Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars6
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 1999
Aspiring witches take note: when mixing a love potion, make sure that you have all of the elements right. The smallest misstep can lead to total disaster. For example, if the wrong person should drink the potion .... And remember, whatever is sent out will come back to you three times.

Lisa Hendrix's <I>Razzle Dazzle</I> is the story of a man plagued by his mother and sister, both novice witches, and the love potion they've developed. Mason Alexander knows that the potion won't work and when they disobey his orders and the wrong woman imbibes the potion, he decides to teach his meddling relatives a lesson. He enlists Raine Hobart to pose as his love interest. Since the love potion is born of a genuine desire to help Mason win the woman who will save the family company, both mom and sis are horrified at the results of their experiment.
Hendrix keeps her plot moving quickly and integrates theme fully into the story. Modern-day witchcraft is a tricky subject, and despite Mason's skeptical approach to the religion, Hendrix treats the topic with respect. She uses her three-fold theme to introduce two secondary romances. These subplots are linked into the overall story in such a way that they are highly enjoyable, yet do not pull energy from Raine and Mason's story.
<I>Razzle Dazzle</I> is a delightful book. Hendrix incorporates lots of humor into her story, especially as she gently chides her would-be witches. The result is a fun and funny romance with memorable characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 1999
By the time his father died, the family business, Alexander Industries, was nearly insolvent. To avoid bankruptcy, Mason Alexander decides to marry money. He chooses to merge with Caroline Wickersham. In exchange for her financing, she gains entrance into the elite of Seattle high society.
Mason's sister and mother want Caroline and him to love each other. Being practicing witches, they concoct a love potion. They spice some ice tea, but instead of Caroline drinking the brew, the gardener, Raine Hobart sips the elixir. The two Alexander witches desperately need to reverse their error, but must wait two weeks for the proper moon face to succeed. Meanwhile, Mason and Raine fall in love, but when he learns that she leads the opposition to a neighborhood construction project, he feels betrayed by her.
Highly regarded historical romance writer Lisa Hendrix demonstrates her width of talent by successfully stepping into the contemporary sub-genre with a warm novel. The story line is humorous as the various relationships propel the tale forward. The lead characters are an enticing pair and the two witches provide jocularity to the brew. Though Caroline comes across as a bit too harsh, readers will feel that Ms. Hendrix has RAZZLE DAZZLEd them with an amusing tale.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 1999
Readers will fall under Hendrix' magical spell as she weaves this appealing story. Well-drawn secondary characters add to the charm and to the overall enjoyment of a book readers will be sorry to see end.
Although known for her American historicals, Lisa Hendrix makes the transition into contemporary romance smoothly. RAZZLE DAZZLE is a delightful, sexy, story with enough humor and passion to keep even the most discerning reader satisfied. With endearing characters and lively repartee in the tradition of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Hendrix is a bright new voice in contemporary romance. Reading should always be this much fun. RAZZLE DAZZLE is a keeper in every sense of the word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 1999
This book put me in such a good mood, I'm still smiling. I'm also recommending it to all my friends, and to my sister, who works in a mall bookstore. The characters are so sweet, and well-written, I miss them now that I've finished reading about them. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed. I hope Lisa Hendrix is a fast writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 1999
I was lucky enough to get an early peek at Razzle Dazzle. Here is my endorsement:
"A fast, fresh, and funny look at modern love, ancient magic, and new-age zaniness. Razzle Dazzle is an enchanting book by a talented storyteller."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 1999
RAZZLE DAZZLE is a fun, fascinating read with the perfect blend of romance, sensuality, and magic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.