Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars60
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2012
What a marvellous book to bring out just before Christmas - I found this book quite by chance and it currently lives on the kitchen table because we keep on dipping in to see what more amazing questions are answered so amusingly, but also pretty seriously - it's a lovely book and now when I am setting off to Christmas shop I know that I can fulfil all the requirements for the "what on EARTH am I going to get them" presents. It could have been a book without serious content but as soon as one starts looking one sees that actually the answers are SERIOUS but they work for the level of the questioner - that's clever.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Absolutely brilliant. A tool for every parent to have, if you know a parent, are a parent or are about to become a parent then buy this book. For you, for them, for anyone.

At some point your inquisitive child will ask you a question that has you stumped - this book has some amazing answers.

My best bit is the appendix, where every question is answered by comedians, a hysterical touch.

Buy it now - and know that a huge potion goes to the NSPCC!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This is honestly the best money I have spent in a long time !!! My 6 year old is so hooked that he is readings the answers himself when I try and stop after 4or 5 .
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
"Big Questions from Little People" by Gemma Elwin Harris is a book for all those parents (and actually all have been in that situation) who have many times met with questions of their children that sounded so simple and easy to answer, and yet you didn't know or didn't know how to formulate the answer.
And, of course, for these children as well, to get deserved response nevertheless.

Some of these questions are classic ones like "Why is the sky blue?" or "Why is space so full of sparks?", some seem easy, although difficult to formulate short answer like "Why do have to go the bathroom?" or "Why are the grown-ups in charge?", while some are really tough ones to answer like "Why do wars happen?".

Gemma Elwin Harris has collected thousands of questions from preschool and school children in UK and afterwards sought help from hundreds from experts to answer them in simple language kids can understand.

Due to that, "Big Questions from Little People" is entertaining and fun book to read, full of small simple wisdom, book that you want kids to read which therefore can be recommended for your kids or as nice book gift for someone else's children.

So the next time you overhear that a child asked her/his parents one of these questions, you can offer help or just be happy that thanks to your child you've learned a lot of things that (only) seemed simple to answer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
bought this for my mother as a christmas present , it came quickly and was packaged well. the hard back is well worth the investment ,beautiful quality and the book itself is a laugh to read and soemtimes really makes you think . i cant wait to give it too her so we can talk about it as ive already read it through :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
This is a perfect present for children between about 8-13. The questions are good fun and the answers are informative/humorous and let children know that there is still so much to be discovered about the world and how things work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Very informative and written in such a way that both adults and children will constantly dip in and out of this book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Our then-9-years old twins carried this book with them EVERYwhere they went for months after receiving it, read it out loud to us as we cooked supper, or while travelling… We adults found some of the answers a bit trite or not really to the point. But all in all a great read for big and little ones alike!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Being a parent I've been stumped aplenty by the fiendishly clever/obvious/elusive/bizaare questions my 5, 7 and 11 year old have asked. This is THE MUST HAVE resource for parents looking for the answers to life, the universe and the downright bizaare.

Great for bedtime/train travelling/holiday/on the toilet reading and for the casual read - though make sure you have time because once you start reading you won't be able to stop! The book answers those things that you've perhaps always wondered about as a kid and never sought the answer to (but wish you had).

A great present for birthdays and christmas. And one bonus side effect from reading this? You'll always have something interesting to talk about at dinner parties...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Bought a couple of copies for my daughters' class teachers for end of term (much more fun than their usual box of chocolates) - now having read it will be getting a copy for myself, a copy for my friends with children and a copy for my god daughter. Christmas sorted!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse