Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2013
We were recommended this book by our social worker as we went through the process of becoming adoptive parents and I'm so glad we were. Packed full of information and though at first glance it can appear heavy and more of a textbook its split into handy themes that are thoughtful and can be read as individual pieces. This was the first book on adoption I've come across that recognises the concerns and loss that a prospective adopter may be having and the section on waiting for the process to be completed (pregnancy without a due date) really struck a chord. Because the book covers from pre process to parenting and adopter to adoptee its one that I can imagine using for many years in the future and still finding it relevant. Highly recommended
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
This is an incredible book, a manageable read yet crammed full of useful, no nonsense insight and helpful,firm but gentle guidance.
My copy is now bristling with those sticky tabs you use to mark your place. It's easy to navigate too, set out really logically.
It has fundamentally changed my understanding of my daughter and given me the confidence and knowledge to help her get over the difficult start she had.

Every adoptive and foster parent should have a copy, and the sooner they read it the better. Might be good for professionals too!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
An must-have, excellent book for adoptive parents/therapists/social workers. I took a juicy novel with me to read on holiday, but was gripped by this one instead.I have spent the last 8 years reading about adoptive issues & this one has taught me the most.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
As a single adopter going to panel next month I found this book helpful and some chapters struck a nerve well with problems and issues which will need to be faced, dealing with RAD and Attachment issues, bonding and how the 'adopted child' doesn't just 'get over' being adopted that your gain and happiness is at a cost of someone else's loss - the birth parent or the child - and how that loss effects them all their life. It's a hard read and sometimes upsetting but packs in information - slightly American in approach it demonstrates the 'real' issues adoptive parents face and I have highlighted the sections which stand out and will buy another copy for friends/family who seem to think it's a journey which is all hearts and flowers - which if you are going through the process, been through it or thinking about it - know it isn't. A must read - buy second hand and save money - I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
an excellent book i have even learn't about my 3yr old birth child . This book has really helped me understand about childrens behaviour and how adoption might effect their development what to be expected and what not .this is a must for anybody going through the adoption process.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Recommended by a friend who had just adopted a gorgeous little boy, she refers to this book all the time and we will be too - excellent advice and information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Useful background and quite readable. But a bit of an American viewpoint, and a bit old now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
A truly enlightening book which we've found very useful. Lots of tips for adoptive parents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Excellent book good quality arrived well packaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Great and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse