Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars11
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2014
Great book for all your muesli and granola needs! The only thing I'd say is that some of the recipes for the muesli are only for one dish, which is a bit inconvenient to an extent because it would be nice to make big batches. Overall though a great book, nicely illustrated and definitely glad I got it to make breakfast more interesting
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
This is an interesting collection of breakfast ideas, much better than buying pre-prepared cereal as you can add or submit to your liking, Not a big book but there are limits to what even Rachel can do with Muesli and Granola, nevertheless a nice addition to my collection
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
I am a fan of Rachel’s TV series I bought this book hoping to discover new and exciting recipes, as I wanted to make my own cereal bars. I had discovered that the shop bought ones were not as healthy as claimed. It is a little book but I was not surprised at as I had already read the number of pages. The recipes are just not enough and the others are just like one reviewer said very sketchy, I call it lazy writing. I have found better recipes on Pinterest – I should have gone there in the first place.

This is a waste of money, I am thinking of donating the book to my local library or nearby charity shop. I totally regret buying the book!! Based on this experience I don’t think I will be buying any of her books, I will record her show and learn from that instead or go online.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Good quality book. Bit pricey and recipes were not particularly inspiring, but not a bad addition to any cookery book collection!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A short and sweet review for a fairly short and sweet book - assuming you like muesli and granola that is.

Here the author has managed to show that there is more to muesli than just dropping milk on it and more ways to eat granola than in a bar. A bit of variety can go a long way and you can learn how different ingredients can pair together to great effect, often with combinations you might never have considered before.

This book features a fairly light and airy design that seems to draw the reader in. After starting with a fairly basic introduction things start at a fast pace by looking at the basics, learning about the different kinds of ingredients that will be used and making some staples such as Coconut Milk or an Apple Compote. By now you are probably champing at the bit to get cooking so you just select a recipe from the various chapters covering Muesli; Granola; Porridge; Muesli Bars and "A Few More Ideas" and that's that. No fuss or drama, just recipe after recipe after recipe.

Each recipe is very clearly written, featuring dual imperial and metric measures and is easy-to-follow despite appearing at first glance to be rather concise. Yet when one follows a recipe it feels that just the right amount of supervision or guidance is given. It was pleasing to see an estimated preparation and cooking time be given for each recipe too - a little feature that can be a Godsend to a time-poor cook who wants to resist the easy option of buying a ready-made dish from a supermarket. A good, detailed index rounds things off at the end.

There is not really a lot more to add: you will either have a need for a book of this kind and its recipes or you won't. If you have a need for this you will probably fall in love with it and it will be dog-eared and splattered with cooking residues in the coming years. If you don't, well, maybe you are missing a good little thing? Certainly the range and breadth of recipes helped broaden this reviewer's "muesli and granola horizon."
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Beautifully illustrated little book packed full of good ideas using lovely ingredients. I bought it as I thought some recipes would make great gifts at Christmas. However, I've now tried two of the muesli bar recipes and both were a disaster. Followed recipes to the letter and spent a fortune on parchment paper but bars refused to stick together and I've been left with several bowls of crumbs! Great with fruit and yogurt but not what I intended at all. Will reserve judgement until I've tried a few more recipes.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2014
Frankly, this contains a few very sketchy recipes, padded out with pictures and white space. You can find much better recipes in Pure Vanilla or in Cook's Illustrated Baking. A waste of money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
This is a recipe book for cooking from, not just for gazing at.

There are chapters on individual ingredients (oats, sugar, dried fruit, nuts and seeds), accompaniments (compotes), muesli, granola, porridge, muesli bars and extras.

The initial chapters provide clear descriptions of the qualities of the principal ingredients and their uses. There are helpful tips regarding ingredient selection, e.g. unsweetened puffed rice for granola, short-grain rice for congee, always use unsalted nuts. In the "Oats, etc." chapter, there is clear information about gluten content.

The recipes which follow in the subsequent chapters are well chosen, easy to make and evidently kitchen-tested.

The muesli and granola recipes contain a mixture of standard ingredients (oats, raisins) and less common ones (buckwheat, quinoa, fig, papaya), in combinations which are sufficiently diverse to keep the book interesting, yet with enough in common to ensure that it is easy understand how to start adapting the recipes for oneself.

The layout of the book is clean. There are separate preparation and cooking times. The ingredients are listed in colour, then the instructions in black. All are in an easily legible font.

Overall, this book is a great choice for someone wanting to experiment with home-made muesli-based recipes or for anyone with coeliac disease or a nut/fruit-based food allergy/intolerance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I like the pictures and the simplicity of the recipes for different ideas of snacks and breakfasts. I love the idea of making my own cereal or granola.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)