Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars51
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2005
An excellent guide to all European birds from Iceland to Israel plus all the vagrants that have visited. The best part of this book is that it has all photos. Some guide books have drawings or coloured illustrations which sometimes are far removed from the bird you want to identify. Having said that this is a hefty book and therefore is not much use in the field, the paperback is smaller and lighter but I prefer this even so. It has a lot of bird info at the front and is the best complete guide I have come across.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We come to expect quality books when they carry the RSPB name and logo and they do not let us down, my only slight quibble is that this particular book says on the front "UK's Best Selling field Guide." To my way of thinking it is a little large for a pocket guide. Carrying a camera field glasses is enough without a weighty book that you will struggle to get into a pocket.

Whether you are an armchair addict, or a twitcher of the first order, this guide and 70-minute CD are essential reference. The book and video introduce you to 800 species that are regularly and not so regularly found in Britain and Europe. The book contains beautiful photographs, including ones of the different plumages, both male, female and juvenile. There is information on habitat and virtually everything you need to know to obtain a true picture of each individual species.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
This book is superb with some of the best Photos and pictures of any birdbook and we have several. The format is one specie per page. It highlights features to look for to aid identification, differences between males, females and juveniles where necessary. There are flight "patterns", distribution maps and status. Also, most usefully it has pictures of similar looking species on the page. Saw it first at an RSPB site and decided to buy it. It is a coffee table bird book so you will also need a pocket book to take with you for example - RSPB Pocket Birds.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2005
This is a fantastic field guide for birdwatchers to have on their bookshelf. The photos are superb, and I personally find them much easier to use for bird identification, than the classic birdwatching field guides that have artists representations. It is a shame that this book is too big and heavy to use outdoors as a field guide (not that I would want to as it might get ruined). However the RSPB have thought of that and have a slimmed down pocket guide available as well.
First class RSPB and DK. Watch out Collins guides, there is a new kid on the block.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This book was bought as a birthday present for a friend who very much enjoys sitting in his garden/conservatory and watching the birds who visit it. He is a bird lover and this has presented a whole new world to him and also to his family and friends. He is in his seventies and found that this book has considerably increased his enjoyment. He can also look up birds he has seen on walks etc.

An excellent book all round.

An excellent book for bird lovers of all ages. This was bought as a present for an old friend who much enjoys watching the birds in his garden and found this helps in his identification of species and also appreciation of the different varieties. The gentleman in question is a pensioner but has found the book also much enjoyed by his family.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
The book itself is great but could do with a little more information.. my old field guide from the 80's has more info on each bird than this! But it doesn't have as many images so at least it's a great photo guide! There's also tonnes of other excellent information at the start of the book such as the different habitats found in Europe and some basics on bird anatomy, breeding etc.
The main problem is that the names on each track of the CD are all wrong.. the first track I put on was the Wigeon's call and as soon as it started playing, I immediately turned to my partner and said "If the title didn't say Wigeon, I would swear those were Swifts.."
Turns out they WERE Swifts.. the worst part is I also have a later version of this book and CD, they still haven't updated the names! Argh! At least you can correspond everything with the book track list so it's not too big a deal. Four stars for the mess-up and lack of information.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
This is a beautifully made book and has already proved it's worth in identifying birds we have seen and were not too sure about. The fact that it is all photographs as opposed to drawings makes a huge difference when looking for small differences between birds
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
As with all Dorling Kindersley books it has been put together extremely well. The photos are clear and the similar birds on the bottom of the pages are very handy for the amateur bird watcher. The hard cover means it will be in good condition for years to come. It is not pocket sized but it makes an invaluable helper when trying to identify birds from the kitchen or conservatory.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I bought this for my dad as a birthday present so he could see what the birds in his garden were. (And also for when he visits Europe!)

The package arrived early and was securely packed. Contents were pristine.

The book covers, the annotations and photographs are just what you need to identify birds showing different angles and ages of each species. It's easy to use and is full of details like where/when you can see the birds within and also some brief text information describing them. It's perfect for a casual interest or curiosity.

Note that this is NOT a pocket guide, about an inch or so thick and over A4 in size. It was great for what I needed it for though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
A beautiful book. The best I've seen for this section of the world. RSPB Complete Birds of Britain and Europe Good profiles and habitat descriptions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)