeare books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
A must read if you enjoy a good mystery. From discovering what really caused Detective Shakespeare to lose the respect of his colleagues to following him as he cracks another difficult case the author makes you want to just keep reading. As for the perpetrator, again we are taken on a ride by the author with twists and turns that will challenge even a Poirot fan. A great way to spend a day off. I just wish I had saved it for the holidays. Get working on the next one Mr. Kennedy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
couldnt put these books down gutted there are only 3 well i can only find 3 so if anybody knows of others please let me know fantastic books
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Along comes Shakesphere, wow i have been capsulated from the first book. The twist amazing and somewhat unexpected. I did question myself why Shakes sits in the back ground but i dont think i have read a better introduction.
Anyone looking for a new fresh crime thriller, would definately suggest all Three. I am always looking for the next installment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
The third book about Detective "Shakey" Shakespeare, this one answering alot of questions raised in books 1 & 2. Full of twists and turns, an excellent read and highly recommended .... now hoping there's a 4th. :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 January 2015
A serial predator has had his conviction reversed due to tainted evidence. Unfortunately another crime similar to the ones he was originally convicted for is committed the night of his release. What happens after that is a roller coaster of a plot which leaves the detectives reeling and not knowing which way to turn - I have to say I was similarly bemused as it seems there are new twists on every page. I can't say, however, that the intricate plotting is the best thing about this book because for me it is the characterisation. Mr Kennedy makes the characters come alive with great banter and traits we can all identify with - they just seem so normal and that's a really hard thing to achieve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Another good read in this series. J.Robert Kennedy has a knack for keeping the reader hooked on the story. Full of mystery to keep you guessing. This book digs deeper into Shakespeare's character. I have only given it 4 stars, as this book more than the first two in the series, has more holes in it. Considering how well the detectives pick up the clues and find their way to the truth, they also make a couple of glaring errors that any decent cop would not have overlooked. Despite that I still think this is really well constructed plot and would not hesitate to buy another in the series if the author produces one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse