Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2001
I read reviews of this book, and ended up importing a copy from the USA. All the projects have pictures and clear explainations of what's going on.
It covers all routine maintenence from jacking up the car to rebuilding the engine.
An excellent read!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
These cars have a daunting reputation for consuming many £'s in maintenance and repair costs, and whilst this book won't magically whisk this prospect away, it will reassure any owner that a whole host of preventative work can be done to guard against some scary bills and also to connect the driving with the ownership experience.
The book focuses on the weekend mechanic - the type you loves to tinker and restore their Porsche, and covers all Air Cooled 911 motors. Some tasks are much more major, and give more an overview of the project, but these help develop a great understanding of the car, why and how it works - something that is not so easy on modern machinery. All areas of the car are covered, most space, of course, to the mechanicals, but plenty of guidance on interior, trim and body. Clear photos and great hints and tips genuinely sourced from experience of completing the tasks in the book - not just a written account from a remote writer.
The book's author, Wayne Dempsey co-started Pelican Parts - another super source of information on these (and later model) cars.
It is a good reference book and workshop tool, that deserves to be covered in mucky fingerprints and oil, as it helps you get the most from owning such a classic car.
Worth its sub £20 price tag, and great that's its readily available in the UK.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
This book contains advice on most of the common repair and maintenance jobs on 911s. The quality of the pictures and text is excellent and clearly the book is written by someone who knows what they are doing and loves the cars. The only small criticism is that the predicted job times are highly optimistic - we all know working on old rusty cars, even one bolt can take 30 minutes to remove, so, for example, the idea you are going to replace both heat exchangers in 2 hours is not credible. If you are going to do any work on your car then I recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Very nicely put-together book, with simple step-by-step instructions for a range of worthwhile 911 projects. The technology employed on these cars is very straightforward, and Wayne's excellent book certainly helps to gain a better understanding of how things work, even if you never lift a spanner. Debunking the 'specialist-only' mythology surrounding the impact-bumper 911, and showing it to be something anyone with even the slightest interest can have a go at working on, means this book is a must-have for owners and enthusiasts alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2008
This is an excellent book that I consider useful to any 911 owner: a) to those who like to work on their lovely toy, this books provides a wealth of information and excellent pictures, and b) to those who never get their hands dirty, this books provides interesting info that can be shown-off at parties.
Only weak spot is the lack of drawings and diagrams. Therefore this book needs to be complemented by the serious DIY mechanic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
Embarking on a 911 restoration, I need all the help I can get! For 911 owners who are prepared to get their hands dirty, this book will guide them through many of the service, maintenance and repair jobs. It doesn't cover everything, I haven't found a book yet that does, but it's one of the best for illustrations and explanations of the main jobs and some that you won't find elsewhere. Definitely an essential addition to the workshop library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
After recently purchasing my first 911 (1982 SC) I thought I had better get my knowledge of the car up to scratch! This book is incredible! Loads of detail, great pictures and easy step by step instructions for everything from changing the clutch and dropping the engine to washing the car and checking the oil! Great tool to have at hand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This is one of the clearest and easily understood manuals around. Simple and easy to read with excellent photos that clearly show the details of each project. I can thoroughly recommend this manual to all Porsche owners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
This book is a real gem - informative, simple layout, great colour pictures, easy to navigate without overdoing the detail. Its simply a must for any owner of a 1965-1989 Porsche 911!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
purchased as a gift my brother in law was delighted with this manual, it gives great detail in all aspects of working on his porsche - highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)