Rapid Review Biochemistry and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 5.75 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Rapid Review Biochemistry on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Rapid Review Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e [Paperback]

John W. Pelley PhD , Edward F. Goljan MD
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
RRP: 27.99
Price: 26.98 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 1.01 (4%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 29 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 22.65  
Paperback 26.98  
Trade In this Item for up to 5.75
Trade in Rapid Review Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 5.75, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

24 Sep 2010 0323068871 978-0323068871 3

Get the most from your study time, and experience a realistic USMLE simulation with Rapid Review Biochemistry, 3rd Edition, by Drs. John W. Pelley, and Edward F. Goljan. This new reference in the highly rated Rapid Review Series is formatted as a bulleted outline with photographs, tables, and figures that address all the biochemistry information you need to know for the USMLE. And with Student Consult functionality, you can become familiar with the look and feel of the actual exam by taking a timed or a practice online test that includes 350 USMLE-style questions.


Frequently Bought Together

Rapid Review Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e + Rapid Review Pathology: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 4e + First Aid for the USMLE Step 1
Price For All Three: 85.66

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Mosby; 3 edition (24 Sep 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0323068871
  • ISBN-13: 978-0323068871
  • Product Dimensions: 27 x 21 x 1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 348,117 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars 17 July 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
good
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars  15 reviews
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it 26 Oct 2010
By C. Liu - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Lippincott's illustrated review is too wordy. This is what I need to prepare for the boards. good charts and short, concise bullet-pointed contents makes review fast and easy.

con: costs too much for a 150 page book.
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worthless 26 Jan 2012
By M. Goss - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
There's a distinction between an excellent, well written and well organized summary vs. pages of poorly written scribbles. This book can't be used to study for Biochemistry. It has no clinical correlation. It has few diagrams and those in there are black and white and poorly illustrated. The book supposedly included practice question but to access any of those you have to register your book online and you get only 12 months to practice after which the questions you supposedly paid for are wasted. Worthless book. Does not deserve to be included in the Rapid Review series.
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this book ... 1 Feb 2012
By MD_too - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I used this book Pelley 3ed and Champe 4ed as fundamental preparation for Step1, which I recently passed (Jan 2012). I feel that the foundation provided by the Bchm review allowed me to proceed through the other topic areas without always having that nagging feeling as to what was being talked about when a reference to Bchm was made in the discussion.

I spent about 15 intense days of review in both books. I augmented the book reviews with about 20 Bchm questions from USMLE World every other evening or so. World has about 200+ questions classed as Bchm.

Neither the Champe or Pelley/Goljan texts are complete. Also I must say that the absolutely the best reviews and explanations came from USMLE World during their answer explanations. Go figure ...

As an example consider the topic, metabolism. Champe covers the standard information in 5 or 6 chapters. Very basic clinical correlations are included and go into sufficient Bchm detail to be of value in understanding the issue. Also more complex Bchm processes specific to the particular metabolic process being discussed are introduced (ie, signal transduction) are introduced and explained in glucose metabolism. This can be helpful or distracting depending on your background.

Champe's last chapters on metabolism cover nitrogen/protein metabolism. And at least to me never really finish an adequate overview on aspects on protein metabolism, particularly on integration with other macronutrients. Champe includes a chapter on insulin and glucagon, as well as a chapter on integration of glucose, lipid and nitrogen metabolism as a whole. The integration chapter is probably the most incomplete and I had to go constantly to Wikipedia for even "general details" particularly regarding the influence of protein metabolism ... glucose and fats seem the easiest to discuss in integration, Aspects of protein metabolism with respect to overall integration are less understood, or more controversial I guess. Nonetheless, little was addressed in Champe. I was surprised at how the basics were not included. I must say over that Champe's chapter on vitamins particularly their application in bchm processes was exceptional given the level of the book. Unfortunately there was not a corresponding chapter on minerals or micronutrients. Champe does a good job on nucleotide metabolism and gene expression. Overall, Champe's coverage although not complete provides a sound fundamental "review" of metabolism and gene expression for medical students. And particularly for those needing to understand a basic definition or a basic process in detail. The amino acid and enzymes basics at the front of the text were also well done and a useful review. The examples globular proteins/hemoglobin and fibrous proteins/collagen are well done; however, the cell bio aspect of collagen processing are not in depth enough to answer other than the simplest Step1 questions on this topic.

