Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars177
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2014
A hilarious mixture of Ancient Egypt (as you would expect in a book called Pyramids) but also Roman and Greek historical references with some time spent in beloved (not sure by who) Ankh Morpork. If you love TP's style of writing, hopping between multiple threads of the story and telling history in his own more interesting way, you'll love this book as I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Not one of Mr Pratchett's best but had some interesting ideas and mythos and I will always support a strong female character. Nice but a story that I could and did put down a few times. One of the weaker novels in the series
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 January 2005
Pyramids (The Book of Going Forth) is Terry Pratchett's 7th Discworld novel, and continues the trend of changing the series from a satire of the fantasy genre into a distorted mirror of our own world. The main inspiration here is quite obviously ancient Egypt, with the returning heir to the throne of Djelibeybi (ouch!) getting involved in a plot which involves the return of ancient gods, a riddling sphinx, mathematical camels, and hundred's of re-animated mummies (though just for a change these aren't the bad guys in this novel), though it also finds time to lampoon the Trojan war and ancient Greek philosophers along the way.
Pyramids is one of Pratchett's better constructed novels, with the story divided into four separate segments of Teppic's journey: first his training at the Assassin's Guild in Ankh-Morpork; then his inheritance of the throne of Djelibeybi; his escape with the beautiful handmaiden Ptraci when the ancient gods reclaim the land; and his final return and saving of his country. The main theme seems to be the danger of a stagnant society trapped in unthinking historical ritual, with the pyramids themselves interestingly acting as time negators by collecting and discharging time in order to preserve the mummies within. The novel also ends with an unexpected twist on Teppic and Ptraci's seemingly predictable romantic relationship, and a nice uroboric ending for the villain, who turns out to have been more a misguided do-gooder than evil.
If there is a slight downside to Pyramids (and the only reason I haven't given it the full 5 stars) it's that it's not particularly funny. While the cover blurb proclaims this as '...the most outrageously funny (Discworld novel) to date' I found the humour to be rather obvious and cheesy, particularly when it came to the bad puns. Nevertheless, Pyramids is still a fine novel - just not a hilarious one, and the fact that this is a completely standalone novel (in fact this is sequentially the first Discworld novel that has not yet been sequelised by the return of it's lead characters) makes this perfect for newcomers as well. Recommended.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I read this book when it was first published, and decided after all these years to re-read it on my Kindle. I have to say that it still made me giggle and I now intend to read through the rest of the Discworld series again. I don't think you could ever tire of Pratchettes humour, and I particularly like the way he takes a subject from our modern day lives and introduces it into the Discworld.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
This is where the humour and the imagination of the disc world really got on to the peak that it would maintain for about twenty novels, until it got too obsessed with Vimes as some sort of superhero detective. Terrific characters, the first and for some time only appearance of the assassins, the scientific bent (sharply satirised). A great book, that moves quickly and leaves you wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
The difference between this and many of the other Discworld novels is the fact that the characters are exclusively in Pyramids and no other book. This sets it apart from the 'series within a series' (Witches, Wizards, Guards, Death, Rincewind etc.)ideal that occurs frequently. Perhaps the difficulty that some readers have is getting to know characters that have not previously been introduced and are not developed further after the dust jacket of Pyramids has been closed. However, having read all of Pratchetts Discworld novels several times (sad, I know) there is no doubt that the characters in Pyramids stand above the rest in the way that they are written. The frequently confused Teppic fits brilliantly with the foppish Chidder, the well-meaning but fundamentally flawed Dios, the superficially vulnerable Ptraci and so on. The initial description of life at the Guild is also brilliantly put together and the later sections DO continue the strong plotline and the interplay between Teppic and the people he encounters is consistently entertaining. Pick it up and read it (or listen to it) and enjoy again and again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
A refreshing change for a discworld novel and it was extremely interesting to get a little insight to some of the other inhabitants of the disc world but I must admit that I did miss reading about some of the regular and much loved characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2001
This is definitely one of the best discworld novels Pratchett has ever written. An absolutely hilarious take on ancient Egypt, this book is absolutely brilliant. Featuring Teppic, heir to the throne, and the greatest mathematician on the disc (a camel called You Bastard) this book had me crying with laughter from start to finish. Buy this book- I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 1999
It is always hard to say one story in the discworld series is better than any other,especialy if like most devotee's you have read all of the series.Although there are at least 4 in the series i would say stand out as being exemplorary,i cannot in all honesty say that any are better than this. The humour is on par with Pratchetts best,and the story itself leaves nothing to be desired.If you have at times decided Pratchett's discworld series has been decreasing in content or storyline,or that the master had lost his touch and was now churning out any old nonsence,then this book will make you forget any past indiscrepancies on his part and bring you back into the fold a true believer once again in the unmistakenly superior writings of Terry Pratchett-author,humourist,and undisputed king of story telling.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Terry's take on ancient Egypt manages to successfully parody death, the UK Construction industry, philosophy, religion and (obviously) the pharaohs. If you haven't tried a Discworld novel this is a fairly good place to start as it features none of the repeat characters that the Nights-Watch and Witches books have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse