Start reading Rage of Stars: Book Three of The Sigil Trilogy on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Rage of Stars: Book Three of The Sigil Trilogy
 
 

Rage of Stars: Book Three of The Sigil Trilogy [Kindle Edition]

Henry Gee
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Print List Price: £8.72
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.73 (66%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Paperback £8.72  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Between 20-26 October 2014, spend £10 in a single order on item(s) dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive a £2 promotional code to spend in the Amazon Appstore. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product Description

Product Description

Print edition of the concluding volume to Henry Gee's incredible Sigl Trilogy!

The Universe is still dying from within and the young Drover tasked with stopping the rot is still racing against time.

For fifty years, former textile merchant Mr Haraddzjin Khorare has been Chancellor of a Kingdom unequalled in brutality. And it's about to get a whole lot worse.

Dogfinger is a boy orphaned when his village is razed by Stoners. One day, he knows, the time will come for revenge.

Domingo—scientist, Priest and Pope—is watching, helpless, as the world circles to its doom. What we need, he thinks, is a miracle. Will his prayers be answered?

The Plague has forced Jadis Markham and Jack Corstophine to give up their research in favour of survival. But there are always questions left to answer.

Their son, Tom, now himself a noted anthropologist, has an encounter that will force him to confront his own nature—and the very nature of the universe, as the stars themselves begin going dark.

Rage of Stars is the climactic third volume of The Sigil, Henry Gee's epic tale that explores the nature of humanity, religion and love.

Praise for THE SIGIL TRILOGY:

"Great stuff. Touches of Douglas Adams, Barrington Bayley, David Britton and Steve Ayelet only emphasise the splendid originality of this book. Henry Gee is thoughtful, funny, original. And pretty thoroughly mind-expanding in the tradition of Wells, David Lindsay, Stapledon and Clarke. In fact everything you yearn to find in a very good contemporary SF novel. Really enjoyed it!"
—SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

"Coming to a science fiction novel by Henry Gee I was expecting a work knowledgeable about the world and all its ways, but who would have guessed it would also reveal Henry to be a visionary space voyager of the first order? The Sigil is in the grand tradition of Stapledonian space opera, and provides not only an explanation for why this universe is the way it is, but gives us the many vivid wild adventures on the part of some (very appealing) conscious characters acting to make it that way. Awesome stuff, and a true pleasure to read page by page."
—Kim Stanley Robinson, award-winning author of Red Mars

"Fast-moving, insanely inventive science fiction in the grand manner—seldom has the fate of the galaxy been handled on such a large scale. Gee draws on archeology, geology, physics, and biology to create a rich tapestry with surprises woven into every thread."
—Nancy Kress

"Siege is compelling, grandiose, and breathtaking in its spacetime and its characters are intriguing, personal, and complex....This book of Henry's is going to be high on the charts."
—scienceblogs.com

"Echoes of Olaf Stapledon and Arthur C. Clarke, with more interesting characters than either of them."
—John Gribbin

"Cosmically deep and sensually rich, here is a very warm, enthusiastic and human book about great issues of our own world and of the whole universe, beautifully written. What can I say but: Gee Whiz! (unless somebody already has...)"
—Ian Watson

"One of the very best books I've ever read."
—Critique.org

"Henry Gee serves up a tasty stew of sex, science and space opera. Or should that read romance, rationality and retro-SF? Either way, the book is great entertainment."
—Vaughan Stanger

"A great very-wide-screen story, with many interesting characters I cared about...the writing—and the palaeontology—are beautifully executed"
—Jack Cohen, author of Wheelers and Heaven

"wildly imaginative... personalities and relationships drive the story forward as much as its grandiose scale, making "Siege" difficult to put down."
—Alex Shvartsman

"Henry Gee's crackling prose and fast-paced storytelling pull the reader right in, but it's the vividness of his characters that creates such a sense of intimacy in this large-scale cosmic tale. It's an impressive fiction debut, a page-turner that delivers the goods!"
—Mercurio D. Rivera, World Fantasy Award nominee

About the Author

Dr. Henry Gee is senior editor at the renowned science journal Nature and editor of the award-winning Nature Futures science fiction short story series. He has written over a dozen books, including The Science of Middle Earth and A Field Guide to Dinosaurs.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 638 KB
  • Print Length: 330 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0615706363
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: ReAnimus Press (27 Sep 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009I7LEEM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #286,642 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Henry Gee is a longtime editor at the prestigious science journal 'Nature'. His books encompass the depths of time and the outermost reaches of space, whether in non-fiction (DEEP TIME, JACOB'S LADDER, THE SCIENCE OF MIDDLE-EARTH) or fiction (THE SIGIL TRILOGY, BY THE SEA.) His latest book, THE ACCIDENTAL SPECIES: MISUNDERSTANDINGS OF HUMAN EVOLUTION is already attracting rave reviews. "If you only read one book on human evolution, or indeed one book on evolution, make it this one," writes Ted Nield (SUPERCONTINENT; INCOMING). "Quite simply, the best book ever written about the fossil record and humankind's place in evolution," adds John Gribbin, author of The Monkey Puzzle and In Search of Schrödinger's Cat. Author photo - John Gilbey

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sy-fi epic I have read in years 5 Dec 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I highly recommend this trilogy to any sy-fi reader. It has everything you could wish for, great plot, great characters, some real science, Henry Gee really knows what he is talking about.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category