Start reading on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations
 
 

Practical Guide to Inspection, Testing and Certification of Electrical Installations [Print Replica] [Kindle Edition]

Chris Kitcher
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £19.99
Kindle Price: £12.84 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £7.15 (36%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £12.84  
Paperback £18.54  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product Description

Review

"Whether an experienced electrician testing large industrial or commercial installations or a domestic installer altering or adding to installations, Chris has got it covered for you."
--From the foreword by Gerry Papworth B.A. (Hons), MIET, Eng. Tech, LCGI; Managing Director of Steve Willis Training (Portsmouth) Ltd; Chief examiner for City & Guilds 2391

Product Description

This book answers all your questions on the basics of inspection and testing with clear reference to the latest legal requirements. Christopher Kitcher not only tells you what tests are needed but also describes all of them in a step-by-step manner with the help of colour photos. Sample forms show how to verify recorded test results and how to certify and fill in the required documentation. The book is packed with handy advice on how to avoid and solve common problems encountered on the job.



  • Entirely up to date with the 17th Edition IET Wiring Regulations

  • Step-by-step descriptions and photos of the tests show exactly how to carry them out

  • Covers City & Guilds 2394, 2395 and Part P courses.

With its focus on the practical side of the actual inspection and testing rather than just the requirements of the regulations, this book is ideal for students, experienced electricians and those working in allied industries on domestic and industrial installations.


All of the theory required for passing the City & Guilds 2394 and 2395 certificates is explained in clear, easy to remember language along with sample questions and scenarios as encountered in the exam. The book will also help prepare students on Part P Competent Person courses, City & Guilds Level 3 courses, NVQs and apprenticeship programmes for their practical inspection and testing exam.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 9439 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Up to 4 simultaneous devices, per publisher limits
  • Publisher: Routledge; 3 edition (24 July 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00JUQZROE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #76,632 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
By JOE 90
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a fantastic reference book. Well laid out and easy to follow.
I have been in the trade for 25 years and I would recommend this book to anyone in the electrical trade or thinking of a career in the electrical trade.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow 6 Nov 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Helped immensely with the revision needs I required for me to pass my Inspection and testing exams. Would definitely recommend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected 11 Sep 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is a must for anyone taking the 2934 / 2935 exam. Gives a good guide to exam requirements, and explained in easy terms.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is a godsend to soon to be electricians and electricians on initiation as well as seasoned professionals.

A clear indication of what is required and expected of an Electrician on site. An accurate sequence of test required for each level of certification required and a guide to form filling. What you should find when approaching a new job and how to use the information and test equipment. Calculations are always part of the job but their construction takes a while to master so the guidance is key to successfully completing projects. For the novice items like locking off get clarification, pictures are worth a thousand words. All of the pictures are clear and self explanatory.

The background support that the book affords can only benefit both trainees and "Improvers" to quote something from my day. I have read several books on the subject and this is the best to date.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/edit-review/ref=cm_cr_ryp_edit?_encoding=UTF8&asin=0080969070&reviewID=R3VQW1XF62WEN5
ISBN 978-0-08-096907-7
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for those studying 2394/2395 28 May 2014
By Mattias
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Good book explaining the fundamentals of the testing sequences with the aid of photographs. Also has a section on the written exams at the rear of the booklet.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, delivered on time... 23 May 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very good, delivered on time... Up to date (17th Edition (Amend 2011) information shown with very useful, diagrams, illustrations and pictures.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read 22 May 2014
By rory
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A very good read , ideal for anyone wanting to pass There inspection and testing . It's very detailed and easy to understand unlike some books you buy , I would definitely recommend this book , but you will need some practical experience as well to ensure you pass !!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book with on line links 3 Mar 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I have purchased a few books by this author and find them very factual and down to earth. The way these books are written is very informative and the back up with the practical on line tips brings inspection and testing to life I always recommend this book to my students and even experienced electricians I know who have erred over time excellent value for money. John the squirrel
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Well written easy to follow, comprehensive in scope, in terms of the subject matter and very detailed!
Published 2 days ago by allan Kasongo
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Exactly what I expected!
Published 3 days ago by Profi
4.0 out of 5 stars a great help
this book was a great help in knowing the relevant calculations to check my testing results and also pass my qualification, I also now use it for reference if I'm not sure on... Read more
Published 4 days ago by ajax
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Really good book with some little tricks to testing, helped me to complete my 2394/2395 course,
Published 1 month ago by matt
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read
Well laid out book which is easy to read and understand. I used a lot of tips from this book into my training program for my candidates.
Published 6 months ago by Keiththespark
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
If you're considering taking the 2391 exam, this is a must. I used it for the 2330 and it will definitely come in handy throughout my time as an electrician.
Published 6 months ago by Aubrey A.
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
I have been in the building trade for over 30 years this book explains every thing you need to know about testing
highly recommended.
Published 7 months ago by Mr happy
5.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this
It should have been called beginners guide to... It states the obvious like put clip on brown cable and other clip on blue cable then press button. Read more
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Antony Abbott
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category