Poverty Bay (The Thomas Black mysteries Book 2) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.80
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Delivery, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Cover has some rubbing. Cover has some edge wear.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Poverty Bay (Thomas Black Mysteries) Mass Market Paperback – Aug 1997


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, Aug 1997
£34.30 £0.01


Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 312 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books Inc.; 1st Ballantine Books Ed edition (Aug 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345414063
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345414069
  • Product Dimensions: 11.4 x 2.3 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,863,192 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
IF THEY HAD MEANT TO HIRE A SEXY RECEPtionist, the law firm of Leech, Bemis and Ott had screwed up. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By A Customer on 25 Mar 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Thi book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 9 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
a good book to spend an evening with 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Emerson's books are always a fun, quick read. This is not one of his best but I enjoyed it as usual. I must do a great deal of technical reading and writing so spending an evening with Thomas Black is a particular treat---I think he's someone I'd like to know in real life. Emerson writes well (if a bit heavy on simile) and his plots are well crafted; he makes them more than just who-dun-its by weaving in thought provoking social problems such as homelessness, aides, and drug use. His settings are also great---I love following his travels around Seattle and neighboring towns since I grew up in that area and know right where he is most of the time. I'm just waiting to find my hometown, Marysville, in one of his books.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Shamus Award Winning, Edgar Nominated 30 Aug 2013
By Chad Roller - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thomas Black's second outing from Earl Emerson builds upon his debut The Rainy City giving us another fast paced, entertaining read. This was my second time reading Poverty Bay, and it holds up well with a vintage PI feel. Seattle, the city in which the series takes place, comes more into focus and becomes arguably a second main character for the series. The novel itself has a darker tone, but it is Black's quips and quick wit that keep it from becoming too melancholy.

For fans of Spencer and Elvis Cole.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Readable with some unpleasant scenes for verisimilitude 9 Jan 2012
By Booker G - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
"Poverty Bay" is the second installment in Thomas Black series. Thirty-something private investigator Black finds himself dealing with a nasty, almost evil family. His friend Kathy, now a lawyer and no longer his basement tenant, asks him to locate a missing client, Lance Tyner, who has inherited 15 million dollars from his grandfather. He is a man of innocence with a heart for the poor and homeless, and he has plans to use the money for good. His family members, angry that they did not share in the inheritance, want to find him to force him to change his mind about sharing. This plot plays out in several surprising ways that the reader doesn't see coming.

There isn't a lot to enjoy in this book as far as the characters go. The family is awful. Lance's father, brother, and sister are ugly in their talk about Lance, they are overtly racist in dealing with his black girlfriend, and they are self-indulgent in every way. Lance was at one time a street person in Seattle, and so in trying to find him Thomas visits the city's homeless camps, which is not easy to read about. He also has to deal with a horrible "trailer trash" type woman with a number of neglected children. Emerson does not sugarcoat these sections.

Emerson takes the readers around Seattle again, and this time he also has Thomas going to the Olympic peninsula, which makes for some new and interesting locales. I think Emerson's writing improved in this book. I was not so aware of what he was trying to do as an author.

For more mystery series that may entertain you, check out my website describing and reviewing many series (see my Amazon profile for the URL).
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great to re-visit this series 31 July 2013
By Michael R. Broschat - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I bought all these books when I lived in Seattle, and met Earl more than a couple times. Am moving again, and don't want to take any more books than I need, so it was wonderful to see this series available on Kindle. I re-read them all as I acquired the Kindle versions, and enjoyed a retroactive visit to the Seattle I used to know...
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
A different kind of mystery 18 April 2014
By mysterious silk lady - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Liked the characters, settings and different plot each time the author brings Thomas Black for another good book to enjoy.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback