Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars7
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2007
Although it was written in the 80's it is still as relevant today as it ever was, a brilliantly written, honest, very practical and theologically sound book. There are no pretences here, John very candidly describes how he and his wife Carol were very suspicious of healing and any kind of works of the Holy Spirit, in fact they used to throw people out of their church for exhibiting such behaviour! He then goes on to describe how God revealed Himself and through a series of events how his phenomenal healing ministry began. The encouraging part being (for the rest of us amateurs) that John preached on healing and prayed for people for nearly a year before seeing his first breakthrough in healing. Persistance works! He was faithful to what God told him and amazing things happened! The book is deeply practical and explains in detail the theological basis for healing with reference to all the healings in the Bible and then tells you how to do it! A must read for anyone interested in praying for others and entering the healing ministry or just wanting to be encouraged that God does heal today. A book of triumphs and failures, but obedience to God at the heart of it all. Answers many tough questions on the complexities of healing. Buy it now!!!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
I hate books on healing by those who never get sick and those whose prayers always work.
The late John Wimber is neither of these. He doesn't make excuses for failure or claim extravagent successes.
Thoroughly grounded in scripture but made relevent with upto date illustrations.
The best selling point though is that the author points to The Healer not the healer. God gets the glory.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
I read this book when it first came out, and recently have been reading it again and giving it to others, so that they can learn about Christian Healing. Over 20 years ago I was privileged to be among the thousands who heard John Wimber at the seminars he gave in the Brighton Centre. I was impressed then by the sincerity of this big American guy with a big heart for God, who was far from big in showmanship or manipulation as many would have expected. I am impressed again at his sincerity in this book. In both, his desire was to step aside and let God take over. Like his friend David Watson before him, he was not a stranger to health problems which eventually took him from us far too early from our point of view. This fact, along with his sincere account about David Watson at the start of the book, must go a long way to help all who may not have been healed, and all who have sincerely prayed for them, to know that it is not their fault, and that God has His reasons. This book is our lasting legacy of John Wimber's humble search for enlightenment about God's healing power today. May it continue to bless many.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
among others the book was recommended in preparation for a "Time-out Day" with the core group of the Prayer Meeting I regularly attend. i'm not even half way thru but I'm learning a lot, i.e. the extent to which any occult practices have a negative influence on people's lives, but they can be freed again. The condition has to be recognised correctly and dealt with by people with faith and confidence and knowledge in the marvellous healing power of the love of God.
I'm amazed and grateful to be informed of all this, and by God's grace, if he wishes, even I may be a channel for his healing power, when I'm humble enough to allow him.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This is a fantastic book. Its a mixture of personal stories and explanations of bible passages to give readers a guide to introducing healing into our homegroups and churches. He has a very clear style of writing that is easy to understand whilst looking into the subject with depth and clarity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Intensive, well written, backed up by scripture and accompanied by testimonies. We hardly get this kind of in depth teaching from Sunday sermons so get it and you won't regret it. Thank you John Wimber, this book is a treasure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
A really good book that tells you about inner healing through emotional renewal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)