Onto Pelley/Goljan ...
First, this book cannot be compared to Goljan RR Pathology. It fails for coverage, clarity of writing and diagrams, and for completeness. Here I mean completeness to be a measure of the finished product, and not the extend of the material covered. There are several diagrams accompanying the text used to illustrate explanations that have numbered steps but have no reference to the numbering system used when discussed in the narrative. This appears to be in the chapters toward the end of the book ... nucleotide and gene expression. In the earlier chapters, this is not the case. Consider the glycolysis explanation has a full page diagram with numbered steps and the text explanation actually is paragraphs referenced to the diagram numbers. In the nucleotide chapters many of the illustrations used come from from another of Palley's Bchm texts, and at least to me are never completely integrated into this text. There is no mention to the illustration numbering in the text discussing these diagrams. Overall, I must say in Pelley many of the important diagrams are somewhat confusing, and I finally used diagrams I found on Wikipedia or from Champe ... examples would be: glycolysis vs. gluconeogensis and particularly the integration of these with the HMP shunt, TCA cycle, and amino acid processing. Pelley really suffers on overall integration of aspect of metabolism and the actual chapter on integration is weak in explanation and includes with many impressive (at least at first glance) but actually uninformative (space-filling?) half-page diagrams. The only strengths this book brings is it provides greater clinical correlation than that of Champe's text. The side margin notes are here like in RR Pathology are here but seem incomplete, often not well placed (ie, text will break to nest page but margin notes remain of previous page. The other thing is that the clinical correlations just seem to be dumped into the text bchm narrative rather than integrated into the text. This seems particularly true of the various storage/degradation-related diseases. Champe actually does a better job on a basic presentation of each of these groups of diseases. This brothers me in that this is the 3rd edition of the book and at least to me still seems to be only 75% finished ... again not with respect to material covered but to actual writing and layout of the book. To its credit, the Pelley books includes in a few pages a very useful review of basic medical genetics.

Overall I was impressed on first opening the Pelley/Gojan book but became more and more disappointed as I went on to actually study it. I can not say the same thing about the Champe text. The "cheesie" things (mostly cosmetics regarding the Lippicott layout) I first noticed in Champe remain so, but I did grow to appreciate Champe well written narrative and completeness of the presentation. I feel medical education suffers for her recent death. It is rumored that she was developing a text on physiology for LWW/LIR series ... I am disappointed that now it will not be published.

In finishing, an example on completeness and depth of materiel covered for both books ...
The general introductory explanations USMLEWorld provided to support their answer to a particular question often had a better and more informative and concise overview of the topic than that provided by Champe and more so Pelly ... in the actual explanation to the answer of a question. Often the USMLEWorld explanation was detailed and comprehensive, sometimes not ... and I am talking about the overview leading into the specifics for the questions answer. There is a concise discussion of receptor tyrosine kinases and tyrosine kinase-associated receptors that easily tops the little provided in Pelley or Champe. Also the USMLEWorld discussion of collagen synthesis comes to mind. ... Go figure ... and I recall 3 questions on my actual Step1 exam regarding collagen synthesis and a simple question on the JAK-STAT pathway.

Regards, StanO

Cross-posted with review LIR Biochemistry by Champe.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great review 7 April 2011
By Sailing123 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
One thing I have always loved about Goljan's review books is that they are easy to read and stress a good conceptual framework. He uses an outline format but they are mostly complete sentences.

My only criticism is that Rapid Review Biochemistry feels a little rushed and like it doesn't have 100% attention to detail, especially in the tables. To compare, Rapid Review Pathology is a little more of a polished book. For instance, under cobalamin deficiency (Table 4-1), achlorhydria is listed as a sign/symptom. Okay, if you have cobalamin deficiency secondary to pernicious anemia that's definitely true, but it's not quite true as written. Small things like this add up. Still one of the better biochem review books in my opinion.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, concise book for Step1 Biochem Review 16 May 2012
By JP - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
First off, if you aren't a fan of the Rapid Review/Goljan outline formatted text, proceed with caution. It's definitely not for everyone.

I used this book as a supplement for Step1 studying with my First Aid. It was a great review of all things biochem that I had forgotten since early first year. It's definitely not the most substantial biochem book available, but I thought it was very useful for Step 1. Step 1 doesn't require PhD-depth of knowledge of biochem (which we were all probably taught as fist year med students). So this book was useful in cutting out the excess we were all taught and gets down to the important enzymes, reactions, co-factors, and such. There are also useful clinical correlates.

Overall, I thought this book was EXTREMELY useful as a supplement to the lacking First Aid. I actually wish I had this book first year, as it would have clarified many topics.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback