Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars15
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2011
This is an interesting look into the world of a prisoner. A family member of mine was in jail for five years so this helped shed some light on what they went through, the mindset and the world in which the prisoners lived without it being over dramatized for television. What really shines through in this novella is the detail the author puts into the things only a ex prisoner would know.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
Although the content of the book was interesting, I can't give it any more than three stars, for two mains reasons. One, the book itself is very short, as you will see Glenn has 4 'books' in this series.

Each looks to be between 35-70 pages, multiply this by four and you'll get the average length of one book. Instead of splitting into different volumes, in my opinion, Glenn should have made one book and charged accordingly. Although I read the extract of the 2nd book at the end of this one, I'm still unsure as to whether this will eventually follow on from the events in the 1st, if not then maybe this is why Glenn chose to separate them.

This leads me onto my second point. The first book reads almost like an extract from a diary. It just kind of starts with very little background, has a middle then kind of finishes with no real ending. It's more like a couple of sample chapters. A taster, if you like.

I'm not sure if I'll purchase the other books, as I feel they will follow a similar pattern to the above which is a real shame as Glenn writes well and clearly has some stories to tell about his experiences, I just think he's not chosen the best way to do it.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I didn't find this book at all as interesting as I expected. Only managed to read 15 percent of it before deleting it. Not a page turner. Maybe it got better further into the book but life's too short to waste any of it reading on and on only to find it doesn't get any better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
I enjoyed reading this book from beginning to end,it was nice to read an honest but frank account of life in prison but described so well you can picture the characters and the prison itself which helps the book come alive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
If you have watched National Geographic's prison series you already know all there is to know about life inside American prisons. This short book provides no surprises as the usual Hispanic, Blacks and Caucasians fight to control territory in a Florida jail. All things considered a pretty depressing yarn and the book is only 75% of the file size! (The rest is taken up with credits and samples of further stories written by the author about his jail time which I won't be bothering with).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Race Riot though very short, certainly gets to the point of the violence and brutality prisoners show to one another in each others racially divided cliques. It demonstrates the clear need to belong to a gang if you want to survive in the American prison environment.
A short tale but effective 7\10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This book is particularly short - you can probably finish the book in a day commuting to / from work.

Not particularly surprising and the storyline never really got going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Loved it, makes you lucky never to of done time,pity England's judicial system isn't as mean.Looking forward to the next book.I'm going to download it right now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
this book is a real eye opener, all i can say it will certainly make me keep on the straight and narrow, i couldn't believe what i was reading,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
This was downloaded on Kindle, Never told it contained on 70 ish pages. Are all Kindle books abridged? The book itself was ok, but not great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)