Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
94
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Brilliant release, and a very good upgrade to Blu-ray there are loads of good features plus a nice little booklet. But what I love about this film was the beautiful soundtrack that was composed by the late John Barry, plus a great cast which includes Jason Robards, Alec Gunness, David Selby. I know this film was a big flop at the Box Office, and most critics hated it, but who cares, I love it. Network are doing some brilliant old classic films, and hopefully more and more to come.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
This movie must be viewed purely for its entertainment value and not for its historical accuracy or feasibility. Some critics have, in my opinion, ridiculed this movie based on these criteria....... and unjustly so. It is a great story, be it far fetched, with special effects that were created without the use of computer generated images. Brilliant stuff for the 80's. With a magnificent sound track, photography and entertaining storyline, give it a watch....for what it is,..........a movie to enjoy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
I fail to see where the previous reveiwer came to the conclusion of material available that could have been used in this DVDs release.

Being the UK's historian on "Raise The Titanic" of which I supplied (at the last minute) all that is seen in the 'special features' section, I can say that there is very little out there on this movie. There was no "official" making-of documentary made for this film, except for a promotional sales gimmick put together in 1980. Sadly this could not be used due to time contraints. No deleated scenes exsist anymore for this film, the original 12 minute sinking footage is currently in the hands of a private collector who will not release it and any "behind-the-scenes" footage (again) could not be used due to time constraints and copyright.

Before I became involved with the dvd, all that was going to be seen on the dvd was the film. And with the VERY little time I had to put together material from my private collection (including images not seen until now), the outcome for this release was far better than it was originally planned.

However, there is a possibility of a future release in a couple of years time of a "Special Edition" version of "Raise The Titanic", which will feature a lot more material from my private collection.

