Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2014
I found a lot of the short stories had a sexual undertone and whilst not a prude felt these are out of keeping with the Jane Austin ethos and was subsequently fairly disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
On the whole I really enjoyed reading this book, and there was plenty of it. It could do with some more editing, as it is littered with typos but if you can ignore those it's an enjoyable read.

I have to confess that I really didn't enjoy the scenes with Mr. Collins' cucumber, which I felt were beyond puerile, but there you go, that's just my opinion. The rest of the book was good and well worth checking out if you love Austen variations.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
It must have seemed like a good idea at the time - a group of Jane Austen fans decided to fill in the gaps in Pride and Prejudice, but it doesn't really work. A lot more than I really wanted to know about the Darcy's sex life. One good scene, where Lady Catherine realizes her probable lonely old age.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Very amusing, and for the most part all the 'extra' scenes were well written, although not in the same style as the original. However in the case of this book one should ignore the poetic license taken with the characters and just enjoy it for what it is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Read between listening to a radio4 audio version of p and p and worked nicely to fill in gaps, although some jumble of timelines and characters between authors which was annoying
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Brilliant, absolutely brilliant... I couldn't put it down! Excellently written by an assortment of writers in the style of Jane Austen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
really good read and very informative. A good purchase for anyone. If you are interested in Jane Austen I would recommend this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Different authors write scenes that we don't see in the book. The quality is very uneven, and as many of the writers are American they miss the right tone in the dialogues and at times annoy with Americanisms that completely destroy the atmosphere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Really enjoying this book, half way thro it. It flows much better than I expected. Interesting alternatives and very detailed. Has made me think more about the original than I though it would.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
All the stories are excellent and catch jane Austen's voice so well.anyone who enjoys JA will enjoy this book.It sounds authentic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.