Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars165
4.5 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Black-Cooker GasketChange
Price:£5.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2011
I'm a big fan of my pressure cooker - and was interested to see that in a recent Masterchef competition, one of the contestants used a pressure cooker to produce a delicious pot-roast, which would normally have taken several hours. He got through to the next round!

It's a very old-fashioned utensil that pays for itself time and time again. For example, I use every part of a chicken, as the bones remaining on the carcass can be very quickly made into a rich, delicious stock (via the additon of a few herbs etc). You can do the same with the shells of prawns (put the shells in a bag in the freezer if you don't want to make stock immediately after you've eaten the prawns). In either case, you've the makings of a superb risotto, or sauce - and you can freeze the stock until you need it. A pressure cooker can also produce a casserole in minutes, rather than hours, without danger of drying out - and has a number of other advantages.

The rubber gasket occasionally wears out and becomes ineffectual, which is why I needed to replace it. The replacement arrived promptly, fitted perfectly and the pressure cooker is back in service. Thank you!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
Very poorly finished item. Gasket is formed in a mold and then the excess seal has not been trimmed properly. looks like a cheap copy product. Exchanged by Amazon because the first one didn't seal properly, the second one wasnt much better, contacted Meyer customer services who sent out one that seems to work better although it looks just as poorly made. Good customer service from both Amazon and Meyer but the product lacks quality.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
A genuine item that seals perfectly for a considerable period of time. I have now purchased a second as a standby, because, although they last for ages, once they begin to fail, immediate replacement is the best option. I have quoted the Prestige reference number 96461 in the title, as I feel it could be useful to other prospective buyers.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Just what my father ordered, although after a few days of use he decided that it was very difficult to open the pressure cooker, which shows that the seal works! He dunked the pan in cold water and found that the lid came off much easier then. Make sure that you order the right seal for your particular cooker, and I ordered two at once to save on postage.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
GENUINE PRESTIGE 96461 PRESSURE COOKER STAINLESS STEEL GASKET/SEAL - COLOUR - GREY

I am delighted with gasket/seal for the above-mentioned pressure cooker. I had a flood every time I was using my pressure cooker, it is now just like having a new one! brilliant1
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
Old seal was 2 years old and I decided to replace it because it start to leak. Wow this one leaks! Old one was 5/5 comparing to this one.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
I don't think this is a genuine Prestige part as it doesn't have the name or number embossed on it like the old one did, nevertheless it does the job well.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
We use our pressure cooker a lot so it was great to find a genuine Prestige renewable spare part at a price that was cheaper than the one we saw quoted by our usual suppliers. It arrived promptly and was just the job. It's a mundane item, but essential and not always easy to find in shops, so we're happy customers. Now ... if only somebody could invent a gasket that never wears out!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
This gasket worked brilliantly when fitted. We hadn't realised what a poor performance we'd been putting up with, until using the new gasket. It certainly seems like a genuine Prestige spare. The price compared to other sites was also great and the gasket arrived quickly. One thing to note - it's important to make sure that you buy a spare marked for stainless steel cookers if that's what you have. Our pressure cooker book gave a different parts number for the gasket, but when looking into this it seemed to refer to gaskets meant for aluminium cookers, so the book was wrong. We decided to go for the gasket meant for stainless steel cookers and our cooker now works like new.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
I havn't used this product yet but it was a replacement product in stock for when my present one fails but I was very happy with the efficiency regarding this order
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
1 or 1000, Standard or Custom Fab Quick delivery on most materials
  -  
Low Cost Replacement Spares. Same Day Dispatch Before 4pm!
  -  
As Seen On TV Pressure Cooker! Buy Direct & Save 25% @ Official Site.