Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2001
I must have tried to read numerous articles trying to understand the science behind what happens to fish - I haven't found a better reference text on the sbject.
Not only does it address the basics of what to do for those who wish simply to get on with the job, but it also explains the chemistry and 'why' things happen as they do, for those who want to gain a deeper understanding.
The language is straight forward and easy to read - a must for beginners in fish keeping!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2004
Covers a lot. Very useful. Starts a bit like some school geography lessons about the water cylce....clouds...rain...evaporation etc, but quickly gets into the details of the Nitrogen cylce and everything you need to know with recommended levels of stuff in the water and how to test for it. Loads of pictures and tips. Well worth the cash! (The worst thing about the book is the layout, it opens up like a flip chart style, but this allows for better pictures....)
Gives sample fish for different water setups, ie. acidic, basic, brakish. Does not look at Marine setups.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
This is a detailed reference book full of advice about cleaning, maintaining and even starting an aquarium.
This chap really knows his stuff.
There are tips on algae control and how to keep gravel clean.
Illustrations are clear and precise.
I needed reliable information on water changing and chemical control, this book gives me that information in spades.
With this book you can attain a happy and attractive environment for you fish, because they are worth it.

Excellent.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Great book for those who want to attempt to get the water conditions spot on, excellent easy to understand readout and great example pictures, a really good book to add to your aquatic collection, this book has saved me a considerable amount of money and potential disasters!!! I am currently looking for other Peter Hiscock books on aquatic fish
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
This is a Great book which gave me a better understanding of looking after the water environment for my axolotyl. Information, explanations, illustrations and diagrams are presented well and easy to understand. It was also used for studying aquatics at college with good results.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Handy little book to have around if you have an aquarium explains why it's important to keep a check on the condition of your water and what it all means and some good tips to sort out any problems you might come across
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Very informative, well laid out an excellent book for a beginner. I am yet to find the elusive book which answers all my questions
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
very good I would advise this product to all my friends from amazon for your next shopping this renowned site
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Full of useful information, images and a good price
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
this book very useful
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Servpro Emergency Cleanup 24/7 Water-Fire-Mold-Bio Cleanup