Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 September 2000
Neil Young greeted his fourth decade as a recording artist with this solid rocker backed by Crazy Horse. This is a very compelling album and, like the title of track four, I can listen to it over and over.
If you are familiar with Neil's other albums with Crazy horse, you will know what to expect but, if you have only ever heard his lighter, more folksy stuff like Harvest, then I'd encourage you to listen to this as it shows a very different side of his music. This is much more rock oriented with some great guitar work.
The general style is related to, for example, the earlier release Zuma with the same backing team but he has something new to say here. I tried to list my real favourites and I ended up with a list of well over half of the tracks on the album.
The only song that I'm not really happy with is "Farmer John" which is the only cover and somehow, the song just doesn't fit with the rest of the album, everything else being original by Neil Young for this album.
But that is a minor criticism of a CD which has over and hour of top rate rock songs. Learn the words, play it loud and try to sing along. Then marvel at Neil's vocal range.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2002
When they get older, most musicians are a shadow of their former selves. Not so with Neil Young. Ragged Glory is one of his best albums ever, not just in his later years. It was recorded live in the studio and the energy it captures is nothing short of stunning. It is a set dripping with loud guitars in that shambolic way only Neil & Horse know how to do. Right from the opener, 'Country House', which is such a great track, the intensity of the music does not let anywhere on the album. If you hav'nt got into Neil Young, you really don't know what you are missing. Pure genius.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2009
I added this disc to my collection recently and I keep finding myself playing this in the car as a disc of choice, by the looks of the CD booklet this was recorded in a shack-cum-garage in a single take and with no overdubs, amazing also when you consider that it was also digitally recorded lending it a crisp lively thrashy sound wth a very 'live' feel, I love 'Love to Burn' even though it's 10 minutes long you'd be forgiven for thinking it was a shorter track, I love the pervy lines in 'Farmer John', love indeed, more like lust.

If ever you wanted a definitive Young + Crazy Horse studio effort, this has to be the choice along with 'Zuma' from 1975.

I'd give it nine stars if I could!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
WOW. This really is one of the finest albums i have listened to in years, every song is full of Young's energy and passion.

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE RULE!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
This is an astonishingly good hour of melody, harmony and noise from the master of all three. This was my introduction to Neil Young and I've played it, particularly the opening track, "Country Home" almost every day since October 1991.

If you're into the quieter, accoustic side of Neil Young, this might be one to avoid - this is a Neil Young and Crazy Horse record make no mistake about that. The amps are turned up to 11, the distortion pedals plugged in and the guitars are feeding back like the guitarist's lives depended on it.

Even in his sixties, this fine Canadian chappie could teach the young pups of today a few things about noise.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
Don't really go for acoustic stuff, Neil Young or anyone else, but this is the best rock 'n' roll album ever recorded with the best guitar solos. Genius.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2002
When they get older, most musicians are a shadow of their former selves. Not so with Neil Young. Ragged Glory is one of his best albums ever, not just in his later years. It was recorded live in the studio and the energy it captures is nothing short of stunning. It is a set dripping with loud guitars in that shambolic way only Neil & Horse know how to do. Right from the opener, 'Country House', which is such a great track, the intensity of the music does not let anywhere on the album. If you hav'nt got into Neil Young, you really don't know what you are missing. Pure genius.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
So it's fair to say that without Neil Young's "dirty" guitar sound, perhaps grunge may not have been what we know today. From Pearl Jam working extensively with the man to Kurt Cobain quoting him in his suicide note, Neil Young was a driving influence. So in 1990, after the somewhat low key release of Nirvana's "Bleach," it begins to look like a new breed of musician may be coming out of Seattle, perhaps the torch is going to be passed on, and what Young started will be taken to its logical conclusion? Then Neil Young and Crazy Horse strike out with an album that proves that they not only influenced this scene, they can define it too. An album from a band in its third decade that just screams to be recognised as a contemporary of the likes of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, or anyone else you think of when you hear the word "grunge."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2002
Brilliant album, in my top 3 albums of all time. No fillers at all. I hate to use the cliched word "anthem" but there are loads on here - Mansion on the hill and Love and only love being the best. Disagree with the other reviewers -F##kin up is good rocking fun, and Farmer John just makes me laugh. Whole album is much more akin to alternative rock, than naff country music. Forget "Wonderwall" - for really emotive music you can do no better than this!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
Such a brilliant album - possibly the best ever by Neil with Crazy Horse. Sounds live in the studio and really deserves to be played very loud through speakers and not on a personal stereo
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£11.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)