Start reading Red Blooded: Book 4 in the Jessica McClain series on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Red Blooded: Book 4 in the Jessica McClain series [Kindle Edition]

Amanda Carlson
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £9.90
Kindle Price: £4.31 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.59 (56%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.31  
Paperback £9.88  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Jessica is going to Hell.

After settling a fragile truce between the vampires, werewolves and witches, the last thing Jessica wants to do is face the demons head on. But when the Prince of Hell kidnapped her brother, he set into motion a chain of events that even Jessica doesn't have the power to stop.

Now, Jessica must go into battle again. But hell is a whole new beast - new rules, more dangerous demons, and an entirely foreign realm. And when Jessica is dropped into the Underworld too soon, without protection or the help of her friends, she must figure out just how powerful she can be . . . or she will never make it out alive.


Product Description

Book Description

The fourth Jessica McClain novel - a fast-paced and irresistibly sexy urban fantasy novel perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, Keri Arthur and Rachel Vincent.

About the Author

Amanda Carlson is a Minnesota girl, born and bred. She started writing stories about teenage girls and their social missteps when she was in high school - and still has the handwritten spiral notebooks to prove it. She worked as a sign language interpreter and often dreams of Hawaii. She lives in Minneapolis with her family.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1750 KB
  • Print Length: 369 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (9 Sept. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00IA2E6D2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #72,010 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Red Blooded 10 April 2015
Format:Paperback
The book starts with Jessica trying to prepare herself with some training in magic (with the help from some witches) before she descends into hell to find her brother who has been captured by the Prince of Hell. And of course nothing goes as it is planed and by sheer luck/mistake does she descends to hell a bit earlier than the witches and she had expected.

Red Blooded is the fourth book about Jessica McClain, the only female in a male race of werewolves. This is the first book in the series that I read so I have a bit of disadvantages in that everything is new to me and it doesn’t get easier that so little is explained. During my reading of this book I had to gather information about the characters and past experience to make sense of the story in this book.

I can see the appeal of the book but I think you should start with book one and not like me jump in and read book four. I usually don’t read books in the middle of a series. But Red Blooded arrived home to me as a bit of a surprise (since I didn’t agree to read the book but who am I to be upset when I get surprises like that) and I thought what the heck, it looks like a book that will not take forever to read and it’s paranormal.

Overall the book wasn’t bad, I just got a bit impatient towards to end but I think it had very much to do with the feeling of frustration that there is so much back history that I didn’t know that mattered to the story on this book. People that popped into the story and you get some info about them but not enough.

Would I read the previous books? Yes I would, even though that whole heroine, the one in the kind, prophesied to greatness, is something I feel can be a bit annoying.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series. 17 Oct. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
I adore this series and was thrilled when I was granted access to this on Netgalley!! Every single book takes you on a rollercoaster ride and this is no different. I cant say too much about this because of spoilers so all I'll say is Jessica accidentally sends herself to Hell early, with no backup. She is in a whole different world with different rules and has to save her brother. Can Jessica stay alive long enough for someone to reach her?

This is book 4 in the series and poor Jessica never gets a break!! Nothing seems to go right for her and Red Blooded is no different. I love how Amanda Carlson can keep her characters growing from book to book. Jessica is still kick ass but she seems to be more capable of handling her powers in this book. Her relationship with her Wolf is also easier and they rely a lot more on each other.

We dont see much of Rourke in this one until towards the end but what we do see is awesome. He is so strong and such a rock for Jessica. I adore their relationship and they are one of my favourite couples.

I loved the new world the author created in Red Blooded. Hell is everything you'd expect but also nothing like you think. It is a creepy horrible place where the sunshine burns and you definitely don't want to be outside after dark either!! The creatures are things from nightmares and time works differently there. It was incredibly cool to read about.

Anyway. Red Blooded was everything I've come to expect from this series and more. There's more of everything, more action, more adventure, more wolf and more kick assness!! Its an action packed, edge of your seat book. Carlson still manages to throw in some twists and turns that will leave you gasping and really raises the bar with this installment. Its a thrilling additive read and one I'd highly recommend.

Amanda Carlson is also the queen of cliffhangers and this ends in one heck of a one! I so need the next book now!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars a step too far for me 12 Sept. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Red Blooded, Amanda Carlson
Review from jeannie zelos book reviews
 
Well, sadly for me this series has gone downhill. I enjoyed the first book, but with reservations – that's common I find though in first books in a series, they’ve a tough job introducing worlds and characters, and delivering a decent story. Then the second had a few things that grated, somehow I missed book three and now we’re on book four.
I was able to pick up the story easily despite missing the third book. It’s the end of the series for me though – what seemed promising has for me turned too repetitive. Each danger seems to go the same way, unexpected creatures or familiar ones acting in an unexpected way and – hey - someone develops a new power and comes to the rescue in the nick of time....This time too the major actions take place in Hell, and that's not really my niche. I want to see characters interacting – the people I know and love from the series, but here they play a secondary role, it seems to me.
Jessica is gaining more new powers, and it seems everyone from her group seem to be “unique” in some way. Really? A small group of people and yet almost  everyone of them is developing some new and unheard of power or talent? Jessica was the first one and that worked, but now everyone seems to be getting some new side that makes them special and it just isn’t...special that is!  Familiarity breeds contempt and all that. There’s more too – my real pet hate in fantasy is when a character gets some new and unheard of skill just at the critical moment to get them out of trouble – Laurell Hamilton's Anita Blake went this way, and that was one of the things that made me give up on that series. She became someone I just didn’t recognise as the same person from the start.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category