Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2009
I found this title very good, it is ideal for students studying for all of the C&G electrical courses.
The information is well written and explained and is accompanied by some good real pictures of the inspection and testing process.
The book is reasonably priced.
I am not a lover of connecting lives to earth bars when testing in case they are inadvertently left in place, I prefer students to remove the earth and live and join them in a separate connector block. ( a personal choice)
I would recommend this book for students wanting an in depth look at Inspection and testing.
11 comment18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
A good book for anyone studying for City & Guilds 2391, 2392, 2330 level 3 or just wanting to know more about testing.

The book is written with the practicing electrician in mind. Some of the tips given in this book are unique to this author and demonstrate that he knows his subject. Advice for passing the inspection and testing exams is spot on.

All though the book does contain some minor errors, and some of the references have not been fully updated to reflect changes in the 17th Edition of the Wiring Regulations, the postive points far outway the negative and you would have to go a long way to find a book on inspection and testing that comes anywhere near this book.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
I bought this book to keep me reminded mainly of the BS standards required when quoting. I often now finding myself referring to it as we all forget some little things in our trade now and again.
its a Practical guide and thats exactly what it is. I find it as handay as the on site guide for the 17th edition, another book i keep with me on jobs/quotations.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
This is a practical book showing how to test and inspect in the real world whilst complying with the regulations. It features photographs to show how to connect your test equipment. Particularly useful are the lists of what to look for where.
Be sure to order the 17th edition version as there are still a few of the 16th edition copies out there. Use this link. Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations: Conforms to 17th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations (BS 7671:2008) and Part P of Building Regulations
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
Very Good, BUT, still has references to 16th Edition. Not quite up to date, can be a bit confusing when studying for your current inspection and test. I bought it on the premise that it was 17th edition compliant. Practical examples are still the same so does have benefit and some useful tips. Some example forms not fully filled in, which I thought a bit strange. Needs some proof reading.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
An excellent book written in clear understandable English only using jargon where necessary and explaining it. Also when showing calculations it shows the basic formula, shows it with figures input and then explains what buttons to use on a scientific calculator to input it, a useful addition.
All pictures are of actual testing being carried out in distribution boards, not line drawings of what it should look like. The only down side is the use of NICEIC types of certificates as examples. If you don't use these it will be slightly less useful, however they are fairly common in industry.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
This book has helped me to fully understand the requirements for inspection, testing and certification. The book is full of pictures which show the processes and equipment needed. The book made the regulations easy to understand and follow.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
This book is worth its weight in gold if you're studying the City and Guilds 2391-01. Chris answers the questions you were afraid to ask in this very detailed account of testing procedures. Worth every penny, I'm delighted with it!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
Bought this book as added information to the course i had recently taken, found the book very informative and a great help especially with the practical element of the course, must of helped as i passed first time !
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
This book has a very good approach to the subject matter but the immense number of errors in symbols, wording, 16th edition nomenclature, equations and page layout make it a worrying book for those without the initial knowledge. It is at times difficult to follow the obviously cut and pasted layout.
However if you are aware of the regulations and correct nomenclature it is easy to see where they have gone wrong and just use the rest of the book as useful reference material.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Great Products That Stand Up To, Your Demands And Are Built To Last!
  -  
Electrical Installation Times Book. Save 25% - Fast Delivery - Buy Now!
  -  
Electricians self-certify your work Join Stroma's Part P CPS scheme