Raygun Chronicles: Space Opera for a New Age and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £11.95
  • You Save: £1.97 (16%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Raygun Chronicles: Space ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: This fine as new copy should be with you within 8-9 working days via Royal Mail. Please note this title is print on demand.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Raygun Chronicles: Space Opera for a New Age Paperback – 9 Dec 2013


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£9.98
£6.64 £7.22


Product details


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 7 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Adventurous and witty! Great bed time reading to end a day by! 7 Jan. 2014
By Allen E. Nance - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
My wife and I first started with "Sword Of Saladin" by Michael S. Roberts because the name sounded intriguing to us.
We weren't exactly sure how the phrase "Space Opera For A New Age" would manifest itself but if haughty Pirates of the Space Seas was a mime this sure fits the bill. It's rather hard to write a comment without giving away any of the plots so in general terms, it involves humorously jargon-infested battle orders barked across a colorful cast of space-faring crewmen commanded by a sexy, proud Captain completely able to back her commands up with sheer guile and physical prowess. We were both smitten enough with the storyline that we read segments of the story to each other.
We've started in on the other stories now and, so far, we're quite pleased.
An absolute must for anyone's bedtime collection!
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Great Anthology! 12 Dec. 2013
By Gary Vandegrift - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I don't normally read anthologies and/or collections, as I prefer novels, and even then, moreso when they are part of a series. But I pledged to this book's Kickstarter project, and I'm glad I did :) There are some really good adventure stories in this anthology, and at least one that would make a great basis for a new series (Sarah A. Hoyt's "Around the Bend"). The vast majority of the stories I rate 4- or 5-stars, and there were only a couple 3-star stories. My top five favorites, in addition to "Around the Bend," are "The Silver Dollar Saucer," "Holly Defiant," "Twilight World" (this one has me wanting to read the Starbridge series!) and "Saint Orick" (although I've already read David Farland's "Golden Queen" series, so I am familiar with the characters and world) Of course, tastes differ, so others will have their own preferences.

Some of the stories are good ol' pulp fiction like E.E. "Doc" Smith wrote, some are humorous, some are sad, some are thought-provoking, and others are great adventure. And there wasn't a bad one in the batch :)

Recommended reading!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
My best Christmas present 18 Feb. 2014
By Dane Grannon - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
A backer gave me this as a late Christmas present. At first I was skeptical because anthologies normally have a bad reputation or contain stories I've read before.

I couldn't have been more wrong. Fresh stories by some of my favorite authors. During my second reading, I am discovering more things to appreciate. This book makes me homesick for the stories of my youth with the caveat that these will stand up to the test of time.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A fun read with lots of strong female characters 14 Mar. 2014
By KRoberts - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A wonderful anthology with witty and wild adventures in space. Fans of Star Wars, Star Trek, or Firefly should definitely pick up this book. There are some awesome female characters that make this a joy for the female Sci Fi readers. The humor is everything from broad (no pun intended) to subtly sarcastic. My favorite was Sword of Saladin, lots of action, humor, and a happy ending.
I believe this is the best anthology Schmidt has put together so far.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A Fun Anthology: Don't Miss It 24 Feb. 2014
By Andrew Vittoria - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
Space Opera is one of great original sci-fi subgenres. Authors in this genre try to focus a little less on precise scientific accuracy and instead aim for excessive amounts of fun. It is perhaps the only subgenre of sci-fi that anyone can enjoy. Raygun Chronicles: Space Opera For a New Age states this is “a collection of new tales in the Golden Age style.” I was eager for just such a collection and was granted a review copy by the editor, Bryan Thomas Schmidt.

Schmidt has collected 25 tales from 24 different authors, and he has ensured there is something for every Space Opera fan here. I found the majority of the tales to be fun one time reads. There are a handful I will reread and one or two I am giving serious consideration to giving a Hugo nomination.

There is so much here that I cannot cover everything. Instead, let me highlight the best (and worst) this Anthology has to offer.

The Anthology starts off with “Frontier ABCs: The Life And Times Of Charity Smith, Schoolteacher” by Seanan McGuire. This was a wise decision as McGuire wrote one of the best tales in the volume. McGuire captured an atmosphere similar to Firefly in her story, and took us on a ride as a very dangerous woman tries to balance her past with the life she’d rather have.

Kristine Kathryn Rusch kept the strong start going with Rick the Robber Barron, a story about a female space pilot who had a bad experience with the titular captain. This story confirmed my belief that Rusch is physically incapable of writing anything that isn’t at least very good. This isn’t her best, but even her average is wonderful.

The next two, “To The Shores Of Triple, Lee!” by A.M. Stickel and “The Silver Dollar Saucer” by Lou Antonelli started slow but ended great.

Then we had a great story by Sarah A. Hoyt called, “Around The Bend”. Here we see a woman come across a dangerous stranger and has an adventure with him. Hoyt wrote a tense story with great atmosphere. This was easily one of the top three tales in the collection.

In my opinion, the weakest story in the collection followed. “Sword Of Saladin” by Michael S. Roberts went a little too over the top with the ‘strong warrior woman’ theme and, in my opinion, it negatively affected the story. The captain felt so absurd that Roberts had me rooting for the ‘bad guy’ in the story. Given my strong reaction to the tale, I’m probably not the intended audience Roberts was shooting for.

“Malfunction” by Jennifer Campbell-Hicks was just fantastic. Great concept, great execution—I loved it beginning to end. If it wasn’t a reprint I would give it a Hugo nomination. It really is that good.

We are treated to two stories by the prolific Mike Resnick: “Catastrophe Baker And The Ship Who Purred” and “Catastrophe Baker In The Hall Of The Neptunian Kings”. Both are great, Golden Age styled fun with Catastrophe Baker, a macho man going on outlandish adventures. Bravo sir.

Two other longtime authors, A.C. Crispin (“Twilight World”) and David Farland (“Saint Orick”) give us stories set in universes they created in other books. Both are of the highest quality, which is exactly what readers expect from these two authors.

“Can Giraffes Change Their Spots?” by Jenny Schwartz and
“Captain Quasar And The Insurmountable Barrier Of Space Junk” by Milo James Fowler are back to back humorous stories slotted near the end of the book. Both were definitely funny and helped break up the serious narrative flow.

The rest of the stories were of good quality but may have suffered from a little drag. A Cardinal Sin in Space Opera is to be boring, and a couple of these unnamed stories do skirt dangerously close to that territory. However, all the writers of these somewhat dragging tales do redeem themselves with strong endings.

It is also worth mentioning that there is quite a bit of the ‘strong woman’ trope within this volume. I felt that a few of these were forced characterizations, as if the author said, “Well, I have to include a strong woman here somewhere…” but the majority of the time the characters fit and the story works.

Whenever I read a short story collection I find there are a couple stories which featured editing issues. Maybe a tale doesn’t go anywhere, another stops abruptly, or I find a small number of grammar or spelling mistakes. None of that is present here. Schmidt has done an impressive job of not only acquiring 25 good stories, but ensuring his anthology is free of irritating editing problems. On top of that, Schmidt did a great job structuring the overall flow of the Anthology so that the reader doesn’t get bogged down in a specific type of story too many times in a row. This is an underappreciated skill and is to be commended.

Overall I was very pleased with the volume. Schmidt has done a magnificent job picking stories that capture the sense of adventure and downright fun readers want in Space Opera. Even though some stories are stronger than others, everything is well written and I found the vast majority quite enjoyable. There is no reason why any reader with interest in science fiction should pass on this volume.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback