Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Private Moments Hardcover – 3 Sep 2009


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£117.86 £44.99

Trade In Promotion



Product details

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: BRUNO GMUNDER VERLAG (3 Sept. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 3867870373
  • ISBN-13: 978-3867870375
  • Product Dimensions: 20.8 x 30 x 3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,267,960 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

From the Publisher

roffman, an icon in the olympus of male photography, creates art when he depicts eros
and sexuality in his very sensible way, because he catches the yearning between men in
a very naïve and direct way - with a natural ease. now, the master of black and white
photography has changed the metier. Whoever believed roffman's strength is based in the
reduction of colors will be surprised to recognize that the play of natural colors adds a new
dimension to his work.

From the Author

Howard Roffman was born in Philadelphia. His pictures have been shown worldwide in
many exhibitions. through his books he has become one of the most famous photographers
of the young male nude.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Grady Harp on 15 May 2010
Format: Hardcover
PRIVATE MOMENTS is an oversized, beautifully designed portfolio of the art of Howard Roffman. Celebrated in the world of photography for his sensitive and sensuous images of the male figure, Roffman has to this point capitalized on black and white as his palette, but here in this generous book the emphasis is on the magic he can create with color. Far from being the more frequent posed pictures of other artists, more focused on the qualities of capturing form in the variations of light and shadow and dark, PRIVATE MOMENTS takes those learned gifts and in transferring his chosen tool to the digital camera is able to present the viewer with some of the most lushly evocative moments of youths living in the moment in dazzling color.

Whether in the lush foliage of gardens, playing fields, and bodies of water or in the wisely selected interiors of homes and other dwellings, Roffman has the good fortune to have at his bidding a number of young healthy lads from Bratislava and Budapest who seem at once oblivious to the camera and at other moments embracing the lens with a combination of youthful innocence and wild physical curiosity. One of the aspects of this collection is, as Roffman proudly states in his brief introduction, that the models 'are straight boys and gay boys, school pals and total strangers, streetwise kids and innocent country lads, shy ones and show-offs, seasoned pros...all young...and gorgeous and oh so giving.' These are the boys of Bel Ami - a phrase that can either be translated as 'beautiful friends' or as the company that focuses so successfully on films of these lads. The manner in which Roffman makes them so appealing is the freshness of his approach.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Steve on 15 Oct. 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Howard Roffman and 'Bel Ami' have been together since the days when Johan Paulik burst upon the gay porn scene and there have been many memorable renderings in black and white of Bel Ami's models over the years. Now, Roffman has finally gone digital and into colour and this is his first 'Bel Ami' album following the switch. As far as I am concerned, it is all gain and no loss. Although no one can quite replace Johan Paulik as the icon of 'Bel Ami' porn, today's models are beautiful and enticing and Roffman works his magic by creating a variety of moods: playful, tender, relaxed, aroused. He clearly has the confidence of the guys because they do what Roffman wants for the camera as if it comes naturally or as if he has chanced on them by accident. So the book's title is apt. These are not private moments in the sense that they are shared with the photographer and the reader but they are intimate and the cover photo is a good guide to the content. If you want one book of Bel Ami photographs, this is the one to have.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 6 reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
The Blush of Youth 30 Sept. 2009
By Grady Harp - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
PRIVATE MOMENTS is an oversized, beautifully designed portfolio of the art of Howard Roffman. Celebrated in the world of photography for his sensitive and sensuous images of the male figure, Roffman has to this point capitalized on black and white as his palette, but here in this generous book the emphasis is on the magic he can create with color. Far from being the more frequent posed pictures of other artists, more focused on the qualities of capturing form in the variations of light and shadow and dark, Roffman in PRIVATE MOMENTS takes those learned gifts and in transferring his chosen tool to the digital camera is able to present the viewer with some of the most lushly evocative moments of youths living in the moment in dazzling color.

Whether in the lush foliage of gardens, playing fields, and bodies of water or in the wisely selected interiors of homes and other dwellings, Roffman has the good fortune to have at his bidding a number of young healthy lads from Bratislava and Budapest who seem at once oblivious to the camera and at other moments embracing the lens with a combination of youthful innocence and wild physical curiosity. One of the aspects of this collection is, as Roffman proudly states in his brief introduction, that the models 'are straight boys and gay boys, school pals and total strangers, streetwise kids and innocent country lads, shy ones and show-offs, seasoned pros...all young...and gorgeous and oh so giving.' These are the boys of Bel Ami - a phrase that can either be translated as 'beautiful friends' or as the company that focuses so successfully on films of these lads. The manner in which Rothman makes them so appealing is the freshness of his approach. The gestures are full of the joy of being free in nature or in private, of expressing desire, of investigation, and of exploring the youthful libido. PRIVATE MOMENTS, so treasured by these images, become beautifully public in this very fine new book. These are some of the finest spontaneous expressions of the mixed world of passion and exploration - and simply, joy. Grady Harp, September 09
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Beautiful, gorgeous, brilliant 19 Oct. 2009
By J. Salzenstein - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
Once again, Bruno Gmunder has produced another gorgeous coffee table book full of beautiful men. Impressive in size, quality, models and of course, photography, Private Moments is a definite winner, and near certain future classic.

With the incredible landscapes and vintage buildings of Eastern Europe as his backdrop, Howard Roffman was surely inspired; Private Moments marks a major departure for the photographer- it's the first time his shots have been seen in color. This change is a good thing too- the colors Roffman captures are incredibly rich, expressing the passion and warmth of the models- not to mention their backgrounds and surroundings. Whether in the lush green outdoors or beautifully dilapidated interiors of buildings (that you can tell were fabulous at one time), Roffman exposes the playfulness of the Bel Ami boys, elevating them in a glow of simple beauty and good times. His pictures have a richness and warmth unusual to this kind of book.

For fans of Roffman, Bel Ami, or beautiful naked men in general, this is a must-own. Printed in an ultra large format (even by Bruno Gmunder standards), the exquisitely produced volume will dominate your coffee table or bookshelf, and most definitely be one you return to again and again...
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
11 on a scale of 1 to 10 22 Nov. 2009
By photofan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
"The theme of Private Moments is the joy of boyishness, of unrestrained, guilt-free, male-on-male camaraderie, of private same-sex bonding at its most erotic.... All models in Private Moments are immaculately clean-cut, the very essence of wholesomeness, yet wildly erotic, seething with pent-up sexuality....On a scale of one to 10, with one being a wet noodle and 10 being a raging hard-on, I would rate Private Moments a full-blown, stone-cold boner, an 11!" From a review by Ernie Alderete, San Francisco Bay Area Reporter
TO COLOR WITH LOVE 20 Feb. 2014
By Anthony McGill - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
After many years of producing wonderful black and white photo books including some for Bel Ami, Howard Roffman switched to digital and color and this was the first result. Whilst we loved the earlier shoots, this change was monumental and the result simply outstanding. This delightful bunch of Bel Ami boys have been brought to shimmering life in these stunning images. Page after page of beautiful shots of handsome young men, enjoying each others playfulness, love and friendship in a range of attractive indoor and outdoor settings in Eastern Europe. And for those who like to see their young gods in full bloom, there are enough erections and even a bit of ejaculate to add to the pleasure of this book. Thank you Howard Roffman, for making the switch to color and creating another masterpiece.
XD 1 Oct. 2014
By alexx - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Belami boys ... need more explanations?
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback