Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Suki Ad Campaign Pieces Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now Halloween Pets Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now
Reanimators and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Reanimators has been added to your Basket
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Over 2 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Reanimators Paperback – 3 Sep 2013

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
£5.10 £1.90
£9.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Reanimators
  • +
  • Weird Company
Total price: £20.98
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Paperback: 280 pages
  • Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing, Inc. (3 Sept. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1597804789
  • ISBN-13: 978-1597804783
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 15.2 x 2.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 370,873 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Peter Rawlik was first exposed to H.P. Lovecraft when his father read him "The Rats in the Walls" as a bedtime story. He has been collecting Lovecraftian fiction ever since. For more than two decades he has run Dead Ink, selling rare and unusual books. He resides in South Florida.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As a quick perusal of my purchasing history will attest, I'm something of a fan of H.P. Lovecraft's most famous mad scientist, the chemical necromancer Herbert West. So it was with great relish that I dived into this volume that promised more adventures with the mad doctor and his ghoulish experiments. In fact West and his previously anonymous biographer (named in this volume after his counterpart in the Jeffrey Coombs movies - a touch that greatly endeared the author to me) are mostly peripheral figures to the story, though the shadow cast by their actions falls over almost everything.

Reanimators is a great romp through Lovecraft's Miskatonic Valley stories, with the narrator being a previously unseen witness and participant in many of the events behind Lovecraft's most famous stories. Through his voice Rawlik weaves Lovecraft's disparate tales into a compelling and continuous narrative, in context with the events and characters of the day, casting new light (and horror) upon events readers of the Lovecraft mythos only thought they were already familiar with.

This has clearly been a labour of love for Rawlik, who tells a terrific tale while liberally sprinkling the story with Easter Eggs for the discerning reader. Charlie Chan, the Thin Man and a host of other characters make subtle cameos throughout the book, and I'm pretty sure I haven't spotted them all. As a fan of Herbert West and H.P. Lovecraft, I cannot hesitate in giving this book the highest possible recommendation.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 46 reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
A rollicking romp from Pete Rawlik 30 Aug. 2013
By Joe Broers - Published on
Format: Paperback
If you are a fan of the writings of H.P. Lovecraft, have a nominal grasp of history, and enjoy figures of fantastic literature and popular culture of the early 20th century (and some who will be such a bit later) you will love Pete Rawlik's "Reanimators". If you're just a fan of Stuart Gordon's `Reanimator' movies you're still in for an exciting ride, and might decide to go back and read a bit of Lovecraft so you won't miss any of the treats hidden in this book.
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Much more than Herrbert West 3 Sept. 2013
By R. Lai - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This novel is far more than a Lovecraft pastiche involving Herbert West. In fact, that twisted scientist is missing from at least a third of the book. Besides scores of characters from Lovecraft's other works, the book features two of the greatest detectives of popular culture, a legion of mad scientists from B movies like THE RETURN OF DOCTOR X, and other figures from the adventure, mystery and horror genres. This novel is an epic example of myth-making in the tradition of Kim Newman, Philip Jose Farmer and Alan Moore.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
An excellent read for Cthulhu Mythos and pop culture junkies 11 Sept. 2013
By Sean Levin - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I've enjoyed all of Peter Rawlik's fiction that I have read, and this novel is no exception. Rawlik weaves together the fiction of Lovecraft and his disciples with many other works of 20th Century pop culture in a most inventive way, not to mention some historical events. I've long been a fan of crossover fiction, particularly that by the authors my friend Rick Lai listed in his own review, and Rawlik is definitely one of the best writers I've encountered in that subgenre. Rawlik plants lots of great Easter Eggs for the reader, which enrich rather than detract from the novel. I look forward to reading more stories by the talented Mr. Rawlik in the very near-future, and all my fellow Cthulhu and crossover fans should most certainly do the same!
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
A tour de force of Lovecraftian scholarship 28 Oct. 2013
By Matthew T. Carpenter - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
When I read Drums of Chaos by Richard Tierney I almost didn't feel capable of writing a review. The complexity of weaving together the disparate worlds of the time traveling John Taggart and Simon of Gitta could really only be appreciated by maybe a dozen people who had read all of the books, and the scholarship of the time period was breathtaking. Me taking issue with the prose ended up seeming churlish.

I have the same feeling, sitting down at the keyboard to write this review. I can think of maybe only a half dozen people who would really grasp the level of effort made by the author. Other writers, notably CJ Henderson, have taken minor Lovecraftian characters (not critters) and fleshed out their stories outside of HPL's originals. I cannot think of another book where so many places, persons and events from HPL's stories have been knitted together so meticulously to provide setting and background. I have read and reread Lovecraft for years, and I was overwhelmed by the scope of this book.Repeatedly I was left shaking my head in admiration for the depth's of Mr. Rawlik's scholarship. When Alan Moore released The Courtyard, the inclusion of so many throw away Lovecraftian names lead to the publication of a companion volume that basically annotated the text. The best way for Reanimators to receive the recognition it deserves is with a limited edition hardcover that is annotated with copious author notes showing us where all of these names and places derive from. Whatever I try to comment about the text itself, it has to be understood that I am amazed at Mr. Rawlik's achievement.

As for the story itself, I think Mr. Rawlik himself alludes to the fact that tale grew in the telling. Dr. Hartwell appears in a few lines in The Dunwich Horror by HPL, serving as Dr. Armitage's personal physician. "Some time before noon his physician, Dr Hartwell, called to see him and insisted that he cease work." The author was trying to write a story related to The Dunwich Horror and needed a protagonist. The name Dr. Hartwell was available and close to one of the major characters. Now all that was needed was some background...

The basic thrust of the plot has to do with the bitter hatred Dr. Hartwell carries for Herbert West, and the lengths he was willing to go to for revenge. And here is the largest issue I have with the plot. Why didn't Our Hero just wait behind a tree and thump ole Herbert in the head with a shovel about 200 pages earlier? No! That's just what they would expect me to do, mwahaha! Bludgeoning is too good for you! Otherwise, I found the story to be well composed and entertaining with good ghoulish bits. I think it is a very engaging read, although I was so enamored of the setting maybe I'm not the best judge.

Kudos to you, Mr. Rawlik for an astonishing achievement in Lovecraftian story telling. Full marks. More please.
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
Rawlik needs to learn to sew better 14 Oct. 2013
By dpetroc - Published on
Format: Kindle Edition
Although an interesting concept, this book was hurt by flawed execution. Rawlik's Reanimators attempts to piece together an array of Lovecraftian tales into a cohesive, chronological narrative. At times this works very well, but most of the time this feels forced. Because of this effort to create this patchwork, the book never really finds a narrative of its own and fails to make a compelling story in its own right.

As the book progressed, you were wondering "what story is he going to force in next?" rather than "what's going to happen to the protagonist". The book does a decent job of capturing some of the language and pulpy feel of the 1900-1930s, but ultimately fails to be anything other than weak pastiche.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know