Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2014
I bought this book as a 60th birthday present for my Porsche fanatic neighbour. He had been invited to a 50th Anniversary show but was not able to attend so this book filled the gap. He was absolutely delighted with it and hasn't been able to put it down. Lots of reminising along the way too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
I purchased this book as a gift and have just learnt from it's new owner "This book is a well informative a great read and as for the photographic information powerful.
So happy with this choice.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Bought as a present for a friend who owns a Carrera. He loved it for the stories, pictures and general feel. Much recommended!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
This is an excellent book covering the 50 year history of the Porsche 911 series of cars. It details the history of the 911 up to the 991 series but not the Turbo, Turbo S or Targa models.

The "definitive" book, in my opinion, on the history of the 911 is the "911 Story" by Paul Frere and Tony Dron. This book, whilst not containing quite the level of detailed information as the 911 Story, is an easier read and is a very worthy addition to any collection of books on the 911 or Porsche in general.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
as a Porsche owner , this book is probably the best on the market to commemorate the 50 years , including pictures and articles ive not seen before , whether new to Porsche or an ardent fan or owner this is well worth adding to your library , especially now the prices have slipped a bit
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Very Good photos and content as well as a excellente book for the living room (if the wife let it)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
I bought this thinking it would be full of precise and accurate technical detail. Sadly this isn't the case. I've a 997.2 turbo S and the book states the turbo S is a 3.6 litre. Nope, the 997.1 turbo was a 3.6 litre but the 997 gen 2 turbo and all 997 turbo S cars are 3.8.

"Taking advantage of DFi enhancements to the 3.6 litre Mezger block, but essentially doing nothing with either the turbos or intercoolers while increasing boost from 1.0 to 1.2 bar took horsepower up to 530 throughout the range from 6250 to 6750 rpm." (Page 178)

These incorrect details stood out because I know my car. So what about the details on other cars? It kind of throws in some doubt on the other facts within the book - which I now take with a pinch of salt.

It is a shame because the history and evolution discussions are interesting and very different to Paul Frere's 911 bible.

This book could be great with a bit more work. Pictures are excellent and it compliments the Paul Frere book without simply duplicating everything. Mistakes though let it down.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
It shall make a great present for my Dad who loves his cars :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Great book lots of old pictures of Porsches,great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
My boyfriend was very pleased looks expensive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)