Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification... and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Trade in Yours
For a 4.09 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification... on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations: Conforms to 17th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations (BS 7671:2008) and Part P of Building Regulations [Paperback]

Chris Kitcher
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 11.26  
Paperback --  
Trade In this Item for up to 4.09
Trade in Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations: Conforms to 17th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations (BS 7671:2008) and Part P of Building Regulations for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 4.09, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more
There is a newer edition of this item:
Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations 4.7 out of 5 stars (25)
17.77
In stock.

Book Description

27 Oct 2008 185617607X 978-1856176071 2
This book answers all your questions on the basics of inspection and testing with clear reference to the latest legal requirements. Chris Kitcher not only tells you what tests are needed but also describes all of them step-by-step with the help of real-world colour photos. Sample forms show how to verify recorded test results and how to certify and fill in the required documentation. The book is also packed with handy advice on how to avoid and solve common problems encountered on the job.

With its focus on the practical side of the actual inspection and testing rather than just the requirements of the regulations, this book is ideal for students, experienced electricians and those working in allied industries on domestic and industrial installations.

All the theory required for passing the City & Guilds 2391-10 and 2392-10 Certificates is explained in clear, easy to remember language along with sample questions and scenarios as encountered in the exams. The book will also help prepare students on Part P Competent Person courses, City & Guilds 2330 Level 3 courses, NVQs and apprenticeship programmes for their practical inspection and testing exam.

Chris Kitcher has 45 years of experience in the electrical industry. He is an Electrical Installation lecturer at Central Sussex College and an examiner for the City and Guilds 2391 qualification. He has worked for the last 12 years in both the college environment and on site.


Product details

  • Paperback: 248 pages
  • Publisher: Routledge; 2 edition (27 Oct 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 185617607X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1856176071
  • Product Dimensions: 18.9 x 1.5 x 24.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 167,213 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Whether an experienced electrician testing large industrial or commercial installations or a domestic installer altering or adding to installations, Chris has got it covered for you."
From the foreword to the first edition by Gerry Papworth B.A. (Hons), MIET, Eng. Tech, LCGI; Managing Director of Steve Willis Training (Portsmouth) Ltd; Chief examiner for City & Guilds 2391

About the Author

Chris Kitcher has 45 years of experience in the electrical industry. He is an Electrical Installation lecturer at Central Sussex College and an examiner for the City and Guilds 2391 qualification. He has worked for the last 12 years in both the college environment and on site.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars testing 2 April 2009
Format:Paperback
I found this title very good, it is ideal for students studying for all of the C&G electrical courses.
The information is well written and explained and is accompanied by some good real pictures of the inspection and testing process.
The book is reasonably priced.
I am not a lover of connecting lives to earth bars when testing in case they are inadvertently left in place, I prefer students to remove the earth and live and join them in a separate connector block. ( a personal choice)
I would recommend this book for students wanting an in depth look at Inspection and testing.
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Inspection and Testing book 28 April 2009
Format:Paperback
A good book for anyone studying for City & Guilds 2391, 2392, 2330 level 3 or just wanting to know more about testing.

The book is written with the practicing electrician in mind. Some of the tips given in this book are unique to this author and demonstrate that he knows his subject. Advice for passing the inspection and testing exams is spot on.

All though the book does contain some minor errors, and some of the references have not been fully updated to reflect changes in the 17th Edition of the Wiring Regulations, the postive points far outway the negative and you would have to go a long way to find a book on inspection and testing that comes anywhere near this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little reminder 14 Oct 2009
Format:Paperback
I bought this book to keep me reminded mainly of the BS standards required when quoting. I often now finding myself referring to it as we all forget some little things in our trade now and again.
its a Practical guide and thats exactly what it is. I find it as handay as the on site guide for the 17th edition, another book i keep with me on jobs/quotations.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Guide to Inspection and Testing 23 Mar 2009
By Jono
Format:Paperback
This is a practical book showing how to test and inspect in the real world whilst complying with the regulations. It features photographs to show how to connect your test equipment. Particularly useful are the lists of what to look for where.
Be sure to order the 17th edition version as there are still a few of the 16th edition copies out there. Use this link. Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations: Conforms to 17th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations (BS 7671:2008) and Part P of Building Regulations
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
By R. Lumb
Format:Paperback
Very Good, BUT, still has references to 16th Edition. Not quite up to date, can be a bit confusing when studying for your current inspection and test. I bought it on the premise that it was 17th edition compliant. Practical examples are still the same so does have benefit and some useful tips. Some example forms not fully filled in, which I thought a bit strange. Needs some proof reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Having bought this book fairly recently I can now confirm that I think it is worth every penny!

The book is really well explained and very well illustrated with really clear high quality photographs, with nothing left out which you could conceivably need to know in readiness for enabling you to tackle this notoriously difficult and tough exam with confidence.

You can see that Christopher Kitcher really knows his subject and that he also knows how to competently and properly teach it.

The way in which he has written this book equips you with the right mindset
from the very beginning to be able to quite literally transform yourself into a really good and competent Electrical Inspecting and Testing Professional. You will learn things from this book that you didn't even know you didn't know! :0)

This is why so many practising and worthy electricians fail this exam, because they go forth and attempt it in the mistaken belief that they already know enough to pass, only to find, when the time comes, that they really didn't know as much as they thought, and they get stuck! No stone is left unturned, and there is a great and well detailed section at the back of the book where it walks you through an excellent breakdown of everything you could ever need to know, guaranteed, relating to..."Now for the Exam"... And he then proceeds to cover EVERYTHING you need to know that will help you immensely when the time comes, and will give you a big advantage over everyone else who has never read this book!

I am very pleased with this book so far, and I can see this as being the PERFECT PRIMER for preparing and equipping yourself to be able to pass both the City & Guilds 2392 and the City & Guilds 2391 Testing and Inspection Examinations.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
This book is worth its weight in gold if you're studying the City and Guilds 2391-01. Chris answers the questions you were afraid to ask in this very detailed account of testing procedures. Worth every penny, I'm delighted with it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide 2 Sep 2009
By M. Read
Format:Paperback
This book has helped me to fully understand the requirements for inspection, testing and certification. The book is full of pictures which show the processes and equipment needed. The book made the regulations easy to understand and follow.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Does what it says
Published 15 days ago by EEZYEYES
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Done the job.
Published 16 days ago by gill
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket
Exactly what it says it is.
Published 26 days ago by robert cave
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
well illustrated so I definitely recommend to anyone. Also received in good condition. So much to learn, excellent book. loving it
Published 3 months ago by nandagopan
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase
Bought ages ago and helped no-end to get me through my exams.I Still kept it for reference in the future
Published 4 months ago by Gavin
5.0 out of 5 stars Level 3 Exam
Helped me to pass my level 3 Electrical Installation exam to become an Electrician
Need this to be lagal +
Published 10 months ago by PARobbo
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for budding trainee electricians
Puts things in really easy to understand terms. Found it a great help recently when successfully passing my exams. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Victor E. Tallowin
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitterly Dissapointed
SORRY but this book is well out of date and should be removed (might as well have bought sixteenth or fifteenth edition info. Read more
Published 18 months ago by Peter Beverley
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for other Half
This was bought for my other half and he seems happy with it so would say that it is a good buy
Published 18 months ago by Cheryl
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installation
This is a very good book well sought after. Without this book it was difficult to pass the examination. Best thing ever.
Published 18 months ago by M. Morris
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback