Start reading Princess Valerie's War (The Tanith Series) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device-with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones and tablets.
Princess Valerie's War (The Tanith Series)
 
 

Princess Valerie's War (The Tanith Series) [Kindle Edition]

Terry Mancour
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Kindle Price: 2.58 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Kid's and Teen books from £0.99 on Kindle
Browse our selection of top children's and teen title in our one week sale, with top titles from only £0.99.Browse the sale here


Product Description

Product Description

The Second Space Viking Sequel!

Escape From Planet X!

When Prince Lucas Trask of Tanith and seventy of his crew were captured by the Atonians, one of the “civilized” worlds of the Old Federation, things seemed bleak: he was tried in a secret court, paraded before the cameras for propaganda, and sentenced to “re-education” at the dreary secret prison known only as Planet X for the crime of being a Space Viking. Using interstellar space ships, high-tech combat troops and nuclear weapons to extort planets of their wealth (the Space Viking’s stock-in-trade) is frowned upon by the corrupt dictatorial bureaucracy of Aton – and Trask is in the way of their imperial aspirations, to boot.
Once on Planet X, however, it becomes clear that Aton is involved in something far more sinister – a conspiricy going all the way to the distant Sword Worlds, five thousand light-years away! Lucas and his men discover clues to plots and conspiracies over a century old inside an ancient wreck on Planet X – could they also lead to a way to escape the miserable prison world?
Meanwhile, back on Tanith, Lucas’ beautiful wife Princess Valerie is on the trail of Garvan Spasso, an old adversary who has tried and failed to kill the Trasks in the past – and succeeded in kidnapping their infant daughter, Princess Elaine. The beleaguered Valerie has ordered every resource at her command to find her daughter and punish her kidnapper, but Spasso’s ransom for the infant Heir is no less than the throne of Tanith, itself!
Princess Valerie has her allies: Admiral Harkaman, Count Valkanhayn, her fanatical Golden Hand guardsmen, and an embarrassing number of captured warships and enthusiastic Space Vikings. She also has the help of the mysterious Mr. Dawes, a very helpful emissary from the enigmatic figured known as the Wizard, whose reasons for helping Tanith are a mystery – and not necessarily a pleasant one.
But she’ll need all the help she can get, with her charismatic husband lost among the stars. Tanith has plenty of enemies: the rival Space Viking world of Xochitl, the Sword Worlds of Gram and Haulteclere, and of course the despicable Space Viking turned would-be usurper Garvan Spasso. With her husband missing, her daughter gone, and her nobles grumbling about the state of the Realm, the former schoolteacher from civilized Marduk suddenly has to learn the difference between a reigning princess consort and a ruling monarch of a Space Viking planet in a time of war – Princess Valerie’s War!

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 664 KB
  • Print Length: 473 pages
  • Publisher: Terry Mancour (25 July 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S. r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005EMUVQC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #276,012 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Just finish it .... 14 Dec 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series and I looked forward to the second - which was equally good - apart from the fact that it does not finish ..... I'm perfectly happy for there to be a set up for a sequel - in fact the first book in the series left the possibility open ... but it finished it's basic plot ... this one does not.

The war ... is not complete - the relationships ... not complete .... I am left feeling that I have read half a book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars  16 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to Piper 22 Nov 2011
By Jerry Wright - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Although I'm in agreement about the need for an editor, (a complaint for oh so many Kindle self-published books) I have to say that "Princess Valerie's War" is an excellent addition to the story of the Space Viking. Of course, in many ways we don't have a complete book here, but one third of a fine novel, with "Prince of Tanith" being the first part, and we are anxiously awaiting part three. Hurry up, Mancour.

What would be really nice would be if some outfit like Tor would pick up these books, and give them a proper editing, or if there were a quality, relatively inexpensive editing service to clean up these books that are almost professional.

Anyway, get it and read it, if you are a Piper fan. You won't be disappointed.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Xenafying Princess Valerie 18 Nov 2011
By M. A. Plus - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Mancour leaves more cliffhangers, which I suppose he'll resolve in a forthcoming sequel.

Some observations & questions:

Princess Valerie needs some female Golden Hand guards, especially when she goes to the restroom.

I've started to wonder if Mancour plans to breach Piper's Paratime/Terro-Human barrier by revealing that Merlin ("the Wizard") on Poictesme can peak into timelines of alternate probability, which gives it the ability to predict likely futures.

Has the character named Max descended from Conn Maxwell?

Why doesn't Tanith's government vet its immigrants more carefully to keep out undesirables, especially considering all the assassination and coup attempts which have agents in place well ahead of time? It commits the same error as "Babylon 5," where a brand new space station controlled by Earth's space military, which presumably has a say over who can stay there, immediately develops a bad neighborhood full of lowlifes & criminals.

Does Valerie get the opportunity for more hands-on ass-kicking? Piper didn't emphasize warrior women in his stories, though Hadron Dalla in the Paratime universe provides a precedent.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow up soon, PLEASE! 25 Jun 2012
By H. Ray Spitz - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Like "Prince of Tanith" this book is very much in the vein of Space Viking and I enjoyed it immensely. Space battles, daring escapes, clever diplomacy, and treacherous conspiracies.
Refreshingly, the diplomats don't worry at all about "political correctness" or avoiding "offending" enemies, but just how to defang their foes, and help their friends.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read - but could have used an editor 21 Nov 2011
By Charles Peacock - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm always a bit suspicious when a book comes out that's based on another author's plot - especially when the original author has been dead for 40+ years, but these two sequels to Space Viking are good reads - if not always faithful to the original.

The plot moves along well, it has good heroes and despicable villains - even if neither are quite believable. It also has characters that you can't quite place as either hero or villain which is nice and often missing in science fiction.

I was a little annoyed with "A Prince of Tanith" when it became obvious that the ending was a cliffhanger and a come-on for a second novel. By the end of "Princess Valerie's War" I was expecting it and wasn't disappointed.

As the title of the review suggests, my main problem was with editing. Numerous places in both books left me going back to try to make sense of what was happening. It looks like entire paragraphs or even pages had been deleted without considering what it did to the continuity. In addition there were a number of places where the novels contradicted themselves - nothing major, but nonetheless annoying. Except for these editing problems I'd have given five stars.

I'm looking forward to the third installment, but hope the author spends a little money on a good editor.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good exciting space opera, but needs to have more definitive ending 7 Dec 2013
By David G - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fast paced almost deserving of five stars, except the ending is too inconclusive. The author is obviously swinging for a sequel and leaves the reader slightly hanging after setting up a crisis he fails to totally resolve. If he brings it together in four books this may be OK. But, too many authors are choosing to milk a series until there is no life left in the poor dead horse they are beating. They take what was a potentially good series into the land of paperback trash. So I reserve final rating until series reaches a reasonable conclusion.

The first book in the series Space Viking remains the most cohesive and best written
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xa809be7c)