Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
77
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2016
This is must have for anyone currently going through their process in joining the RAF. I have my selection test next week and struggle with the spatial reasoning, this book sets out a huge variety of questions and explains in each section why such a test is undertaken for this job, and how long you get on each section. On some of the answers for the questions, an explanation is provided for why the answer is correct.

It's common sense more than anything but it pays to focus on the subjects you are weak on, I am finding that understanding the questions properly before worrying about the time is a good way to approach the test. It is also my understanding that the tests are set so that you won't be able to get through every single question. I wish however on the sections where the answers were not explained (Mainly the shapes) that more tips were written down on how to approach the questions.

I have noticed this author has also done videos on youtube providing further advice which I would recommend for anyone to watch as it is another handy learning technique! I may have also potentially found one question to have provided wrong answers but other than that, everything else seems to be fine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I was encouraged by the approachable manner in which the RAF Airman Tests has been written .
It is a comprehensive guide to understanding what you have to do if you are serious about joining the RAF.
In my opinion,it would be a foolhardy decision not to read this test guide and therefore,when read to have well prepared yourself for a career in the forces.
Richard McMunn is fully qualified to take you through the various example tests and questions.
He also gives you a wholesome view of how to manage your actual assessment day.
I have no hesitation in recommending it. Pauline
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
The closest set of AST tests to the real thing I have been able to find, and I have searched many available options on and offline.
Multiple tests for most sections (or sub-sections), so some sections are comparable in volume to the actual exam, some with excess. Contains a memory section which i've not seen offered by other authors.
The odd typo but nothing that may hinder your results. Overall definitely worth the investment if you're serious about your application.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This book is of very high quality and helped me immensely with my AST's (passed with a very high mark!) i would highly recommend it to applicants of all ages! Also great seller, very fast delivery, very reasonable prices! Many thanks!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
I bought this book last September a few weeks before sitting the AST. As some of the other reviewers have said, there are a few glaring typos but nothing that should stop you suing Mr McMunn for failing your test! The practice papers are much better than most of the psychometric tests you can get online and I found the mechanical comprehension and verbal reasoning tests invaluable. The memory test section is also innovative and certainly gives you an approximate idea of what to expect although it cannot easily replicate the exact memory test questions used in the actual exam.

This guide definitely helped me gel up on the principles, however, be warned - I found a lot of the actual AST questions are worded in a very different way to the questions in this book.

Overall, still the best guide on the market and an invaluable prep guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Very helpful, helped me prepare and pass the AST. Questions are in the same format as the test and timed sections helped.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
This was very useful for passing the aptitude tests. The main benefit is being able to practice for the type of questions that were in the tests. Some sections had questions which were very similar to the actual tests such as verbal reasoning, numerical reasoning and mechanical comprehension. Some of the other examples are a lot easier than the actual tests such as work rate, electrical comprehension and the memory test although they do help to focus your mind on the type of questions you get. Overall the book was very helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Having just sat my RAF aptitude test I can say that the mechanical and electrical comprehension sections of this book are no where near the level of understanding required. The verbal and numerical reasoning sections are at a good level as are the memory, although as it states in the book the memory test is shown on a TV. Overall its a good starting point but don't use this book as your sole revision method when preparing for the assessment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
This book is an excellent resource for anyone planning to sit the RAF AST. It is very user friendly and takes you through the kind of questions that are likely to come up in the test. This is a good way to identify and address any weak areas you may have. The book is complimented well if you have access to the how2become.com online Psychometric Testing Suite which allows you to practice sample test questions in timed conditions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Helped me pass my basic tests for the RAF would recommend for anyone who wants to join the RAF because this book will give you a lot of practice questions also tells you what to expect! I passed for every role for Airmen and this book helped me do it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)