Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars2,094
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2014
This is a page turner - don't plan on getting anything else done once you start reading because it's difficult to put down. A cracking crime/detective/psychological thriller with attention to detail, which makes it a graphic read that's not for the squeamish. The story gripped me from the first page and it twists and turns right to the end. The main characters were given depth and where it mattered, their strengths and weaknesses were explored. Slight weak point for me was DI Matt Barnes, I couldn't buy into the new relationship, I felt he would be better off with a GSD rather than a woman.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes this genre.
11 comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This is the first book from Michael Kerr that I have read and I only bought it because it was free and had good reviews - boy, am I glad I did! This is a really well written and gripping thriller with lots of psychological action ... just off to buy more from this author ....
11 comment|127 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
This is an excellent read, well written and brilliantly balanced. I have read some of the other reviews and the low marks all seem to come from the lovies who think themselves to be above the rest of us. Maybe if you want Shakesperian prose you shouldn't be looking in the free bins on Amazon! Anyway the characters in this are great and the book flows like a pacey river. No I wasn't desperate to have to read it I feel privileged to have received this as a free gift from the author and will gladly repay him by buying further novels of his.
11 comment|120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Really enjoyed this book I was looking for some books to read while on holiday recently, i have never read any of mr kerr's books but would look for them more now. Good story.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
It sounds a bit of a cliche but I truly couldnt put this book down such a compelling story hoe to follow up by reading other stories in the series
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This story holds the reader all the way through. It has you hoping that the killer can be caught, but has you doubting if that will be possible in places. Really exciting read and highly recommended
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
I really enjoyed this book. It is very well written, gripping story line, great characters. I wanted to find out what happened at the end but didn't want the book to finish! I will definitely be buying the other books by this author. Would recommend it to anybody.
11 comment|117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 December 2015
The book starts with the suggestion that the job is almost over for the Police team on duty. We know that can’t be true, after all, the book is only just beginning, but for some of the team, it is most definitely over. For Matt Barnes too, it is just the beginning of the story.

It is difficult to work out who your adversary is when the only people who have seen him are either dead, so seriously injured they cannot be interviewed or simply too young to talk. Gradually as the survivors begin to recover, the team begins to be able to put some of the pieces together, but how is the person behind all of this able to keep one step ahead of the investigation and how do they know so many things which they have no business knowing? The answer is obvious and the team are able to work out the who and where and can even make a good stab at the why, so how is it that even after the problem is solved, the bad guys still know too much? This killer doesn’t care what the person who hired him knows, as long as they don’t mess him around, when he feels that they are doing just that, he gets a great deal more dangerous.

As the story progresses our observation of the action becomes less that of a voyeur and we find ourselves drawn into the story, there is scope for much breath holding and jaw clenching as people find themselves in difficult, even dangerous situations. Even when we know, almost from the outset, that Barnes is going to put himself into a dangerous situation to get close to this man, it is still hard to read of him doing just that. When a book becomes too challenging, I can usually set my mind at rest in the knowledge that the investigator has to survive but in this book you can’t even be sure of that as it seems nothing will stop this killer – he’s good, very good, and has a talent for getting in and out of guarded buildings unseen. The perpetrator is charming when it suits his purpose but otherwise is utterly unaware of anyone else’s needs or feelings unless he can make use of them to advance his own cause. He appears to be quite indignant when other people expect any sort of reciprocation of feelings. Despite his inability to relate to other people in any meaningful way, there is a neat touch in that his only real attachment is to his pet – of a species which would make most people shudder.

This is one of those books which play on in your head even after you have closed them up for the night. If one tries to put it away unfinished, the mind will just take over and try to work out what on earth is going on, it is easier to give in and read on to the end. It is a compelling read which holds the reader in thrall and thrills to the end.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
A genuinely gripping read. Great characters, plot, and packed with action and food for thought.
Have just started the second in the DI Matt Barnes trilogy, (Lethal Intent) and it is unputdownable.
11 comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Would have given it 5 stars but I didn't appreciate the way he described the black character. Found it disrespectful and offensive. Storyline was superb otherwise. Look forward to reading others in the series.
33 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse