Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£32.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2006
Briefly... the book examines challenges and methods for studying in the real world (as opposed to an experimental setting) taking in such topics as qualitative approaches, mixed-methods, and action research.

What was so welcome about the book is that it reads like a conversation with someone who is in a place to advise you without lecturing - and is as surprisingly pleasant read. Very useful and very readable.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
Im currently in my third year of a degree in sociology and this book is the one that I couldnt do without. It is infinitely helpful and i would recommend it to anyone either studying or considering studying sociology or psychology.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
Many titles which aim to teach students and practitioners the art of research fall into one of two camps. At one extreme their approach is that of the 'how to... cookbook' where the reader develops the practical skills but their understanding of the underpinning principles isn't developed. At the other extreme is the highly technical (and often inpenatrable) text which provides the depth and theoretical rigour but which many students and practitioners find hard going and inaccessable, particularly for those relativly new to research.

The real value of Colin Robson's book is that it bridges that divide.
Its written in a style which is accessable and it provides a very readable account of the practice and of the principles that underpin academic research. At the same time its contents are academically robust and it takes the reader far beyond simple pragmatics and into the development of a deeper understanding of the research process in social science settings.

Its a book that both novice and experienced researchers will find usefull and will retun to time and time again for the valuable insight that it provides.

Highly recommended!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
This is an outstanding book and the new editition is simply excellent. The style is practical and accessible and is likely to be attractive to a wide range of researchers. This is a book that should be at the side of any student tackling serious research projects. A must for anyone studying researhc methods.
0Comment29 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2008
I went to Madagascar to conduct my MSc dissertation research with a tent, this book and no existing knowledge of social science methodologies. I read it from cover to cover (a fairly easy read), made notes on the relevant sections, drew up my questionnaire using a mind map then conducted my interviews. I returned with loads of useful data which I managed to analyse with a few more resources available. I highly recommend this book for postgrads who need a coherent, logical bible to guide them through their research. I started out knowing nothing about methodology and ended up with a reasonable understanding... enough to get me a distinction!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
I bought this book to assist me with research methodology modules I am taking for postgraduate studies. Robson has done a great job of explaining complex terms and concepts relating to research paradigms in simple terms. He also dedicated whole chapters to the different data collection tools, and data analysis.

The least I could say about this book is that it is a gem. Believe me, you won't regret buying the book.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
Real World Research is a great manual for those who have some experience with planning or implementing social science research; the style of the book is clearly laid out so that it may be used as a reference manual. For those with no experience in this field it does have a good section on the background of social science research which will be helpful, however, it should be noted that the theories behind different research methods are not gone into with much depth. This is meant to be a manual for practical - 'real world' - research, and the book's strength lies in it's discussion of possible reactions and consequences of different methods of research. Similarly helpful are the recommends courses of action a researcher might take within specific methodological choices (e.g surveys or in-depth interviews).
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This was purchased when commencing a MSc in Research. The book is written in plain English to be understood by a novice but contains enough detail to be useful throughout the course and for future use as a reference. Very happy with purchase.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2000
This book is a handy aid in helping students to improve the way they work. It pinpoints the correct ways in which to carry out research which is both deep-reaching but also clear and helpful in solving problems. It can be a bit difficult to understand the style of writing at times but is a lot easier to understand than most other books on the sam subject.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
I have bought this book as a resource while writing my undergraduate thesis in an Australian university. It's designed in a way that it's easy to find the sections relevant for use when required, and is also written in such a way that the chapters or sections can be read to offer a beginning point. There's also an online resource connected to the book which is a very useful tool too. It included links to example readings, further information and any updates on current information. I'd recommend getting a hold of this book if you're in a similar situation to me - it has been a great help.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.