Mr J Smith (Titanic Historian - United Kingdom)
88 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Contrary to what Amazon.com are stating I have in writing from Shout Factory that the aspect ratio from their new Blu Ray release of "Raise The Titanic" is the correct one of 2.35 : 1. At the same time they will not say if any extras will be included. As for the reviewer who states that it should be 2.20 : 1 this only applied to the few 70mm prints that were made. This great movie should look great on BD, and I hope that Shout Factory follow it up with ITCs "Green Ice".
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Great film! However Clive Cussler didn't like, but it's my kind. I always thought what it would be like if Titanic's wheel be raised, at least. It is one of the films Robert Ballard saw, hours before he founded Titanic.
The film DO have good plot, and there is good acting. They're trying to retreive the ship's supposed asset Titanium, and we will see how they try to raise her. This just speaks for itself and to me a great plot! I bought the VHS because I like to watch 80's films on VHS. Just 4 plus star movie really. And recommended to any Titanic buff.
The film became more popular much after it went on cinema. Years after, so Cussler did get his investment payed off. As for me, however i don't think to raise the ship is great idea, but still, the wheel...
Just go buy it. Great film!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I not only have to give it five stars due to my contribution to this release, but Raise the Titanic was my first big screen Titanic experience back in December 1980. Back then the film was relevant to the numerous expeditions that were set-up to find and possibly raise the "unsinkable". A lot of that has been lost since the discovery of the real Titanic, but the film can and does stand alone in a work of science fiction with Titanic as the backdrop. Based around the 1976 international novel of the same name by Clive Cussler, the story involves the efforts of the U.S trying to locate the sunken liner to retrieve from her cargo hold a rare mineral that could prevent a future war while being pitted against Russia who want to do the same. Due to many issues with not only the films production, the cold war story which was cut and rewrote several times to keep peace between nations while making America and the U.S Navy look the hero's in the story, these effected the overall appearance of the film. However, the film does have a certain appeal to it among fans and those who were brought up on old school Titanic movies, long before James Cameron sailed his ship onto the big screen. There are times the dialogue appears cheesy and there are times that the acting is a bit wooden but you cannot deny the sight of the mighty Titanic erupting up from the depths in slow motion as water pours from her decks and portholes is not something that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end along with John Barry's stunning Bond style action score. With this new release from Network (I also worked with them on their 2007 DVD release), the film had been given the HD treatment. It is not without flaw, and there is a certain amount of grain within the picture that maybe the perfectionist may not like. Sound wise, the film has the option of stereo or 5.1 surround sound. What gives this release the position for being purchased is the special features which includes a detailed booklet about John Barry and the films score, inner sleeve notes on the films Titanic "hero" model (which I authored), trailer, PDF files on the film and actors and a wealth of behind-the-scenes photographs from publicity to private and many previously unreleased (again, something I supplied for this release). It has been 35 years since Lew Grade's Raise the Titanic hit the big screens and, despite the many false notions the film flopped, the film was actually well received and never became a symbol of disaster in filmography. Lew Grade did quip once "Raise the Titanic? ha, it would have been cheaper to have lowered the Atlantic", but that was in response to how his company collapsed following being taken over by another media mogul of the time. Despite the background to the film containing Titanic, her symbol of disaster of loss of life, this film is a break from the traditional Titanic movies and offers something different and something that has never been done again. In today's society of films being CGI laden, this film takes the viewer back to a time when miniatures were used and passed off with realism. The miniature Titanic (weighing 10 tons and 55 feet in length) was and still remains one of the largest Titanic miniatures ever made. It was a huge undertaking in itself just to raise *that* from the water tanks. The impressive miniature and work carried out by the FX team shows on screen with such finesse. In all, the film is very much like Marmite - you either love it or hate it. But give it a try and add the film to your Titanic collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
If only this storyline could have actually happened. Selection of the entire cast was an excellent choice; it's not often that character roles mesh together so naturally on screen. The plot moves at an engaging pace, the footage is well edited and dialogue well scripted. First seen long years ago, it impressed at the time and still does today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
A cold war caper set against raising Titanic. Two excellent actors Selby and the much missed Jordan are the main drivers of the plot. Never mind that subsequent events proved the ship split on sinking, still providing hi jinks, cold war stand off and a pathos filled part from Alec Guinness as the fictional survivor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2009
Famously, Lew Grade spoke at the time this movie came out of the huge budget, saying it would have been cheaper to lower the Atlantic. Now, it's very difficult to see what the fuss was about, one way or another. On one hand, it's not nearly as bad as its reputation would suggest. There's a decent cold war thriller in there somewhere. The cast are fine, too.. even the odd cameo from Alec Guinness as a remaining survivor of the Titanic.
The plot is somewhat troublesome (one is tempted to describe it as being all-at-sea), especially given that since the movie was made the actual Titanic was found - in two pieces. However, the explanations of how it might be raised are reasonably convincing in a pre-discovery context. Even the special effects could be worse.. . so in fact, it's the direction that's to blame. For one thing, too much time in near darkness with submersibles buzzing around in slow motion. Critically, the real action elements of the book have been gutted, to spend time on ogling the model of the Titanic and interior set of its Drawing room. In the book, there were scenes set during the sinking of the Titanic which added both interest and suspense, and then after the raising there is a whole subplot with Russian agents coming aboard, which has been excised.. now what we are left with is the building up of cold war tension, resolved in a moment and the Russian shrugs his shoulders and leaves.. hardly `thrilling'. In short, the movie is likely to abide with you for all the wrong reasons.
It is a curiosity, which may be of interest to some in spite of its flaws... but to add insult to injury it is ill served in this budget release. The extras are mostly photographs, when surely there would be much to tell in a making off documentary, or even more about the Titanic herself. Some of the photographs allude to cut scenes including from the Titanic going down, which surely would have been of interest. A missed opportunity then, to turn a much maligned movie into at least an interesting collector's piece. And one final comment - surely of all films, this one was crying out for... liner notes..?
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I agree the acting is rather wooden. They have changed much of Clive Cussler's original storyline, and Richard Jordan was a huge mistake as Dirk Pitt (the role needs someone with presence, and at that time, Harrison Ford would have been better). I also know that the rescue was not possible, but the sheer fantasy of any Titanic fan is raising her. The photography and effects are good and the music is perfect. A nice Sunday afternoon's viewing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse